We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay at Sheriff Lodge.”
Review of Sheriff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheriff Lodge
Ranked #2 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our third stay at the Sheriff Lodge was one taken without our Greyhound. This allowed us to try one of the rooms that dogs are not allowed in. The Nest was our choice for this one night stay.

The room was very well equiped with a good sized en-suite bath/shower room.

Our stays have always been in the winter months, so the well heated rooms are most welcome.

After a comfortable nights sleep, the breakfast awaits, this breakfast will help start the day for what ever you plan to do. There is plenty of choice and is freshly cooked to order.

Aready looking forward to our next visit.

Kate/Alan, again thanks for your warm welcome and hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BerkshireContango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Sheriff Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 443 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We´re a small group of German football-enthusiasts, that are visiting the UK at least once a year. We always prefer to stay at a B&B instead of choosing "ordinary" hotels and Kate & Alan at Sheriff Lodge rank among the very best experiences we´ve made so far. Breakfast with its many choices was excellent, so were the rooms and the support that Kate and Alan gave to us on finding a place to eat out on our late arrival (great pub!) and on organising our day trip to Leeds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Kate & Allen are lovely hosts .
The breakfasts are probably one of the nicest we have had (I certainly returned a few lbs heavier ) ... You get a choice of what you want sausage , bacon potato cakes etc and of how many ... A nice touch instead of doing a standard breakfast where the chances are something will not be liked by someone and left ..
We stayed in the loft the first few days and then moved to the warren , the end of the week , for me the decor in the warren was more modern and more to my taste ( a great room for families with children and dogs ) but both rooms really nice well set out and clean . Helpful in finding places to eat etc .... Just genuinly nice people that want your stay to be as good/ comfortable as possible .... Would recommend and would stay again if we was back in Matlock
Thanks Kate & Allen

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shar92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review - this truly answers one of our concerns - and shows the benefit of feedback. The Warren Room, which you describe as more to your taste, is the latest addition to our rooms here at Sheriff Lodge, and as such is one that we were, until this review, always concerned about how guests might receive it.
It has actually become one of our most popular rooms as it can accommodate 2 adults and up to 3 children, but is also dog-friendly - and many people want to bring their furry friends for great days out in the Peaks.
Your comments have given us greater confidence in how we market this room and we can't wait to see you again
Thanks once again
Kate & Alan
Owners of a great place to stay here on the edge of the Peak District (but we would say that wouldn't we:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed one night in The Nest, for Valentine's and loved it. Kate and Alan made us feel very welcome and there were complimentary cake and drinks on our arrival. The house itself is lovely with nice views of the hills above Matlock from our room. Sheriff Lodge is clean, comfortable and homely with lots of little added extras we've not seen elsewhere. We loved the big comfortable bed and had sneaky looks at the unoccupied other rooms which were as equally-well appointed as The Nest. Kate's breakfast was amazing and cooked to perfection. Thoroughly recommended, and this will be our first choice when we come back to the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed recently and we were very welcomed by Kate & Alan. The Warren is perfect if you are staying with children as there are two seperate but connected sleeping areas. This means you can put the kids to bed in one bit and still have the lights and TV on in the other area, which is handy in the evenings. There's space for two children plus they provide a travel cot. It's also like having your own little flat as you have your own entrance and bathroom. I also visited the rooms upstairs where family were staying and they are lovely with absolutely huge beds.

The breakfast is amazing and lttle touches like tea, coffee and biscuits on arrival and complimentary drinks and snacks make it a lovely place to stay and a real home from home. Very cosy, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The Warren is great for families to stay together.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for just one night and that was definately not enough. From the outside this B and B doesnt look anything special but with the warm welcome, petit fours and tasteful bedroom it was a delight. The owners were equally lovely and couldnt help enough. At £79 for the night it is quite expensive for a B and B but the breakfast alone justified it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Philip L,

Thank you for your review - it's great to see that you consider us One of the Best, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. But I can't let a couple of your comments go without some response.

'From the outside this B and B doesn't look anything special '...ouch. Sheriff Lodge was once an Edwardian Gentlemen's Residence, it was built in 1908, and parts of it go back as far as 1740. Whilst some architectural styles are not to everyone's tastes a three-storey, stone built, former Johansen's listed hotel surely deserves a little accolade? Short of a group of dancing girls on the Juliet's balcony I don't what else we could do make it 'look special':-)

'£79 for the night it is quite expensive for a B and B'...I checked the Travelodge website this morning and totalled up the cost of an overnight stay plus an Olympic Breakfast (at a next-door Little Chef), plus tea/coffee, plus porridge, plus cereal, and it came to more than £83. Thanks for your rescuing comment about our breakfast - which is an Award Winner - check our website - but we do strive to keep our prices in line with, and in competition with, well, our competition, and as such we are not the highest price for a B&B on the edge of the second most visited National Park in world - The Peak District - Mount Fuli beats us into second place:-)

Thanks once again for your comments and we hope they will trigger other readers of this entry to visit our own website to see just what a special place (we think) Sheriff Lodge is.

See you soon
Alan & Kate (Owners since 2001)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This review is a bit overdue as our stay was just over two months ago. We stayed for three nights for our wedding anniversary, and we agree that we will remember it as the best break away we have had so far. Breakfast was amazing; each morning we ordered a little bit less as we were always still full by lunch time, but we still came away each morning very well fed, and even my husband, who considers bread a necessary evil, loved Alan's homemade loaf! The room (we stayed in The Nest) was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and tidy with a lovely big bath tub. Alan and Kate were incredibly friendly and the tea and cake on arrival was very welcome after travelling in the wet and cold. They also gave us a great deal on tickets to enter Chatsworth House. It's hard actually to pinpoint one or two reasons for why we had such a lovely stay - it is just a great base for visiting a beautiful part of the country, and all the little touches and kindnesses help you to really relax into enjoying every part of your time away.

The star of our stay though had to be Hattie, their beautiful and very well behaved black Lab. It was great to be seen off each morning with a wag and lick from the gorgeous girl!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckyw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheriff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheriff Lodge

Address: 51 Dimple Road, Matlock DE4 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $134 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Edwardian Gentleman's residence in the heart of the Derbyshire Dales with easy access to the Peak District, Haddon Hall and Chatsworth. Our rooms have extra long, 7 foot beds! In addition we cater for all dietary needs, from vegan to vegetarian to coeliac to diabetic, and of course The Full Derbyshire Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sheriff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing