We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was our 6th visit to Ripon Spa Hotel and never get tired of it, it is our favourite weekend of the year. It's only afew minutes walk to market place with various shops, pubs, restaurants etc. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the night Manager even made me a cup of tea after I nearly gave him heart failure coming down the stairs at 5am in the morning in my pyjamas when I couldn't sleep! The rooms are spotless, I'm abit OCD with taps and they are always immaculate and shining like new. The breakfast is always beautiful also and the food in the Turf bar equally as good. I even tried abit of my husbands steak which I don't eat as he was going on about how beautiful it was and it was! I may be reformed! Roll on next year!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delsa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 793 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

We recently stayed here as a party of 12, with 6 being very nearly or over 80. We ahd a thoroughly enjoyable weekend & the staff were really friendly and helpful. Although some bits of the building are a little tired and the central heating system is not the most efficient in the world, this was more than made up for by the really lovely staff and the excellent breakfast and food served in the Turf Tavern bar ( even though as a large party they let us eat it in the restaurant.) Overall a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1longholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Without any doubt whatsoever, The Ripon Spa Hotel is the only place to have Sunday Lunch in this area. The food is actually prepared and cooked to order, not taken out of the freezer and microwaved. The hotel have polite staff to look after you and serve the food correctly. The puddings are home-made, and finally the coffees are not restircted to a single half-filled cup and what is coffee without the mints, as you sit lounging in front of a roaring open fire, during the cooler months.

After all that, you can walk around the grounds of the hotel or walk though the gate and into the municipal Spa Gardens.

Words of warning. There is no canned music or 60 inch TVs scattered about the hotel. The music is real - yes they have a pianist. You can have a polite conversation in the elegant dining room, because you can actually hear each other! You will not be expected to use your mobile where the rest of us can hear the conversation. You will not be rushed to finish your meal because there are others waiting for a table, nor will you feel pressured to gulp down your coffee because others are hovering for your table.

The Ripon Spa Hotel really is that good and obviously you do have to book.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeNorthYorkhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

A warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable, well appointed room, excellent food in the adjoining bar in the evening, and a good breakfast with plenty of choice in the morning. What else is there?

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Once again this was a very last minute booking (I know it’s a bad habit of ours!) and a birthday treat for me from my partner.

On arrival we pulled into the car park and the hotel outside did look a little tired but the welcome was warm and the inside looked very welcoming. My partner had asked for one of the refurbished rooms after reading comments from Tripadvisor.

The room they showed us was nicely decorated but was very small and so we asked if we could be moved to a larger room if they could possibly and then we went out to dinner.

On our return we had been moved into a first- floor room which was much larger, had a four-poster bed and very generous bathroom with lots of original features. I don’t think it was one of the refurbished rooms because it wasn’t in the same modern style as the smaller room (and it felt much more in keeping with the period of the property) and there were definitely improvements which could be made but a lovely room all the same.

The downside’s were it was January and cold but we had to sleep with the windows open because the room was so hot which meant it was quite noisy too.

At breakfast, even though we were a little late for the sitting, the food was fantastic, the setting lovely and the friendly and accommodating staff (one lady had been working the previous night when we checked in!) ensured we managed to have everything we needed.

All in all not a 5* luxury hotel (it could do with some refurbishing) but a lovely place to stay in a beautiful building with really helpful, friendly staff who really seem to care about making their guests happy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChatelaineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

From the beautiful surroundings to the fantastic management and delicious food the Spa Hotel really is brilliant! I recommend the Turf bar and restaurant, it has such a wonderful atmosphere with its open fire and serves the best burgers in town!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyloututu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this wonderful hotel and we will certainly be returning in the near future. Although it was a little bit tired in places it oozed charm and period character.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely family room ( room16). It was large and airy with a wonderful view of the pretty formal gardens which would be lovely to sit in when the weather gets a bit warmer !
We wish that we had ate in the bistro restaurant once we had experienced the outstanding breakfast of which there was plenty of choice. The full English has to be tried !
We were so impressed with the helpful staff that we are even considering the hotel as a wedding venue for our daughter in the near future.
Well done to all and thank you for a lovely stay. See you all again soon.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
8 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
864 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $77 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing