We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Horse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 19 Ripon B&B and Inns
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here one night and one night only. It was fine checking in and the room was small but clean, breakfast was the worst we have ever had. The guy serving us was dirty looking in his appearence, rude and very impolite with a 'cound'nt care less' attitude wont be going back again. And will in no way recomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
22
53
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have stayed at this B and B for several years.

Always a friendly welcome from Dave and the team. Always helpful.I have stayed numerous times.

Breakfast always good.

Everything is always consistent.

Ideal location for travel, and eating at other nearby restaurants.A true pub spirit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the White Horse B & B. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was situated in The Stables at the back of the pub. The beds are extremely comfortable and the room was very clean and well decorated, a large bathroom with shower cubicle. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. All in all, a gem of a b & b. Would definitely stay again if i'm in the ripon area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MinnieM0use75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just back from a wedding weekend in Ripon and i think we chose the best B&B in town, breakfasts are the best and service second to none, congratulations to the staff, weve had a grt weekend. and would like to add, we listened out for dogs barking but heard none all weekend.

Room Tip: room 14, spacious and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just spent a long weekend in Ripon. We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived by both the staff and the regulars in the bar. As others have said it is a good base for the area. We visited the Keighley and Worth Valley Railway - about an hour away - and Fountains Abbey - a short drive away. The White Horse was a good base. Ripon itself is easily accessed- the centre is in easy walking distance of the White Horse. Set yourself up with a good breakfast in the hotel - you certainly get one. The locals agree - there are always a number in there daily. There are plenty of places to eat during the rest of the day - again all in a short distance. The rooms are clean and tidy - the rooms in the back are good- and there is also good parking. Would certainly stop there again

Room Tip: Request a room in the stables area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choirman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

As above, excellent value, superb breakfast, but woke very early to barking dog, I think it was the owner's but nothing was done to stop it, so would only stay here if sleep not a priority.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72journeyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed with family prior to travelling to Lightwater Valley the following day.

There were a number of positives however a number of negatives that would perhaps mean that we would consider other accomodation in the future.

Upon arrival in spite of many checks prior to reaching the hotel they were not enough cots (negative) however effort was made to find an appropriate solution (positive). The properties above the pub seemed a little tired (negative) however the Stables Court rooms at the back were both more spacious and modern (positive)

I slept well in my room however there were a couple of minor issues such as a bathroom door that would not close properly and a slightly loose front door however this is what I expected for this level of cost.

The breakfast was lovely however there was an aversion to wanting to do poached eggs which was amusing. The bar area was a little bare and it was quite a "local" pub however that also had its positives.

Overall the accomodation was a fair representation of the cost of staying and as a stopover it was acceptable but wouldnt stay for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Stables Court
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambrose16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
823 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
464 reviews
8.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#13 of 19 in Ripon
96 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Bed & Breakfast

Property: White Horse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 61 North Street, Ripon HG4 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your White Horse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing