We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing stay, would definately recommend”
other travelers have booked this property
The Cow Shed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cow Shed
Kitchen and Living Outdoor space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Cow Shed
Kitchen and Living
Outdoor space
Dining area
Living area with cosy log burner
Bedroom
Blue Door
Wartime with underfloor heating
cups in a drawer
our funky burner
wetroom
view from window
cow shed bathroom accessories
the cow shed handmade mosaic sign
sunset view from the top of the hill
milk churn ornament
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beau A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing stay, would definately recommend”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

great stay, was very relaxed, choose this stay for a weekend as I was recommended and I would definitely pass on the recommendation. the shepherd's hut is in a great location a lot of outdoor space for walks and is great for a quite weekend away. its so cosy inside the kitchen/lounge is amazing. just amazing. I'm use to my exotic weekends away but when I discovered this place I definitely do prefer a simple quiet weekend away. 10 out of 10.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
Thank you both so much for your lovely review. Kind regards Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen T
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

If you want to spend some time getting away from it all in the area of Matlock then look no further, you have now found your perfect romantic hideaway. The cow shed is beautiful, very quirky and cleverly converted and done out to the highest standard. Everything about this place is just great, from the decor to the lovely welcome basket that greets you upon arrival. Everything has been thought about here to make your time at The cow shed home from home. The kitchen is lovely, compact and open plan with every utensil needed if cooking, otherwise so many good eating places in both Tansley, Matlock Bath and Matlock too. A cosy lounge area around a roaring log fire is just what you need after a day out and about. The bedroom although small, is just the place to relax in a comfy kingsize bed, peace and quiet down a country lane, birds singing early morning and sun shining through the trees. Start the day in the modern bathroom with a great shower and the nicest smelling towels ever!
So do you still want to stay in a tranquil setting with all mod cons considered?? Book The Cow shed today, you won't be disappointed. Enjoy it and the Peak district delights are out there waiting for you. It's a complete gem!

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Total peace and quiet yet so near to Matlock, log burner and everything, perfect!
Liked least: Leaving it behind to return home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 26, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Such a nice weekend away before christmas. The log burner was lit before we arrived so it was lovely and warm and cosy in the Cowshed and had a lovely christmas feel to it. Anna made us very welcome and the basket of local produce was amazing. There's some lovely walks around the area. I would particularly recommend Lumsdale, beautiful waterfalls and the ruins, and meals out at the local pub 'The Jug and Glass' (rustic feel) with amazing local steaks and the 'Tavern' in Tansley was superb.
This was the perfect start to our holidays and I would definitely recommend staying at the Cowshed. It's so peaceful and a beautiful place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2015
Thanks so much Joanne, hope you had a great Christmas. Kind Regards Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEESTQ
SKEGNESS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a great little find this was. We spent two nights at the cow shed and loved every minute.
Arriving on Friday evening we were warmly welcomed by Anna to the cowshed and shown around, the log burner was lit and provided a really nice cosy atmosphere.
The attention to detail by Anna and her husband is second to none, the kitchen has everything you would ever need and the welcome hamper is such a lovely touch.
The rainfall shower means you never want to get out!!!!
A separate heater is provided in the bedroom however even though it was a frosty weekend we hardly used it.
WIFI is provided and trouble free.
We spent our time walking and picked up some lovely walks around Matlock and the surrounding country side including Darley Dale.
There are four local pubs Within walking distance, we chose the jug and glass as they accept dogs in the bar, food was good and lots of guest ales if that's your thing.
I cannot recommend the Cow shed enough, worth every penny, we can't wait to return.
Don't let the winter weather put you off.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner.
Liked least: Nothing!!!!!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated, glad you both had a great time
Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda112...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy little hideaway, perfect for a romantic break”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful little cottage with a cosy log stove and welcoming owner. Spotless, bright and well equipped, with a welcome fire already on for us when we arrived and a basket of delicious local goodies to get us off to a perfect start for a lovely weekend.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log stove and local produce
Liked least: Road very close to property (but it's a very quiet road, very few cars)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing