We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed at the hotel whilst attending a family wedding in Ripon. Booked online for a small price, have to say i was expecting a broom cupboard for what we paid. When we got there the reception was easy to find and the receptionist so helpful and pleasant. The hotel looks wonderful, beautiful new carpets and gorgeous contemporary/luxury wallpaper leading to the 1st floor. When we got into our room i was delighted......... a Luxury room with a 4 poster bed and huge bath, fantastic value for money! The bed was so comfy and the pillows were not those horrific hard or so soft there is no support!
The few picky gripes i have and i will stress PICKY are that i could not work out how to turn down or off the heated towel rail in the bathroom and this meant the bathroom resembled a sauna! The toilet roll was the horrific almost tracing paper like kind - i would expect a beautiful hotel such as this to have good toilet paper and i would have liked a small fridge in the room with a few refreshments in. Again this is all very picky and doesnt take away from the fab hotel.
Breakfast was gorgeous and the gentleman who served us was wonderful, he knew which room we were from as soon as we walked in the room, nothing was too much trouble.

On checkout the receptionist was very helpful and was lovely to have a receptionist have a quick chat before checking out, most hotels take your card and send you on your way without even a smile!

We will be back and cannot wait! Great hotel with wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkimccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for The Ripon Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 781 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

50 words isn't really enough to explain why you shouldn't be put off by other reviews of 'faded grandeur'. When we first arrived I have to be truthful and say I did feel a little deflated - I felt that the website had been a little misleading on the visual aspect and we felt as though we were arriving at the back entrance (this will be explained further down) however, the areas that have been refurbed are lovely and to a high standard (apart from the hallway and floral paper - I have to say that I found that so out of keeping with the other areas of decor in the refurb and would urge a rethink before moving to the first and second floor). The ballroom is beautiful and the food is fantastic, four steaks ordered and all cooked perfectly to our liking - no mean feat, and the chicken liver parfait - delicious!
This hotels gem is it's staff, the attention to detail (thanks Janet) and the gentleman who has worked there for 24 years, who started off peeling carrots and two years ago got his suit! His history lesson was fantastic, and when you know that the family's sons have taken back this hotel under their wing and plan to bring it back into the current day with an air of elegance you can't help but smile. With staff who have a genuine love of the hotels history, who are polite and professional, you can't help but know that the future of this hotel will grow from strength to strength.
It was explained that the the entrance to the house was always meant to be at front of the gardens, however after the doctors house had been built the road was put in at the back due to the army camp, such a shame that you can't appreciate the frontage on arrival, but when you know the history it doesn't matter as much. We will certainly return, and look forward to seeing the further refurbishments and certainly look forward to the resident lounge/bar next to the ballroom opening - thank you for a lovely stay and to our waiter who was fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recomend it. Our room on the back of the hotel was spacious with a four poster bed and cosy arm chairs to sit in overlooking the beauitful sunny gardens. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent, we ate there both nights something we don't normally do as we like to try different places. Yes there is a faded grandeur about the place but this added to the charm and character a feeling of stepping back in tme, it made a it pleasent change from a boring clinical modern hotel. We would definately go again, Ripon is a beauiful city and you have the Yorkshire Dales on your doorstep what more could you want.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have just spent two nights at the Ripon Spa Hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough.
The bedroom was spacious, clean and characterful (it had a four poster bed !) with a view of over the hotel's lovely garden. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.
We had stayed there briefly in March and been impressed and were pleased to say that the second visit lived up to our memories of the first. I look forward to another reason to stay there !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thank you and so glad to hear you enjoyed your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Ripon Spa Hotel is a place for which the phrase 'faded grandeur' could have been invented. There is nothing specifically 'wrong' with the place but ... It carries a weariness with the modern world like an ancient aunt, well upholstered but not quite able to keep all the servants on. Our bed was comfortable, in fact it was a four poster which we didn't expect and the room was clean. The shower wasn't really up to much however and I got the impression that one was expected to bathe rather than shower.
Breakfast was good, albeit a buffet, however I did get an omelette made one morning which, whilst not excellent, was OK.
All in all the hotel was OK if a little over priced.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jb_ewok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thank you and sorry we didn’t quite meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Excellent 3 x course dinner in convival suroundings Oct 2011, Good service - but the roast beef, locally sourced and cooked to perfection, was something the hotel should be very proud of ...everyone.(but everyone) remarked on the excelent meal and particularly the beef course. Congratulations to the new chef.
Di - Local from Ripon area

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

We don't have a new chef but thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I return to this hotel frequently. The staff are invariably friendly and helpful and the food , always good, has improved recently and the selection and value for money is excellent. Most of the food is locally sourced and there is a good selection of wines at reasonable prices. The rooms are comfortable and generally quiet. The level of comfort throughout the hotel is good and log fires on autumn days provide a warm welcome.

Room Tip: just ask when booking for your special requirements and the staff will do their best to accommodate...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quetcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
473 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
664 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range: $102 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing