We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at The Ripon Spa Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at The Ripon Spa Hotel”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I took my 103 year old friend out for lunch at The Ripon Spa Hotel, on the recommendation of staff at her Ripon care home (I had never visited Ripon before). The bar and restaurant staff were fantastically thoughtful, helpful, caring and patient - my friend can only walk and eat very slowly. The other diners were also very helpful. The atmosphere was very relaxing and most enjoyable and the meals we chose were good quality and value. I would definitely recommend the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
That's heart warming, thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    250
    86
    41
    14
See reviews for
125
363
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

would highly reccomend this hotel lovely gardens and fantastic staff that couldn,t do enough for you will definitely be going again

Room Tip: room 64 overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Perfect location as we were meeting up with old freinds in Ripon. Only a few minutes walk to the market place. Staff were really helpful and made you feel most welcome. Lift was out of order upon our arrival but the staff offered to carry our luggage up to our room. The lift was repaired later the same day.The bonus, cream on the cake, was the fact that our room had a four poster bed (maybe the bridal suite?). Pity the weather stopped us from inspecting the Hotel's gardens. We had a wonderful evening meal in the Turf bar, open fire made it quite cosy. Advise you to reserve a table because the bar is very popular for dining.Breakfast made a perfect start to the day, although it was hot buffet style, everything was hot and fresh. Will definatly stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a four poster bed and although the bay window overlooked the front car park, no road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepilks408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your review. So glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope you will be able to return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We decided to stay at the Ripon Spa after seeing an offer on their website saying 40% off, phone for more details.

On arriving at the hotel we were confronted by the reception manageress. Apparently we had to eat at hotel reception on both nights of our stay to claim the discount. We explained that we hadn't been told this on the phone, she then tried to guilt us into eating in the restaurant by telling us that the girl who took the booking would be getting serverly reprimanded.

When we finally got to the room, which we'd paid extra for as it was one of the four poster bed room, we were disappointed by the standards. Firstly we noticed that the services hatch was open and this was full of rubbish and rubble. When I went to get showered I found hairs on the walls and a bathroom floor that wasn't fitted very well. When we finally got to bed we found that the bedding had holes in it!

The breakfast was very good, but the table we were sat at had a used elasterplast on the floor which was slightly off putting.

In short I was disappointed and wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coates719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We hate to have disappointed guests and regret that you felt unable to raise these housekeeping issues during your stay. We have already apologised directly via email and letter for the misunderstanding regarding the special offer and the standard of housekeeping and sincerely hope that this matter has been resolved to your total satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I am English by birth and reside in the USA. I visited the charming old town of Ripon and had Sunday lunch here. The menu was traditional using locally grown and raised food and was absolutely delicious. There are wonderful grounds that include a croquet club and lawns and the staff are attentive and friendly. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed for one night but would have loved to stay longer! Efficient and friendly staff, comfortable and nicely furnished room and delicious breakfast. We ate in the Turf Bar & Bistro in the evening and this was excellent value for money with a good menu choice, well presented and efficiently served and above all delicious food. We couldn't fault a thing and will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in this hotel whilst waiting to move into our new house. The receptionist was very pleasant and welcoming, thank you. The room we stayed in was at the back of the hotel and was very small and the bed base which was wood was quite annoying as we kept banging our legs against the corners. Coffee, tea, facilities provided. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was delicious! We did visit the bar in the hotel which was very friendly. I would use this hotel again and maybe ask for a larger room next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
367 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
650 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Property: The Ripon Spa Hotel
Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing