We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Does exactly what it says on the tin”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kellyarno...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Does exactly what it says on the tin”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed in this apartment for two nights In may. Ingenious use of space with a central location to shops, bars, eateries and the park. There is no parking but we were lucky enough to get a space outside the flower shop which is just outside the apartment, other than that there is plenty of car parks to stay in. It was clean and tidy and had everything you could want for a short stay away from home, we will definitely be staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz99
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely stay in Karen's apartment. Perfect location in the centre yet very quiet. The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. Booking was really easy with quick responses from Karen. Matlock itself was perfect to visit with our young children - wonderful play park with boating lake and miniature train a short walk away. Free parking on a street nearby was not a problem. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
Thanks very much Linzie, I really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny F
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Value for money”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked for a weekend visit placed in the heart of the town centre accessible to all amenities wouldn't hesitate to stay again the only thing is parking can be an issue

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the heart of the town centre
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2015
Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I know parking is an issue but it's beyond our control.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillBWebb
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely flat, very easy to relax in and a great location esp if travelling without a car. Clear instructions for access. Huge sainsbury's very near. Quaint shops of Matlock and fascinating history nearby with easy train access and nice gentle walks back.

We turned the sofa through 90 degrees so it faced the TV and had the table by the window, so sat to read, and eat breakfast both in the sun which was lovely. A bright and airy flat without the over-modern sparseness of some. Not overlooked either.

There are a few improvements we think that would encourage us to return. Primarily the mattress. It's too old and worn for comfort (and the bedstead rather squeaky for restless sleepers!)

It would be nice to have a few little kitchen items eg corkscrew, grater and microwavable bowls for cooking in. salt and pepper and enough toilet roll for the length of stay also would be great when you're travelling light.

Generally pretty clean but the mats/rugs could do with a hoover or a beating outside.

None of these diminished our enjoyment of the flat and our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2015
Thank you for your comments.I am sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable, the mattress is fairly new and unfortunatly we can't cater for personal requirements. The items you mentioned missing were in the apartment but I will now make sure they are replaced. With regard to the cleanliness, the apartment is thoroughly cleaned after each guests and we have had many positive comments on this. Extra essentials are also kept in a cupboard for guests use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonraker...
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great apartment in the centre of Matlock”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife and I rented this apartment for 3 days (originally 2days), we liked it so much we stayed an extra day. It is on the first floor right in the centre and has most things anyone would want. Most evenings 3 friends of ours would come and chat and the room never felt crowded with five of us there. We found it convenient to the shops, pubs and restaurants. It is not necessary to have a car as it is only about 150m from the bus and railway station. We drove and found we could park outside the premises with a bit of luck. Despite being in the centre it was very quiet at night so no problem sleeping
The owner was easily contactable by mobile phone and dealt with everything promptly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was just right for us
Liked least: Property is on first floor so the stairs may be a problem if you have trouble walking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Two of us have just had the perfect, short summer break visiting the Peak District – and this apartment was ideal. Based on the first floor, it has been recently renovated and fitted out to a good standard – and has everything you need for a short break. The kitchen is modern, and equipped with the pots, pans, plates, glasses and utensils you need for a short stay. The bathroom is compact, has a heated towel rail and a powerful, hot shower. The bedroom is off to the side of the open plan area, separated by the shelving unit shown in the pictures; absolutely fine for the two of us, but do be aware if taking a larger party and intending to use the sofa as a bed that privacy will be limited. There is more hanging and cupboard space than I can imagine anyone needing for even a two week break. The apartment is located close to the centre of Matlock town at the bottom of the hill, and is on the rear side of the building (so away from traffic and street noise); be aware that the walk up the hill to the best pubs in town is a little taxing (but the walk home afterwards is, of course, nice and easy). Parking close to the apartment is limited, but at the start of August we didn’t have any problems parking within a few steps of the front door when we arrived and every day when we came back from our walks and visits around the Peaks. Overall: great value and perfect for our four day stay in this lovely part of England.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Thanks very much for your review, I always appreciate feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the Peak district.
Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BecksAsIn...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem of a flat”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelled as a single mum with my 20 month old daughter and was a huge relief to be able to book this flat. It's spotless, modern, light and well thought out. It's location is perfect; right in the centre of town. That said there is no road noise. We slept wonderfully.

The only way this flat could of been better would have been wifi access as I like to look up what to do the next day whilst my daughter is in bed. That said, it's a tiny drawback and didn't effect our stay in anyway.

P.s. There is a lovely cafe in the courtyard below so we would have our tea there and have a look using their free wifi. Any excuse for cake " )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Thanks very much for your review, I really appreciate your feedback. WIFI is on our list to do, however it's also nice that you have supported the local business.
Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing