We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
China Fleet Country Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent for family stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the China Fleet with my husband's golf group. We had our own little apartment with well equipped kitchen, and open planned living room. Although the bedroom is a bit small, we managed to push the twin beds together to make a extra large double bed so our toddler girl can sleep with us, or else there is a sofa bed in the living room suitable for older children. The leisure facilities were a great bonus as we can use the swimming as many times as we want and towels provided by the hotel. Breakfast was included in our package and offers a very good and wide selection of food. We ate at the brasserie on our 1st night and cook our own meal on the 2nd night. The kid's menu is good and the soft play area at the brasserie Is ideal to keep little ones occupied. This is an ideal place to stay if you want to explore the area such as the barbican, Dartmoor zoo, National marine Aquarium.

Room Tip: The shower in our room was very good but the room our friends had were so great as their pump has go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukyi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaFleet, Manager at China Fleet Country Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at China Fleet Country Club. The team works hard to ensure guests have a great stay, it's good to hear that you and the family enjoyed your time at the club and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Please remember that we can set up the room to any configuration that suits your requirements, just let us know prior to your arrival and we will ensure everything is set up just the way you want it,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    131
    48
    16
    9
See reviews for
162
80
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset&Sardinia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Bedroom seemed small but we managed to put the carry cot, so was not small at all! TV in the lounge, but if upgraded possible to have in the bedroom. Everything there in the kitchen was clean and perfect to use.
We did not eat there or had breakfast as we wanted to enjoy the Hoe and the Barbican.
We used the swimming with the slide. I loved it! Play area was very nice too.
It is off truck if you don't have a car, but then I don't know if they have a special service. We had our own car.
We had a modern apartment, number9.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanDada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaFleet, General Manager at China Fleet Country Club, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for the excellent recent review you posted about us. It is great to hear that we have ticked all of the boxes for you and you family, you have made good use of the facilities and you were all brave enough to go down our large waterslide!
As a reminder for your next visit and to have even more fun, remember we run Children's activity session throughout the school holiday periods and have a free to use Nature Trail and GeoCache. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here in April for my boyfriends birthday. We stayed in the Rosewood Suite which was lovely and not that far from the main building. The area was very quiet which was relaxing.

Arrival - The check in was quite quick and there was no waiting around. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Room - I stayed in the Rosewood Suite which had a large room with king size bed, sofa and a table area with mirrors. Also there was a large bathroom which had a double shower and jacuzzi bath. Both rooms were kept very clean.

Spa/Pool/Activities - The spa was very relaxing, i couldnt get enough of the heated ceramic loungers! The spa was always not very full but that meant it was more relaxing, and it had a over 16's policy with a door code to get in the spa. The pool was of a big size with a flume, it was never full which is sometimes a good thing! I played tennis and badminton and all the stuff was set out when we arrived for our time slot. Staff were helpful and got anything you needed.

Food - I had food in the evening which tasted great and the plate was very full so it was good value for money. In the morning i had a full english breakfast which was one of the best ive tasted, all fresh foods and there is also a help yourself buffet too. The woman waitress who served us was very friendly.

Overall i enjoyed my stay and would return again!

Room Tip: Go for the Rosewood Suite if you want that bit extra realxation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbieNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaFleet, General Manager at China Fleet Country Club, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, its great to read that you had an excellent time and enjoyed the facilities and food. We will soon be refurbishing our tennis courts with a new carpet surface and have a planned changing room refurbishment later in the year for you to enjoy on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The only reason to stay here are the facilities! The fact you can use the spa, gym and pool, really are the only plus points.
The rooms/apartments, are old and tired. I upgraded to an executive room and I asked what extras I received for the extra cost....the receptionist told me...a dishwasher and wallpaper on the walls!!! Even she seemed embarrassed she had to tell me.
Our first shower was a trickle that I couldn't use, it wasn't until my husband routed through the cupboard and found the pump was switched off to the power shower, hidden in the back of a cupboard behind the tank! The bathrooms were so old and in desperate need for upgrading. Our room looked out on the back of the kitchen and all night a fan fired up and woke us up. We stay in plymouth all the time and for the same price you can get a beautiful clean modern room. China fleet should either drop their prices or clean up their act!

Room Tip: If you want to use the spa which is very nice... Then know that you have to put up with inadequate r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ailsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaFleet, General Manager at China Fleet Country Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the club. It great that you enjoyed all of the facilities we have on offer and very unfortunate that you felt our rooms fell short of your expectations.
Unfortunately you were slightly mis-informed about the upgraded features in the Tamar+ room, the main differences are a TV in the bedroom, iPod docking station, Nintendo Wii and Dishwasher in the room and they come with a small additional cost of £10 per night.
We apologise for the problem you experienced with your shower, we are unsure why the pump was switched off but our on-site maintenance team could have given you immediate assistance if requested. This problem has been rectified.
The rooms offer excellent value which is highlighted in other reviews, not only do we offer the use of the facilities and new Aqua Spa but you get so much more than a hotel room. The rooms contain a lounge, dining area, kitchen, free wi-fi and 1-2 bedrooms (depending on room type).
We are constantly upgrading the facility and have more refurbishments coming up in the very near future, these refurbishments include; our continued program of apartment upgrades, Brasserie dining area, lounge bar and changing rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had our wedding at THE CHINA FLEET COUNTRY CLUB on 23/05/14 and it was a fantastic venue. stunning grounds, plenty of parking, lovely modern grounds, fab food, amazing customer service, great value for money, the on site fac's are a credit to the china fleet club. their appartments are all lovely clean and bright, they have everything you would ever need for a great stay. the two cottages and the rosewood suite are just fab. We had a fantastic wedding and stay. If you are thinking of a venue for you wedding and/or reception you really need to come to this venue to see what they have to offer, you will be amazed! Julie Monk and Kevin(Julie's number 2) are just so helpful and friendly. Julie will take the time to sit with you and talk over all your ideas and plans and then turn them into your dream day. The China Fleet Club suits all budgets and you even have a choice of venue rooms so no party is too small! Not only is this venue fantastic for weddings but but its also great for any party, private dinning, spa days/weekends, golf or just a casual lunch/dinner date. Breakfast is amazing value, its a help your self style to as much as you want but also the staff are there to serve you too, lots of breakfast items to pick from. The new spa area looks amazing, we didnt get time to use this but its all new and looked lovely. The China Fleet club is open to all not just members so if you are passing you must pop in to see it for your self.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaFleet, General Manager at China Fleet Country Club, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for leaving us such a great review, we are delighted that you had a fantastic wedding and enjoyed all of the facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Club in the near future and hope you can come and enjoy the Aqua Spa. We wish you both the very best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Spent two days at the China Fleet prior to a wedding to get over long jouney. We found the people were all there to make you stay 5 star. The food was good and the whole experiance was value for money. We will 100% visit again next year. I could go on and on but belive me and try it for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORSET
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A few of us, not very hard working men, had a 2 night, 2 evening meals, 2 breakfasts and 3 rounds of golf (with a bucket of practice balls thrown in) package, that was very reasonably priced. When we first arrived I thought that we would be in the queue for ages as the car park was almost full, how wrong was I?
We were booked in to our accommodation by the impressive Claudette who ironed out our little quirks with aplomb, professionalism and a plentiful sense of humour. The accommodation was fully self contained flats of either 1 or 2 bedrooms with shared lounge/diner/ablutions, I was the lucky one and had one all to myself, the rest had the 2 bedroom varieties. A very small bottle of milk was also provided to get you through the first brew or 2.
The golf course was not all that busy in a good condition albeit a little damp in places, to be expected with all the rain we have had. The weather was better than OK on the first day and by the end of the third it felt like summer had arrived early.
Breakfasts and dinners were taken in the Brasserie but was excellent in service, quality and quantity.
The facilities, all free, were remarkable, from swimming pool to several saunas - too many to mention but check them all out online.
A few celebratory drinks in the 19th made the whole 3 days a worthwhile journey and a very enjoyable experience indeed. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
4.5 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
2.3 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
7.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
20.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Fleet Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Fleet Country Club

Property: China Fleet Country Club
Address: North Pill, Saltash PL12 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — China Fleet Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The China Fleet Country Club has 40 spacious apartments; all are en-suite with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable lounge / dining areas. Set in 180 acres of stunning Cornish countryside along the banks of the River Tamar and just 10 minutes from Plymouth it is an ideal location for visiting both Cornwall and Devon. China Fleet has long been famed for its championship standard golf course and its range of fitness suite, racquet sport, Aqua Spa, swimming and hair and beauty facilities. China Fleet offers unlimited WIFI access in all rooms and public areas, ample free on site parking, complimentary use of our 25 meter indoor swimming pool and Aqua Spa (includes steam room, sauna, Spa Bath, Laconium, salt steam room, ice chute, heated loungers, monsoon showers and relaxation area, minimum age 16) and reduced rates on all other leisure facilities. As well as our extensive leisure facilities the club also boasts excellent dining options with our Upper Deck Bistro and our Brasserie serving food for all ages all day. Terms & Conditions available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Orbitz so you can book your China Fleet Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Fleet Country Club Hotel Saltash
China Fleet Country Club Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing