We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cruck Barn

Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
The Barn and clock tower Gated Entrance from Wheatcroft Lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Entrance
The Barn and clock tower
Gated Entrance from Wheatcroft Lane
Visit England Four Star Rating
Sitting area downstairs
New Kitchen
Cruck Beam
Dining area
Upstairs bed/sitting room with access to balcony
New Shower Room
Balcony and patio area
Seating on the balcony overlooking the Amber Valley
View from balcony
View from  balcony - winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SuffolkMa...
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a last minute 3 nights at 'The Cruck Barn' it was fantastic!
A very warm welcome from the owner. Delicious homemade scones and jam waiting for us, it didn't take long before we sat on the balcony having afternoon tea overlooking the amazing view.
The barn is set in a lovely location with spectacular views. The accommodation is very good, well equipped with a lovely shower room, comfortable king size bed.
Will definitely make a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Really glad you enjoyed your time in the Barn. Looking forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mspnmrp
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you so much for having us and our little one stay. Really wish we booked longer, the tranquility of the area was to die for! the hosts are absolutely darling and the Scones are such a big hit by the sounds of previous reviews, just as they were with us, thank you! If you are looking for a quiet retreat, with spectacular views, extremely comfy bed, accommodates the tots, warm welcome and beautiful interior decor this is your place! Not to mention the lovely local restaurants with superb food and tourist areas all over Matlock. Thanks again for having us, we would love to return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. we would love to welcome you at a future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your short stay. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Explore68...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cruck barn”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely 3 night stay in The Cruck,it was well equipped and very clean and cosy.Just a nice size for the 2 of us and our dog Albert.The balcony was lovely for relaxing outside with fantastic views.Mary's scones were delicious. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Really glad you had a good time. Looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twigletle...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful time away here. The barn is beautifully situated with amazing views. Mary and Ray were brilliant hosts and were so welcoming!
The barn it's self is very clean and wonderfully presented. Everything you could need is to hand.
We had with us our newborn baby and dog and we found it very homely and called it 'home' by the end of the break away! We hope to come back again and hopefully be able to make use of the children swings!
Thank you so much Mary and Ray for sharing this home away from home with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Really glad you enjoyed your time here. It was a pleasure to meet your lovely baby boy.Looking forward to seeing you all in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normanfer...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect is the only way to express our stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We were totally impressed with the cottage, everything is catered for and of the highest quality, Mary and Ray have thought of everything anyone might need in there stay and are the most friendly people you could wish to meet ,nothing is too much trouble for them. The cottage was perfect for our stay, the surrounding area is perfect and the views from the upstairs patio is to die for we couldn't get enough.The towns are easily accessible and picturesque, plenty of places of interest to go to .We cant wait to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your holiday in the Barn. Weren't you lucky with the weather. Looking forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful long weekend stay”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Cruck Barn is a wonderful little place. It has beautiful scenery, and it's lovely to sit on the balcony and look out over the fields.

It was a shame we were only there 2 nights, but we arrived and Mary and Ray were there to greet us, and give us some advice on where to visit over the few days we were staying in Matlock. On arrival there was tea, coffee, sugar and homemade scones which were delicious! Jam and cream to go with the scones, and a pint of milk. Towels were provided which is unusual for a self catering place. There were lots of little touches which made it feel li,e a home from home, and Mary and Ray were so friendly, we really didn't want to leave!

Thank you Mary and Ray for such a wonderful place and being so welcoming, we can't wait to come back again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Good to meet you both. Looking forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing