We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting - great house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cotehele

Cotehele
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Saltash
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Lovely setting - great house”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The house and gardens are great with really helpful and informative guides who are only too willing to provide interesting information. The working mill has been recently improved and now with a mini bus linking the two sites avoids the walk for those less fit than others. The walk down to the mill and riverside through the gardens from the house is a must. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Viatori-lasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    184
    36
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Germans , Cornwall
Level Contributor
237 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Our favourite National Trust property”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I have been visiting Cotehele since I was a child in the 1960s. There is so much to see and I have always loved this house and its surroundings. It is a medieval manor dating to the 14th Century. Situated on an elevated site on a peaceful wooded hillside above a bend in the river Tamar the house was constructed in local granite and slate around a series of cobbled courtyards. The rooms contain much of the original furnishings. There are fine tapestries and carved oak. The chapel houses one of the oldest domestic clocks in England constructed in 1489 and still in its original location. There is no clock face, the hours of the day are marked by a bell striking the hour which the estate worker could hear.
The first floor rooms have secret cubicles where you can spy on visitors in the great hall or look down into the private chapel. Steep winding staircases, cobbled corridors and heavy arched doorways fuel the imagination and tempt you to go exploring in a house where Harry Potter would be quite at home.
Outside there is a beautiful terraced garden that drops away into a steep valley garden where there is a domed medieval Dove Cote. Above the house are more enclosed walled gardens and fish ponds that lead to an old orchard. Do go further and visit the new Mother orchard where the National trust have gathered hundreds of old varieties of apples from the region to form a valuable gene bank. At times you will be able to see the production of cider using traditional machinery.
The quay below the house was once a busy place and there are buildings to visit and boats to see. About a half mile walk from the house and situated in woods in a tranquil setting is Cotehele watermill which is restored to working order .The huge overshot waterwheel drives the rumbling ancient wooden cogged wheels and mill stones grind grain to flour which can be purchased on site. It can be made into excellent wholemeal bread.
Beyond the mill there is a network of foot paths to explore, these eventually link with other paths to the Danescombe valley and villages of Calstock,Metheral and Harrowbarrow.
Back at the house the National trust has a well stocked shop and the tea rooms/restaurant is good for light meals. Another place to eat is on the Quay.
The National trust holds a number of events during the year and there is also a gallery of local art and crafts at the house.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertscargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, and great staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This is a beautiful old house, both inside and out. It's like a rabbit warren with a lot of stairs and small rooms off these staircases. The rooms are kept in immaculate conditions and really show how they were used. The gardens are small but well kept and beautiful, and if the weather wasn't overcast the views would be spectacular.

The staff were very friendly and informative, especially at the Mill. They explained exactly how it was used in the past, and the restoration.

Unfortunately we visited on a Wednesday and the mill is in operation on Tuesdays and Thursdays so we missed that. They have some artisans making products there as well and the pottery section is well worth a visit.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Haylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
2,436 reviews
841 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6,535 helpful votes
“Agree with the positives but try the food on the Quay.”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Still part of the NT owned Cothele estate, go down to the Edgecumbe Arms on the quay. Not a pub any more but a good small friendly restaurant with about two dozen covers and a good small menu of freshly and skillfully cooked local fare. Worth a separate restaurant entry.

Helpful?
5 Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst - Berkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning Cotehele”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Well what can I say. My husband, mother in law and I visited this with our 2 girls (aged 4 and 6) last week in August. There is lots to do for everybody, we were quite on edge in the house because we had to try and ensure the girls didn't touch but, saying that the staff there are lovely and friendly. When we walked into the house there was a 'sharps' display in which they had lots of really old swords you were allowed (with the help of staff) to hold. There are beautiful garden's to walk around and a working mill which actually mills flour that you can buy on the premises.
The Discovery centre at the Quay was really enjoyed by the girls they were allowed to touch everything, dress up, colour, explore the ships's office and my older daughter pulled out every single drawer she could find.
They had a lovely tea room with a beautiful garden and really nice cakes and, a small kiosk serving hot pasties, ice cream's (with fudgerooo fingers which brought back childhood memories), tea & coffee etc.
We didn't have time to visit the mill so we decided to go back another day (especially being members of the National Trust). We did this by visiting a town called Calstock (well worth a visit) in which we caught the ferry across to Cotehale quay (only cost £4 return per person). The mill was very intresting. they also had a room at the mill where the girls could explore and touch things. They are building a kitchen in the mill which plans to have dough/bread making sessions which will be very interesting for the children.
It would be nice to have some sort of a play area for the children. Other than that I would highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
6 Thank Fatfeet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cotehele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing