We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and noisy”
Review of The Ploughboy

The Ploughboy
Ranked #34 of 43 Restaurants in Saltash
Cuisines: Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Busy and noisy”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It will be a while before we go back here as on the two occasions we have done so we have found parking difficult, the bar area crowded and poorly staffed and had a long wait to get served.

That said the food, when it arrived, was well prepared and good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chubtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    59
    29
    30
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ploughboy”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lovely grub and lovely staff! Been 3 times now and just planning a 4th visit. The portions of food are good, there have always been interesting vegetarian options and the staff have always been welcoming and helpful. Personally pleased that staff discourage 'unruly' or noisy kids running around...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexPlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family evening meal”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Went to the ploughboy for tea. There where 5 adults. We had 2 fish and chips, lasagna , coronation chicken and a mixed grill. There where no complaints my wife is the first to speak out. This cost £40 for five. We enjoyed it. The staff are friendly and happy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornishkev224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not family friendly!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is certainly not family friendly, well it is when it suits the owner, really depends on his mood! Real shame as last owners really did make you feel welcome

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Spike2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nothing good about this pub”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

i have visited this pub twice since it changed hands. i wont be going a third time! where to start? THE FOOD OVER PRICE AND NOT VERY GOOD QUALITY, if you have anything fried eg mush or bacon you better take ur kitchen roll with u, it is swimming in fat. some of the serving staff are ok BUT THE LANDLORD AND HIS WIFE ARE LIKE PITBULL TERRIERS. the first visit i was with grandchildren, one of them dared to get out of his seat, the landlady who was lurking, gave him a sour look and told him he should sit in his seat!!!! if he had been doing anything wrong or making a noise i would have agreed, but he was simply out of his seat. dont get me started on the landlord. i was with a friend, we used to be able to sit for a chat in "the old days" but this time as soon as we had finished our lunch the landlord started to lurk around the table, we were one of the last tables in use, but as the pub was open all afternoon i dont see the problem, anyhow he circled the table kept looking at the table so obviously that it made us uncomfortable, but as we knew he was doing it we just sat there!!! lol then four young men came into the restaurant to the window by the garden, some friends were out there they knocked on the window, so the men opened the window, WELL the way the landlord spoke to them told them to get the window closed, he was most rude about it. lucky the young men had more manners than the landlord,as he deserved a mouthful. many previous reviews have stated how bad this pub/restaurant had become since these new people took it over, i now know how true it is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank trips987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ploughboy also viewed

 
Saltash, Cornwall
 

Been to The Ploughboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing