We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chinese in the saltash and plymouth area well worth a vist : )”

New Rodney and Xin Chinese
Ranked #23 of 44 Restaurants in Saltash
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Probably the best Chinese eat in restaurant in this town or near it. Set up clearly shown on the web link. Always been busy when we've been there. Convenient for locals and anyone on their way in or out of Cornwall. Two minutes from the A38 and less than a mile from the Tamar Bridge. Worth a Tripadvisor entry.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best chinese in the saltash and plymouth area well worth a vist : )”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Always a lovely meal each time we vist. Have tried pritty much all the others in the area, would definitely recommend. Has polite and likeable staff, so would happily recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    8
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Poor Service”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided to have a New Years Eve meal at a chinese restaurant with friends and booked up at the Rodney as it was local. We arrived at about 7.30 where we ordered drinks. These arrived about 10 minutes later. We waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken where we had to choose from 2 set meals only, A or B. We chose one set meal A for 3 @ £24.99 per head and one set meal B for 3 @ £27.99 per head because there were 6 of us. This was to give some variation to share between us all. The soup took 60 minutes to arrive and came in 3 10 minute stages. The second course took another 30 minutes to arrive, the plumb sauce, followed by the deep fried starters, the duck to have with the plumb sauce arrived 20 minutes later!! We waited another 40 minutes for the main course to arrive. By now we were so cheesed off we asked for the remainder to be packed up in a takeaway, which took another 20 miutes. This not so pleasant experience cost us £190!!!!! When we got home there was only 1 tub of rice and 1 tub of noodles FOR 6 OF US!!! We contacted the restuarant where they told us that the order was correct, RUBBISH, the menue should have come with fruit for afters, there was none!!! The table behind us had a similar experience and left with their takeaway about 20 minutes before. The staff commented that they had a run on the takeaway side of the business. The restaurant guests should take priority not takeaway!!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Fiasco”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

So we after a long search thought what a way to finish 2012 with our family and friends with a meal in a local restaurant / pub . We booked and then well what a shambles, we arrived eventually got the first course albeit in three waves.1 hour later and two drinks later we started to get third course. Being a diabetic the length of time between meals was making things very difficult so in the end we asked for our main and sweet courses to be made y
Up and we would take them home. So this happened and when we unpacked them another shambles not enough food was given to us we phoned a
Only to be told NO you can not have anymore and then we asked for them to reconsider no came the answer. Well you know where we will not be going again or ever and by the way we were not the only ones who spent over 2 hours waiting for what was a Chinese take away in a resuarant!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One star as you cannot give any less - avoid at all costs”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We do not write many reviews but feel so strongly about our experience we feel people need to know. We travelled from Bristol to spend NYE with our parents and god parents. The Rodney is at the top of the close and seemed like a good idea at the time.

The main restaurant has 11 tables - enough to be able to deal with efficiently even in the busiest if times you would think. The menu was very limited, comprising of menu A and menu B - both fixed one slightly more exotic.

The service from the drinks waitress was great. The service from the food waitresses was poor at best. Our table was booked for 1900. It took 1 hour for our soup too arrive from ordering, this came in three sets with about ten minutes in between. The second course took a further thirty minutes to arrive, first the plum sauce arrived for the crispy duck, then the deep fried starters then after we had finished the starter the duck eventually arrived. I'm sorry but this is utterly appalling. We regularly visit out local chinese restaurant and it takes them 10 minutes from ordering and have at least 30 covers.

At the point of waiting a further 40 minutes we requested that the remaining (main course) be taken away. This then took another 20 minutes. The bill for our trouble ... £190. But we did get three free calendars for our trouble...

We get home only to find that we were given a single rice and a single noodles for six people, a call giving them a chance to rectify the mistake was met with them telling us we had the correct order. The fixed Manu included desert, this was also missing.

I hope that the people visiting Saltash, and those that already live here will take this I heed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tetbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly service.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Have been here on a number of occasions and really enjoy it. Very good selection of food. Really friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigizbootiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Rodney and Xin Chinese also viewed

Saltash, Cornwall
Saltash, Cornwall
 
Saltash, Cornwall
 

Been to New Rodney and Xin Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing