We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing getaway!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cruck Barn

Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
The Barn and clock tower Gated Entrance from Wheatcroft Lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Entrance
The Barn and clock tower
Gated Entrance from Wheatcroft Lane
Visit England Four Star Rating
Sitting area downstairs
New Kitchen
Cruck Beam
Dining area
Upstairs bed/sitting room with access to balcony
New Shower Room
Balcony and patio area
Seating on the balcony overlooking the Amber Valley
View from balcony
View from  balcony - winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing getaway!”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a great barn! Great views, very yummy scones (thanks Mary & Ray). Very cosy with the log fire on. The barn is equipped with everything you could think of. An amazing weekend away. We will 100% be coming back! We didn't want to leave!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Really glad you enjoyed your weekend. Thank you for your kind comments. Looking forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markZ493Q...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What alovely place to stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2016

A lovely DOG FRIENDLY barn conversion on two levels with its own central heating, downstairs is a fully equipped kitchen with log burner and TV and upstairs a en suite double bedroom with TV and sofa bed and a balcony with stunning views over looking the Amber Valley. Out side is secure parking with its own private garden and a massive Paddock and fields to the rear for walks with the dogs. You will need a car to reach all the local amenities. Mary and Ray will do anything for you to make your stay unforgettable, all in all a fantastic place to get a way from it all and have a good rest.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
Thank You for your lovely comments. Looking forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location.
Lovely views.
Well equipped.
Helpful hosts.
Interesting places to visit close by.
Calm and peaceful.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you. Lovely to have met you. Hope to see you again.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
So glad she said yes. You will be very welcome at a future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
judytipto...
Shepshed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely barn”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We only stayed 2 nights the barn was peaceful and was accommodating my only problem was we had to go in the car and find some fields to walk barney our dog as there were no paths or roads to walk him guess that was my fault because we didn't look into the area before we booked . it was hard keeping him excercised especially his late night loo walk.apart from that the place was very scenic .and peaceful .the wifi only worked downstairs but overall not too bad .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice barn
Liked least: Had to look for somewhere to take our dog that wasn't miles away was quite difficult
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Pleased you enjoyed your short stay. The paddock was available to exercise your dog. Unfortunately our 2 acre field was occupied by sheep at the time of your visit. I'm sorry that you didn't realise that the property is adjacent to 2 public footpaths and the roads around the Barn are very quiet and suitable for dog walking. However , with no street lights, it is dark which is why torches are provided.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wett1rawe
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Delightful Experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Cruck Barn is a relaxing & comfortable experience close to all local attractions, not to missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Relaxing atmosphere of The Cruck Barn & owners Mary & Ray
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
You were very welcome. It is good to welcome people from so far afield. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dups88
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our first family holiday”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I just wanted to write about how lovely this barn was. I was rather nervous about coming on holiday as we have recently had a little girl but I need not have worried. The barn was fantastic; it had everything we needed for our little girl to have a comfortable stay.

The hosts were lovely and friendly and helped me carry the little one up to the barn. We also got some tasty homemade scones on arrival. The barn was equipped with the highest of quality cooking facilities and the bed had to be the comfiest I have ever slept on.

The barn was in a prime location with stunning views and it felt like you could be a million miles away from any stress. It was immediately relaxing.

We will definitely be back to visit again.

Thanks for a fab stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Glad that everything worked out well for your first holiday with the baby. You would be very welcome for a future stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing