We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm place in cold Ripon”
Review of Crescent Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Lodge
Ranked #5 of 19 Ripon B&B and Inns
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm place in cold Ripon”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had to stay in Ripon for about 6 weeks. After staying in Crescent lodge for three weeks I was so happy that I decided to stay put for rest of the time. The place is very nice, clean, very close to the market place and have a wonderful breakfast. But the best part of this lodge is it's home like ambiance and the owners Penny and Paul. They will make sure that you feel right home. I stayed in Ripon during Jan-Feb which is not a very nice time weather wise, it's very cold. But I felt so warm with the hospitality here I almost forgot the snow outside. If you are visiting Ripon for a trip, look no further. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badri_Tripathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
77
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

After 8 days at the Crescent I can't do more than confirm all the glowing comments. A practical clean room with good bedding and shower, the breakfast is really superb, and finally Penny and Paul, always smiling and ever helpful (even organising a handyman for me) Good value too. What more could one wish for?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here 14th - 16th January 2013 on a business trip. Very friendly atmosphere, clean, warm and comfortable. I the room I had (No.2) was where I enjoyed a couple of nights good sleep. The breakfast menu was superb, all you could eat, and Paul and Penny make excellent hosts as nothing is too much trouble for them. My first stay with them but it will not be the last. I look forward to returning here when I next travel to this area.

Room Tip: Don't miss this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBrownsbody-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for a month and i enjoyed my stay here. I cant forget the "Ever Smiling" face of Paul and Penny. Both are very very very helpful. The breakfast was very good and I liked the room I stayed. I always had the feeling that it was my home. I enjoyed myself there. If I get a chance, I wish to meet them and also I wish to stay there for a while. Thank You so much Paul and Penny and I wish to be your friends for ever.

Edith.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_edithmiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our cosy weekend at Crescent Lodge and would highly recommend it to all of our friends. The Bedroom was warm, clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were very tasty with a good variety of fresh fruit, cereal etc. Penny mentioned the Ripon 'Hornblower' who blows his horn everynight at 9pm in the market place. We went and enjoyed the experience as the 'Hornblower' Mr Pickles was such a lovely character!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have stayed here a few times when on business in the area. Rooms provide everything I would want. Beds are very comfortable - I have always had a good night's sleep. The breakfast menu is amazing and the cooked breakfast is perfect. I haven't had better breakfasts anywhere else.

Room Tip: I have been in several rooms - all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Penny and Paul made our stay in Ripon First Rate! Beautiful B&B. The breakfast menu amazing and diet required after stay! But the most important thing is just how welcoming and helpful Penny and Paul were. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you so much for a relaxing break. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bargery64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ripon hotels
0.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#7 of 19 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Lodge

Property: Crescent Lodge
Address: 42 North Street, Ripon HG4 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Hotel Class:4 star — Crescent Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crescent Lodge Guest House is 5 mins away from the city centre. You are assured of a warm welcome, hearty breakfast, and clean, comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing