We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Derbyshire getaway”
Review of Pear Tree Farm

Pear Tree Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pear Tree Farm
Ranked #26 of 50 Matlock B&B and Inns
northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Derbyshire getaway”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights B and B at Pear Tree Farm, wished it could of been more!!! Sue and Alan are excellent hosts, amazing breakfasts and wonderful with our 3 small children. The house itself is perfect, clean towels each morning in our room, videos and games and books available. A fridge in our room was just right for our babys' milk and food!!! A fantastic time in Derbyshire, we will be back.
Nick Watts and family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Used house for extended family gathering in March 2012 (18 of us). The house was ideal, with a large kitchen, lounge and dining room. The bedrooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The owners were very helpful, especially in assisting with some specific requirements for a wheelchair user. Overall, we had a very enjoyable long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BjmClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east haddon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We are just back from a 2 night stay at Pear Tree Farm. We booked the whole place for a 40th birthday and there were 7 couples. It was just the most perfect venue. We all had spacious ensuite bedrooms and best of all for such a large group there were plenty of comfy chairs in the lounge for us and a huge dining room. The place had such a nice feel to it and we all felt immediately at home. The whole place was beautifully presented and very comfortable and clean. We used Helen from Kiwi Coffee to cater for us all one night and I cannot recommend her highly enough. We also had Sunday Lunch at the Jug & Glass, the local pub which is a short walk away and we had one of the nicest roasts ever. Perfect venue for a large group

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I recently spent 3 days at Pear Tree Farm on a residential art course. I thoroughly enjoyed the course arranged by the owners, Sue and Alan Barber, who run art courses throughout the year, alongside their B&B and self-catering business.

The accommodation was excellent. The warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean en-suite room was well-equipped with toiletries, snacks, drinks and a hairdryer. The meals were superb (breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner were included in the cost of the course). All meals were well-cooked, well-presented and plentiful, and made from fresh produce.

Sue and Alan are so welcoming and friendly, and go out of their way to ensure their guests are enjoying their stay.

Pear Tree Farm is situated in beautiful countryside, with a stream running through the grounds, and sheep and cows grazing. We even had 3 hens try to join the art course!

I could have stayed much longer!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend of 15/17 July for our annual family get-together. Lovely location. We were self-catering and we certainly weren't disappointed. The 9 rooms easily accomodated our group of 18, all with ensuites, plenty of room and very clean. The kitchen was well-appointed, the dining room had plenty of space and the books, games and videos were all used. The owners, Sue and Alan, were very welcoming and informative when we arrived. You couldn't ask for more friendly and helpful owners - thank you so much, Sue and Alan. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgf98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend on a self-catering basis with a large group of 10 adults and 11 children. This was the nicest and cleanest house we've stayed in for our annual get-together. The rooms are a good size and nicely furnished with every necessity catered for. Bathrooms are all ensuite with great showers. The sitting room and dining room were well equipped with enough seating for everyone, and the kitchen was well stocked with cutlery, crockery, pans and utensils. There was a lovely woodburning stove in the sitting room and it was a great place for the adults to sit and chat in the evenings once the kids were in bed. Weather wasn't too great so we didn't play outside as much as we might have done, but the stream at the bottom of the field still gave us a good couple of hours of fun. The owner was very helpful and friendly, and did as much as possible to make sure our stay was a good one - thanks Alan! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fridayfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Everything that has been written to date on here about the Pear Tree Farm Guest House is true. It's wonderful in all respects. Good, clean accommodation with very friendly owners who care about the comfort of their guests. The food is fantastic - I always put on weight! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
4.6 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
1.6 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 7 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#8 of 50 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Farm

Property: Pear Tree Farm
Address: Lea Bridge, Matlock DE4 5JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing