We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing autumn walk through history...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden

Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$435.92*
and up
Castle Howard and Fountains Abbey Private Tour from York
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing autumn walk through history...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had no idea how huge and spectacular Fountains Abbey is and we were pretty awed by it. We went on a crisp autumn day and it was a highly enjoyable walk down to the abbey and then back up the hill to the visitor centre. The cafe in the gardens was kind of mediochre but we were desperate for a cup of tea by the time we'd done the first half of the walk and we were grateful for it. There is more upmarket hospitality at the main visitor centre, though we didn't sample this. Quite a long walk for small children - our son is five and he was flagging towards the end - but lots to see in terms of trees, pheasants, waterways etc as well as the abbey. We'd definitely go again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,017
    402
    42
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The autumn leaves on the trees here is outstandingly beautiful. They surround the lake and make a great picture for the photographers.

The deer can be observed quite closely, especially during rutting season. The cafe was nice and you can choose a series of walks depending on what you feel up to. Lovely scenery - like something from Harry Potter.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LilyDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Magical Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

On arrival one is immediately impressed by the architectural and sensitive layout of the reception areas. The restaurant is particularly stunning and worth a visit before the historical buildings if only for comparative purposes. There is a charge for entry here as it is a National Trust property and it is indeed worth mentioning that if you plan to visit many of these NT properties it is worth while and may indeed cheaper to become a member of NT. Fountains Hall should be your first port of call and then the mill before the ruined abbey is digested, both visually and emotionally. The dissolution of the monasteries was a barbaric time! After the serious experience of the abbey a walk through Studley Royal will offer a charming and relaxed experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful place. The water gardens are so peaceful even at busier times. Worth visiting for the abbey root alone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bruj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent grounds on a sunny day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Excellent abbey ruins on a sunny day. The water gardens is a national heritage and definitely worth a look. The restaurant is lovely. The guide around the abbey can take up to 1.5 hours if you are interested. A bit slow moving though.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden also viewed

Middleham, North Yorkshire
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing