We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned pricey and not a lot of fun.”
Review of Weary Friar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weary Friar Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Saltash B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I think that this place needs to catch up or at least move on. Can only talk about the catering because we have not stayed here. We called in on a weeknight without booking. There were only two of us so slightly difficult to generate independent bonhomie. The food was fairly routine, nothing very memorable or exciting. Service was polite but not particularly friendly. The pub has the look of an old church house and could with some attention have a good deal of authentic character. The general look outside was what made us look in. It is certainly a good deal better than the pub/restaurants at Notter Bridge and Hatt. We have marked the Weary Friar not as one to avoid, but one to keep an eye on, in case the spirit and offerings are reported as looking up. I have posted this review both on the Inns and the Restaurant listings for Saltash.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank DougalM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Weary Friar Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were at the Weary Friar last week, staying in a Lodge nearby next to the Golf Hotel. I cannot fault this pub; the staff were very friendly, easy to please, and the meals were large portions, and service was good. The pub is very old and I understand that it may have a ghost; has a great atmosphere but be warned.....you do have to book a table!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly2579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are a couple on a weeks holiday to Cornwall, We spent the first two nights 4th & 5th May 2013 at the Weary Friar Inn, we stayed in room 26 which was facing the fields at the back and the back of the church, unfortunately the steeple had scaffolding around it as it had been struck by lighteningand was under repair. The room was very comfy and relaxing, also bed was very comfy so had a good nights sleep. The owners were very welcoming and the food was very good, we had two evening meals 1st class and we thought the prices were reasonable. We would stay again without hesitation. One thing I would say is, It would be nice to have some history on The Weary Friar Inn, in the rooms, it would make good reading .Many thanks for a great two nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Four of us enjoyed Fish Pie, Steak & Ale Pie and Chicken Breast, all served hot and delicious. Not the cheapest but worth every penny. Nice friendly staff and traditional pub atmosphere, would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After a lovely day out at Porfell Animal Park we were rather hungry and decided to stop for food at this atmospheric pub. We have eaten here once before and had good memories from our previous experience.

On arrival it appeared that every table was reserved but after some clever organising, by what I presume may have been the owner, and the kindness of a couple who had finished their meal and were happy to vacate their table and finish their drinks on another table we were given a cute table for 2 next to the fire.

This pub has good real ale and a great menu. I opted for the trio of local sausages with mash and veg and my husband went for the belly pork. The meals were just £9.95 each and were amazing value for money, real home cooked, locally sourced food.

The service was also great, we really couldn't fault the experience. The vast menu means there is something for everyone. We will definitely be returning to this pub/restaurant again.

Room Tip: We did not stay here so I can't comment on the accommodation.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_Remmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice pub next to the church in a very quiet village. Food average but very expensive and nothing out of the ordinary-nearly £20 for two cheese ploughman dishes. We did not stay at the venue so I cannot judge the accommodation..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Hillstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Spend your money somewhere more deserving!! I've been several times each time thinking it was just an off day but the current staff behind the bar are just plain rude. Not only is she rude but for god sake the place was empty with every table with reserved signs on, it was 6pm, most were probably reserved for later on. she said we could eat but only outside, 3 adults and 2 children out in the bench beside a road freezing while inside was empty £40 I wish I spent elsewhere and the tables only simply dressed so would have take seconds to wipe down, no wonder businesses go bust, some places just don't help themselves. Same cause it's a lovely old pub, just sort the customer service out, ps they don't like kids either.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bexisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saltash hotels
2.8 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
260 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
325 reviews
1.5 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Cardinals Hatt
The Cardinals Hatt
#7 of 11 in Saltash
154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Smeaton Farm
Smeaton Farm
#2 of 11 in Saltash
104 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Brunel Inn
The Brunel Inn
#11 of 11 in Saltash
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weary Friar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weary Friar Inn

Address: Pillaton | Pillaton, Saltash PL126QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range: $80 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weary Friar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Weary Friar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weary Friar Hotel Saltash
Weary Friar Inn Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing