We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home :-)”
Review of Sheriff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheriff Lodge
Ranked #2 of 52 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beckermet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home :-)”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's the finishing touches and attention to detail that make this place so special. Alan took a picture of us before we went off to the wedding and it was in our inbox when we returned home. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is better than any you'd be dished up in a 5 star hotel. Alan's home made bread is fab, as is the wonderful selection of home made jams. We stayed with our dog, Kenton, at Christmas time, and returned in August for a family wedding. Kate and Alan were most put out that Kenton wasn't with us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your great comments - can't wait to see you again - and Kenton of course - and by the time your return there will be an even greater choice of home made preserves - lemon marmalade and plum jam from Ma in Laws trees:-)

See you soon
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
87
237
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ramsey cambs
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

kate and alan are the most charming hosts welcoming us warmly when we arived,even providing a complimentary and needed tea tray with cakes.our room was the warren which is in tha basement but has a seperate back door to let our dogs out when needed.it sleeps four so was perfect for our party of 2 adults 2 children and 2 dogs.( not an easy party to find good accomodation for )the room was beautifully clean and the beds were heavenly,huge 7 foot variety.we felt that we were very welcome guests in their home and indeed the house and rooms were filled with lovely bits and bobs,it was not all modern and clinical but really homely and comfortable. The breakfast was sensational and i dare any one to find any fault.the choice was massive and all so fresh and well prepared.Scrambled eggs and salmon on a croissant has got to the most decadent treat of my stay. i will never stay any where else again when in the peak district,this gem is perfectly situated for easy access to town and all the splender the area has t offer

Room Tip: the warren is perfect for 2 adults 2 kids and 2 small dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thanks for the comment about us not being clinical - this is a former Edwardian Gentleman's Residence and we have tried to ensure that it holds on to a little style without blending into the plethora of beige and bland hotels that seem to be prevalent these days. This doesn't mean that we have any laurels to rest on and plans are always being made to improve a guests stay - so when you come back look out for the changes - however small:-)

Best wishes
Kate & Alan @ Sheriff Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A brief return to Sheriff Lodge, a lovely welcome from Alan, you're made to feel like friends. Still the same high standards, room exceptional bed so comfortable, great to be back the only place to stay in Matlock. Thank you Kate & Alan!!

Room Tip: The Dray, a stunning room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susisue43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
No matter how brief its always great to see guests return - we must be doing something right:-)
See you again and again and again
Kate & Alan @ Sheriff Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We spent two nights at the Sheriff Lodge with a 3 year old and a 3 month old. The small child's bed and the cot that were placed in the room were perfect. The room and en-suite were really clean and well maintained. When we needed extra things like a bowl for sterilising baby stuff and plates and knives for our cheese and biscuits we were given them straight away, Alan even threw in some of his homemade tomato chutney. The breakfast was fantastic with a great range of cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad, freshly baked bread and homemade jam and marmalade in addition to a brilliant cooked breakfast. Alan and Kate were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location was really convenient and we could easily walk to and from the centre of Matlock, although pushing the buggy back up the hill was hard work, but that would be the case almost anywhere in Matlock.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review - we continue to work hard to ensure that everyone that comes through our door feels like they're the only one's staying - and it was great to look after you in this lovely part of the world - and I love your comment about the hill - to be honest it doesn't get any easier no matter how long you've lived here - and we've been here since 2001:-)
See you again soon
Kate & Alan - The Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham,uk
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Having read the reviews we weren't expecting to be disappointed but it couldn't have been better. The owners made us feel very special with lovely extra touches in our room to add to the romance. We were given recommendations for local eateries in a friendly email after we'd booked our room - very thoughtful.The accommodation is clean, comfortable and tasteful and the stunning views certainly add to the experience. The breakfasts have something to suit every palate and are clearly made with great attential to detail. We particularly loved the homemade bread! Alan and Kate clearly take pride on what they do for their guests. They deserve their place at the top of the Matlock rankings. We hope to return - thank you very much for everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britishclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanrichmond, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you - and thank you for spelling out Thank You with the silk petals - that was a lovely touch:-) ...and thank you for spotting that we're in the top spot in Matlock:-)

See you both soon - hopefully before your next anniversary:-)

Best wishes
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Centrally placed quiet B&B with quality fittings, particualrly the beds. Wide choice at breakfast - well presented. Friendly helpful hosts - able to make recommendations with regard to eateries. In our case we chose to go to the local pub up the road & Thailand No 1 in the town centre - both I can recommend - an easy walk from the B&B. Wide range of activities to do & see in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have recently enjoyed a wonderful two week holiday based at Sheriff Lodge. This was our first visit to Derbyshire, and as we had such a great experience, we have booked again for next year.

Why Sheriff Lodge?
While planning our holiday in Derbyshire, we browsed the Tourist Information Website. We then browsed the Websites of a short list of potential guest houses and were particularly impressed by the one for Sheriff Lodge. We liked what we read and booked immediately. The actual stay was even better and exceeded all our expectations.

The warm welcome we received from Kate and Alan on arrival was complemented by their attention to detail and genuine concern that we had an enjoyable time and made the best of our stay. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and every guest was made to feel special. The house is extremely well maintained, tastefully decorated and radiates warmth and comfort. The bedroom we stayed in is well furnished, fully and thoughtfully equipped and comfortable. The well lit off road parking for our car was a very big plus for us. The extensive breakfast menu is flexible and able to meet individual tastes and requirements, and whatever your choice, it is prepared and served with the same quality and care as every other aspect of Sheriff Lodge. Information and advice on what to do and places to visit is readily available. There are numerous visitor attractions within easy reach of Sheriff Lodge and there are a number of establishments close by who provide quality evening meals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockanfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sheriff Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Well...what can we say - a two week booking - and now a three week booking for next year as well!
Thanks you for your lovely comments - and thank you for sharing them with us before you left as well.
As you can see from our other recent comments we continue to do something right:-)
We can't wait to see you again next year when, who knows, the sun may shine:-)
Best wishes and thanks again
Kate & Alan - Proud Owners of this lovely Edwardian property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
4.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
774 reviews
3.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 52 in Matlock
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 52 in Matlock
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheriff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheriff Lodge

Property: Sheriff Lodge
Address: 51 Dimple Road, Matlock DE4 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Edwardian Gentleman's residence in the heart of the Derbyshire Dales with easy access to the Peak District, Haddon Hall and Chatsworth. Our rooms have extra long, 7 foot beds! In addition we cater for all dietary needs, from vegan to vegetarian to coeliac to diabetic, and of course The Full Derbyshire Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sheriff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing