We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous find!”
Review of Pear Tree Farm

Pear Tree Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pear Tree Farm
Ranked #27 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
east haddon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a fabulous find!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We are just back from a 2 night stay at Pear Tree Farm. We booked the whole place for a 40th birthday and there were 7 couples. It was just the most perfect venue. We all had spacious ensuite bedrooms and best of all for such a large group there were plenty of comfy chairs in the lounge for us and a huge dining room. The place had such a nice feel to it and we all felt immediately at home. The whole place was beautifully presented and very comfortable and clean. We used Helen from Kiwi Coffee to cater for us all one night and I cannot recommend her highly enough. We also had Sunday Lunch at the Jug & Glass, the local pub which is a short walk away and we had one of the nicest roasts ever. Perfect venue for a large group

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I recently spent 3 days at Pear Tree Farm on a residential art course. I thoroughly enjoyed the course arranged by the owners, Sue and Alan Barber, who run art courses throughout the year, alongside their B&B and self-catering business.

The accommodation was excellent. The warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean en-suite room was well-equipped with toiletries, snacks, drinks and a hairdryer. The meals were superb (breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner were included in the cost of the course). All meals were well-cooked, well-presented and plentiful, and made from fresh produce.

Sue and Alan are so welcoming and friendly, and go out of their way to ensure their guests are enjoying their stay.

Pear Tree Farm is situated in beautiful countryside, with a stream running through the grounds, and sheep and cows grazing. We even had 3 hens try to join the art course!

I could have stayed much longer!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend of 15/17 July for our annual family get-together. Lovely location. We were self-catering and we certainly weren't disappointed. The 9 rooms easily accomodated our group of 18, all with ensuites, plenty of room and very clean. The kitchen was well-appointed, the dining room had plenty of space and the books, games and videos were all used. The owners, Sue and Alan, were very welcoming and informative when we arrived. You couldn't ask for more friendly and helpful owners - thank you so much, Sue and Alan. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgf98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend on a self-catering basis with a large group of 10 adults and 11 children. This was the nicest and cleanest house we've stayed in for our annual get-together. The rooms are a good size and nicely furnished with every necessity catered for. Bathrooms are all ensuite with great showers. The sitting room and dining room were well equipped with enough seating for everyone, and the kitchen was well stocked with cutlery, crockery, pans and utensils. There was a lovely woodburning stove in the sitting room and it was a great place for the adults to sit and chat in the evenings once the kids were in bed. Weather wasn't too great so we didn't play outside as much as we might have done, but the stream at the bottom of the field still gave us a good couple of hours of fun. The owner was very helpful and friendly, and did as much as possible to make sure our stay was a good one - thanks Alan! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fridayfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Everything that has been written to date on here about the Pear Tree Farm Guest House is true. It's wonderful in all respects. Good, clean accommodation with very friendly owners who care about the comfort of their guests. The food is fantastic - I always put on weight! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frizington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Booked the whole place for a birthday celebration weekend - fourteen adults and seven children. Very helpful, and arranged for caters to come in and cook a three course dinner on the Saturday evening. Rooms comfortable, large and spacious dining room and lounge. Good area for local walks. A bit of a lottery booking somewhere for a large party, but this one came up trumps.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBarber, Owner at Pear Tree Farm, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Thanks so much - it was a pleasure to have you and glad the weekend went so well! Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

My elderly mother and my husband and I spent four weeks in England last spring, and this was one of the high spots in a brilliant trip!

Mel, the owner, could write a book about the right way to run a self-catering cottage. The cottage is charming, tremendously well-equipped, has high speed internet included (not standard in self catering places, but very, very welcome) and is a true home away from home. The kitchen, although small, boasted everything we needed, all of a very high standard. The place was immaculate throughout. Information about the cottage and local sights is easily available and very well organized.

The location was brilliant for our genealogical research in Derbyshire. We also really enjoyed seeing nearby sights, including Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall, the fascinating city of Chesterfield and Chatsworth House. Derbyshire is stunningly beautiful, and we enjoyed exploring it, and returning to the comfort of Pear Tree Farm Barn each evening. Lots of good pubs around, too!

We would stay here again with the greatest of pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
2.2 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
118 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Farm

Property: Pear Tree Farm
Address: Lea Bridge, Matlock DE4 5JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing