We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected surprise”

Route 38 Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 44 Restaurants in Saltash
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stopped off here on the way down to the Eden Project as the hotel breakfast was pretty awful. An amazing amount of food (too much really) but the kids loved it and I didn't much more for th erest of the day. It's one of those places you could quite happily drive past and looks really tacky from the outside. But be adventerous and have a try, you might be surprised. (it's a hell of a lot better than the Little Chef!!)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SamKen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    218
    136
    89
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food Glorious Food! American Style!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Oh wow, if you like a full plate then visit Route 38!
A restaurant for people who like real food and a lot of it and for great prices!

Try the Pancakes and Bacon, sounds strange but it is fab!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank distortedmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good food. Always busy”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a typical American Diner. Good food and plenty of it.
Can be expensive and busy but still a good place for a meal

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Does what it says on tin”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

OK - This is an 'OK' diner but no more. I had ribs - well cooked but somewhat lacking in flavour as they apper to have been cooked 'straight' and then the BBQ sauce poured on after, rather than cooked in sauce for full flavour. Wife's 'mixed leaf salad' had only 1 type of leaf, the ubiqitous cos lettuce. My banana milk shake was as basic as it gets, some flafour in milk. I would needed to have upgraded to with ice cream and cream to get anything approaching a thick milkshake.
Service was quick & efficient

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PipPaul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have visited route 38 on many occasions but this particular one to celebrate a friends birthday was awful. It reminded me of when they first opened. The service was slow, they did not bring out all the starters at the same time and then when reminded brought it out late. They then rushed us as our mains was ready. These must have been standing for a while because mine was dried out and luke warm. The staff did not apologise and seemed uninterested in making our visit a nice experience.
My other visits here have been fairly pleasant, food average and plentiful, maybe too much for those who have small appetites but they do box it up for you to take it away if you ask. The portions are ideal for those who have a big appetite though and want value for money!
I won't be rushing to go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 38 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Route 38 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing