We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a smaller, more compact centre parcs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
China Fleet Country Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Like a smaller, more compact centre parcs”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were struggling to find anywhere to stay for a birthday celebration in Plymouth. This hotel came up and it was nearly the same price as the Premier Inn where we usually stay. As it was for 3 nights and we thought the kids would like the pool we booked here instead. It has a modern nicely designed atrium and a lovely view over the river. It is only a few minutes from Plymouth so even if it rains you can go shopping or to the cinema. On site you can use the pool which has a really good slide. There is a gym, adult classes, a golf course and a driving range and a little nature trail. The rooms are on 2 levels. Good kitchen facilities. We went to Waitrose nearby to get lunch and breakfast items and ate in the restaurant at night and the food was fine. I thought breakfast was too expensive.
Unfortunately the Barn which is the on site spa/salon had no vacancies for any treatments so a tip book in advance. The hotel is well used by local people. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    134
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
172
82
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have returned a number of times, each time finding the accommodation fantastically clean, and spacious. The staff are all friendly and helpful throughout. The children (5 & 7) really enjoy the swimming pool, especially the slide! Each time we have visited we have used the restaurant and the bar, and have found the food to be fantastic; the soft play area adjacent makes dining with children an enjoyable experience.
The complex is perfectly situated for a trip into Cornwall, or into Plymouth for the day...
I couldn't recommend highly enough and will definitely be returning again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlk338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Used this as a base whilst visiting Cornwall excellent location. We used a self catering chalet which was great with the kids. The bathrooms we felt were a bit tired but clean, bedrooms were lovely and all the basics in the kitchen even with a cloth a tea towel! The leisure centre was great, clean and a great pool!! My only critism were the staff round the pool looked like they would rather be somewhere else. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. Would certainly use this again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just come back from a few nights at China Fleet, we booked a self catering apartment as its easier with a 6 year old to have our own space. apartment very nice, had everything we needed and the huge comfortable bed was awesome. The club; swimming pool, bar, childrens play area, woodland walk were all fab...have to admit we've never stayed anywhere with such friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you......the club is totally child centric and still keeps the grown up feeling. Such a relaxing, friendly place would recommend to all....we liked it so much we are thinking of coming back October half term. Well done to all that work there....lovely lovely environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights at China Fleet as a couple in a group of friends. The location is first class, the majority of the staff are young and do try hard. All our queries were answered promptly but a few points let the experience down:
Bathrooms dated (mouldie grout and blinds, etc) and could do with an overhaul
MIssed on the service round and therefore towels not swaped
Not offered the use of the resturant
Flume in the pool still not working
Lots of children - fine for some, not us!
Wedding venue backs onto the accommodation therefore can be noisy later at night
The Barn Spa - not open on Sunday and Monday - what is that all about??!!??!!
On the plus side:
The food that we had was good
Golf first class
The staff were great
Will be back - but probably with a plan to escape more in the evenings

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1963est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaFleet, Owner at China Fleet Country Club, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at the China Fleet. We are delighted that you had a good stay and enjoyed the great location we are set in.
Your comments regarding the spa opening times are valid and I can announce that the Spa will be open on a Sunday for treatments next year. This will coincide with the opening of our new wet spa facility which will be one of the biggest and best wet spas in the South West.
The flume has only been closed for 3 days this year due to unplanned maintenance, we endevour to keep facilities open all year but on very rare occasions we need to carry out these essential repairs.
We are currently upgrading the blinds and making improvements to our older bathrooms.
We have recently refurbished our upper deck restaurant and introduced a huge variety of high quality dishes to suit all tastes.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the club again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our second visit for a short break. A great family friendly place to stay with activities for children and adults to enjoy together or apart (when the kids let you!). The swimming pool is excellent with a shallow paddling area, a great flume and a deeper swimming area. They also put in a lane if you are keeping fit. Hubby used the gym which has lots of modern equipment. The bar is great for food and there is a safe soft play area for the children to let off some steam, with a viewing window.
During our stay there were golfers, private members, children in the nursery, kids club holiday activities and even a wedding reception and none of this interfered or affected us in any way.
Our apartment was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here last week and were amazed at the level of service afforded to us. It was part of the Eden project package. The staff in reception, golf area, restaurant, sports reception were very kind, well mannered and quite frankly took that extra step to make our stay there really special. Room was cleaned well. Yes it was not state of art but that did not matter as it was comfortable and clean. Kids had an amazing time and I would highly recommend for families. The sports facilities are fantastic and of high standard. Special thanks to all staff and particularly Brenda on reception who made one of our days (rainy one) really special. Thank you. Shah - London

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shandip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltash
4.5 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
2.3 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#4 of 4 in Saltash
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
604 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
64 reviews
7.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Fleet Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Fleet Country Club

Property: China Fleet Country Club
Address: North Pill, Saltash PL12 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — China Fleet Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The China Fleet Country Club has 41 spacious apartments; all are en-suite with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable lounge / dining areas. Set in 180 acres of stunning Cornish countryside along the banks of the River Tamar and just 10 minutes from Plymouth it is an ideal location for visiting both Cornwall and Devon. China Fleet has long been famed for its championship standard golf course and its range of fitness suite, racquet sport, Aqua Spa, swimming and hair and beauty facilities. China Fleet offers unlimited WIFI access in all rooms and public areas, ample free on site parking, complimentary use of our 25 meter indoor swimming pool and Aqua Spa (includes steam room, sauna, Spa Bath, Laconium, salt steam room, ice chute, heated loungers, monsoon showers and relaxation area, minimum age 16) and reduced rates on all other leisure facilities. As well as our extensive leisure facilities the club also boasts excellent dining options with our Upper Deck Bistro and our Brasserie serving food for all ages all day. Terms & Conditions available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your China Fleet Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Fleet Country Club Hotel Saltash
China Fleet Country Club Saltash, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing