We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Saltash Celtic Cross
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Its not what I imagined, do not know what all the hype was about. The money could have been spent elsewhere. Its not bid enough to make an impression can hardly see it when crossing the bridge as there are large trees in the way, not very well thought out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    17
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous sculpture but not easy to get to”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a beautiful sculpture, and the woodland walk below it is very impressive too. I just wish it was easier to get to - even as a local, I had to work out where to park and where the access was. There are picnic tables and quiet places to sit, which is nice too, along with some great views of the river. But I do think the cross is a bit overwhelmed by the bridge, as you cross the bridge, the cross just looks like a church spire or something, you can't see it's true beauty. It would be better placed in the centre of the road junction leading up into Saltash, if that were possible!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Travelcat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Probably not big enough”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

First of all good on Saltash for putting up the cross, But I think its not big enough, it should have been at least twice its size and then it would be a landmark, I know allot of local people have had a moan about it, .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank edie209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltash
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Missing the point?”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Most people who see the celtic cross as they drive by miss the wonderful setting that the cross is situated in. The garden area is calming and a joy to sit in, to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank SaltashChelseaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,112 reviews
387 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,309 helpful votes
“The base is all wrong.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We came by in slow moving traffic so I caught a perhaps 20 second glimpse. Its a bit out of the ordinary. It looks as if the oblique bit is already looking uneven and the verdigris effect is patchy. The top is OK but strange. Not much Cornish, Christian, Celtic or arty about it. Worst bit is the meter or so high collar of plastic grass separating the sort of crazy paved/dry stone wall base/plinth from the oblique. The grass looks like the stuff 1960s greengrocers put around treacle tables at markets or undertakers used to line open graves at funerals so as not to awake mourners to the stark realities. It looks all wrong, not least against the pale flat green of the work. The flood light's pole and fitting is intrusive and clumsily sited and given that the whole thing looks smaller than billed, it really ought to be somewhere more obvious. It is almost hidden and incidental rather than an iconic waypoint.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltash Celtic Cross also viewed

Saltash, Cornwall
 

Been to Saltash Celtic Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing