We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Horse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 19 Ripon B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2014

To be fair the room in the stable block was comfortable and, when I eventually found the switch for the heater, quite cosy. It could be a little brighter, the lighting was rather dim, and you do need the radio or television on as the conversion does mean you can hear every footstep from adjoining rooms.

Breakfast was indeed a hearty meal - although the egg had been fried in something unidentifiable which left a taste and the bacon incredibly salty, even for me (and I like salty).

The price is also a little high, I would have thought a reduction of 20 to 25% would not be unreasonable considering what you get and note there are no seasonal variations.

Room Tip: There is no food served in the pub (which really could do with an upgrade although the beer is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseRipon, Owner at White Horse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

The heater switch is located would you believe under the heater! These rooms have been in operation for over 5 Years, are fully insulated and soundproofed, this is the first complaint we have had regarding noise.
The breakfast egg was cooked in identifiable sunflower oil, afraid can't legislate for salty pigs.
The room rate is £35, hardly a mind boggling amount, it costs £15 to pitch a tent in Ripon
Agree the pub is tired, scaffolding has been ordered to paint exterior and designer was on site Thurs to sort interior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

I am writing this on behalf of my aunt and uncle who stayed there Easter weekend. They said the staff were most welcoming and very friendly. The room they had was in the Stable block and was everything and more than they expected. I saw the room myself and was very impressed. They said the breakfast was second to none and they will certainly be making a return visit soon. They couldn't believe how reasonable it was. Excellant value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Stable block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have stayed here twice now and enjoyed each occasion. Stayed in the converted stables . The room was clean , beds very comfy , great shower. You will not be disapointed if you book to stay here. The breakfast is tasty , well presented and ample. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in rm 14 in the courtyard, this room has a double bed and a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ickygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A warm welcome, clean room, friendly locals , good breakfast and good beer, what more can you ask for, ok the Pub itself needs a makeover but I will recommend the White Horse to anyone who wants to stay in a real Pub, one of the reviews looks to me as a advert for another Hotel nearby

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickandmary4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Everyone we encountered in this establishment was open and welcoming. The room was comfortable, spacious, clean, and the shower excellent. The cooked breakfast was perfect, a very enjoyable stay! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristofer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

In need of a but of a makeover but staff & service first class. I would recommend anyone passing through to call in an sample there fantastic breakfast.The town is also a great place to visit with Aden old market town feel, on an evening the horn blower tradition still takes place each evening

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alcorn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Rooms situated in outbuildings behind what is a run-down old pub, by a car park with overflowing refuse dumpsters. While initially the room looked ok, when I pulled back the duvet & noticed several pubic hairs nestling on the sheets, I couldn't exit the place quick enough. Traveller beware. For £10 more you can stay just down the road in the spotless Royal Oak with great food.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
37  Thank EnemaWithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseRipon, Owner at White Horse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

The title of the reviewer 'enema within' probably says it all, however, the fact that all items from the tea tray & bathroom toiletries were removed by the complainant shows the calibre of the person.
Would suggest genuine travellers look at other reviews before making judgement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
375 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 61 North Street, Ripon HG4 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range: $69 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your White Horse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing