We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful property”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Derwent View

Derwent View holiday barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Derwent View holiday barn
View from the barn garden View from the barn garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Derwent View holiday barn
View from the barn garden
View from the barn garden
kitchen diner.  dining table seats up to 10 also breakfast bar with room for 4 and a 3 seater settee
lounge
spacious entrance hall
Main bedroom - superking bed can be split into 2 singles.  Also wooden cot and room for 2 putup beds
upstairs double bedroom
downstairs double bedroom
upstairs middle bedroom - king size bed can be split into 2 singles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
loonylaur...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at this beautiful house last weekend and it surpassed all expectations. The house is beautiful with stunning views from the garden and many of the windows. The facilities were fantastic with lovely welcome touches like a bottle of wine and other amenities. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the showers warm and powerful.

The house is in a brilliant location with plenty of room for parking (we had four cars and no problems). Lovely walks are really close by, Matlock train station is less than a 10 minute drive away with Matlock Bath and its attractions about 20 minutes away.

I've already recommended this house to friends and would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry Q
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

One of the best cottages we have stayed in, the scenery from the cottage was spectacular, the cottage itself was excellent, everything you would expect to find at home was provided, (very well eqiuiped kitchen) the owners had even provided shower gel and shampoo. The cottage was also well placed for most days out, loads of places to visit well within half an hour away. The Quinn & Legg family could not recommend this cottage enough. All 8 of us (4 adults & 4 children) had a great holiday at this cottage. Regarding the provided DVD's we recommend watching Peter Kay. For trips we would recommend going into Matlock Bath (Heights of Abraham - cable cars & caves plus play areas) Matlock (park & play area with water play, so remember to take towels) Dovedale (river & stepping stones) Chatsworth House (lovely stately home and gardens, also has a farm and large play are. there are plenty of little towns nearby for shops or just a mooch around & coffee shops for example Ashbourne. There is a sainsburys in Matlock which is just 5 mins down the road, which is very useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for groups, large families”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect location for a reunion of a large family or a gathering of friends. We were a party of 3 families; 6 adults & 4 children. Plenty of room, all additional bits for children (high chairs, cots, toys), didn't have to worry about bringing anything like that with us.
We arranged a grocery delivery, which Beth gave us the details of, worked out perfectly.
Ideally located for Matlock where there's loads to do.
Gorgeous views, perfect BBQ area and lots of seating.
A great weekend had by all, would definitely recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555mogs
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

the best place I have stayed in ,large very large ,lovely bedrooms ,kitchen and living room doors on to patio which hosted 16 of us for a bbq on the Sunday .the views are magnificent,Bakewell and Matlock just couple of miles away .walked to the sycamore pub one night bit of a walk so got taxi next time only £3.50 the pies and gravy were the best I have ever had .barn was also pet friendly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being together as a family loads of room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is the second time we've stayed here & loved it just as much as the first time. We stayed here with friends and children & it had everything we needed. The lounge & garden are perfect for keeping the kids entertained while the kitchen diner is great for the adults to relax. Matlock is close enough for places to visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwells150
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we stayed an extra night!”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed during the week with friends.
Absolutely loved the cottage and the location, the views were spectacular!
It's a perfect place to chill out and unwind, it's very well equipped everything you could need is there! From things in the kitchen to toiletries in the bathrooms. We thought enjoyed BBQing too! Great selection of board games for the days when the weather prevents you from exploring the area. Lots of books and maps of local area to aid you in visiting the beautiful countryside. Lots of walks on the doorstep!
We travelled there by train from Nottingham less than 1hr away was a great escape from the city. It's easy to walk in to Matlock or Darley Dale, taxis back to the cottage were very reasonable at £6. We enjoyed it that much, and there was availability with the very friendly owners, we stayed an extra night!
Thankyou for a wonderful stay we hope to visit again soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonessBoa...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A break away from the Madding Crowd”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled from Grangemouth, Glasgow and the New Forest to meet up in the middle for a short spring break. Derwent view was a chance find but it most definitely won't be the last! The converted barn easily houses. 3 generations plus canine companions. with space to sit together but also room to be alone. My father in law has some mobility issues but the layout of the rooms meant he had no problems and the two en suites, family bathroom and downstairs toilet meant there were no inconveniences. often found when travelling with older people AND teenagers. The views are superb and all the homely touches Beth provides makes it really easy to settle in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: BtT Was repairing wifi during our stay. Not a criticism of the property just a comment on its rural location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing