We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoughtful and familyfriendly”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Derwent View

Derwent View holiday barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Derwent View holiday barn
View from the barn garden View from the barn garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Derwent View holiday barn
View from the barn garden
View from the barn garden
kitchen diner.  dining table seats up to 10 also breakfast bar with room for 4 and a 3 seater settee
lounge
spacious entrance hall
Main bedroom - superking bed can be split into 2 singles.  Also wooden cot and room for 2 putup beds
upstairs double bedroom
downstairs double bedroom
upstairs middle bedroom - king size bed can be split into 2 singles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katja K
1 review
“Thoughtful and familyfriendly”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed with 2 families (4 adults, 5 children) for 4 days at Derwent view and had a great time. We also appriciated very much the equipment, toys, games etc. From here we had a great day out at Chatsworth (only 15 min.) and two challenging round hiking tours. To sum up everyone of the two families felt happy.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_A_Be...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Little Find”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were 3 families with 4 children/babies in total, that visited Derwent View & it was perfectly located, the rooms were fab & the house was well equipped with cot, travel cot, highchair, baby toys & children's puzzles, games & DVDs. o/s maps & walk ideas. Unfortunately it rained for most of the week, so we'll just have to come back again in the summer! A perfect base for exploring the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious and well equipped for all the family”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here Monday to Friday with extended family (6 adults and 4 children.) With 2 en-suites and a main bathroom we had plenty of space and it did not feel at all crowded. We'd brought books and toys for our young children but they were far more interested in the huge selection of children's books and box of toys that were in the property. There were plenty of DVDs, walking guides and games. The kitchen was very well equipped and everything was very comfortable. It was a great place to come back to after a long walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimclark8...
1 review
“A brilliant little find”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just got back from spending the weekend have have thoroughly enjoyed the house. As a group of seven adults and one five month old baby it was perfect for us. Plenty of space, rooms and lovely little touches that made it perfect.

Thankyou

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great let - amazing attention to detail”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We took Derwent View for 4 nights to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. Of all the places we have taken over the years, mainly abroad, the thoughtful manner in which Derwent View has been equipped outstrips them by miles - masses of kitchen equipment, two pillows on every bed, goodies left in the fridge for our arrival - I could go on. Beth Lessiter, the owner, sent a list of things we did not need to bring (loo rolls, shampoo etc etc) a few days before we arrived. The barn conversion is spacious (the photos do not do it justice) and has the most amazing panoramic views from the small garden - there is a large field at the side of the property for active children. There is plenty of parking once you have negotiated the narrow lane that leads to Derwent View. I can't recommend this let more highly. We had a wonderful time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger Y
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good space, good views, cosy”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent 10 days at Derwent View with our two young teens and had visitors as well. The cottage pretty much has everything you need, and the owners even brought a new BBQ by when the other one broke with previous guests. Bathrooms were plentiful. There were some issues with the drainage in the showers though. The two en suite bathrooms are a bit tiny, but it's a vacation not your regular residence. The space for the kids to play (as we had younger kids visiting as well) is a bit limited. Wifi worked dependably, which was great. Kitchen is really nicely done. Sitting room and kitchen have lovely french doors that open up onto the patio and views of the valley. Location is a bit challenging--it is on the top of a hill--so a sat-nav was helpful in getting us to/from. It is a good location for visiting places in the Peaks. It takes a while to get everywhere from anywhere in the Peaks because the roads are narrow and twisty-turny--but that is the charm of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and general good shape of the accommodation; living space was great.
Liked least: bedding--i like all-cotton sheets; spiders--but it's on a farm...; grass needed mowing.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great value”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent communications from owner, they went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. Located in an area with impressive scenery, Derwent View itself is spacious, warm, clean and comfortable. It was also great value at this time of the year.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Nice welcoming accomodation
Liked least: Slightly challenging parking - but not a problem really
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing