We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very warm host and welcoming stay”
other travelers have booked this property
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Enjoy a good nights rest with Hungarian Goose Down bedding and Egyptian Cotton sheets.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
35 reviews
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Enjoy a good nights rest with Hungarian Goose Down bedding and Egyptian Cotton sheets.
This photo was taking looking directly ahead from the South facing terrace - a great sun trap!
Taken from the terrace looking East at Riber Castle. You can also see The Heights of Abraham.
This will give you an idea of the walk down into Matlock which takes about 15 minutes.
View the Derwent Valley from above in a cable car. The Heights of Abraham is 10 minutes drive.
We are surrounded by many beautiful villages. This is Ashford-in-the-Water, 20 minutes by car.
Bakewell has a monthly Farmers Market, usually the last Saturday of each month.
Crown Square, Matlock.
Chatsworth House is a 15 minute drive. Make sure you visit the farm shop in Pilsley.
Matlock Bath is 10 minutes away. A former spa town alongside the River Derwent.
Discover the underground world of the peaks. Treak Cliff cavern - Castleton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
levibabe1...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very warm host and welcoming stay”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Beautiful cosy place, wonderful welcome.

We have just spent a lovely couple of days in this lovely property. We found it warm and welcoming and spotlessly clean. Its the type of accommodation that you feel comfortable enough with, to stay in and snuggle in the evening. The local pub is a minutes walk away which served delicious home cooked food. The fire was an added bonus too! We spent both days walking - the region is stunning. We can thoroughly recommend a stay here. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia N
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Place - with some room for improvement ”
Reviewed January 20, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The apartment (with own entrance) is lovely, with wonderful views down to Matlock Bank and the hills.

It was very clean, and it was a lovely touch to have the Christmas tree and decorations. Which we appreciated.

Unfortunately the biggest thing that let it down, was how cold it was in the living area (lounge and kitchen), and the conservatory dining area which was part of the same room (as no door to block it off) was so cold it was completely unusable. We left a few days early as although we turned the radiators up in the living area to maximum (and they did work), because it is single glazed, and the conservatory also gets the wind to it, and had a cracked window panel (with tape on it to cover it up), we just couldn’t get warm.

However the bedrooms and bathroom were nice and toasty.

The other disappointing thing was there was never enough hot water in the bathroom to have a bath, for some reason the shower temperature was fine and warm.

A couple of other comments here based on the description of the place here on TripAdvisor and Holiday Lettings:

‘You will be greeted by’

- ‘fresh laundered sheets on all beds
- with a choice of weighted duvets if required....’

Fresh sheets on master bedroom, but had to request sheets for the spare room (which Debbie did sort out a day or so later)

- ‘a handmade gift for each guest’
We didn’t get this

- ‘power shower....’
The head might need changing but as it was, was not very powerful

- ‘dining room where you can enjoy wonderful dinners’
Too cold I afraid

- ‘Secure off street car parking spaces for two cars’
We were given one space, perhaps there was another available upon request

This is still a lovely place to visit and am sure would be much better in spring and summer when warmer. But for £615 for the week expected at least decent insulation/heating, hot water and beds made up.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2018
Thank you very much for your review. Naturally we were disappointed to realise that there were some issues with our property but we do appreciate all feedback as if they are not highlighted they cannot be addressed. I would like to respond to some of the comments.
The property is unfortunately single glazed but we ensure the heating is kept on 24/7 and only turned down by guests if they want it to be. We acknowledge that the conservatory area is cooler than the rest of the property when it is freezing cold outside due to the large panes of glass but we feel that this does not make the living area cold. I am the worst person for hating the cold but in the 10 years we have let the property out we can honestly say that the property is warm and cosy and we continuously have guests saying that they find it so. Our Trip Advisor reviews show this. However we are upset to learn that this was felt.
With regards to the beds being made we did actually make a mistake here which I apologised unreservedly for this and offered to rectify immediately. Most Holiday Lets only make up the beds that are required. This booking was initially made for one couple sharing. However later on we were made aware that the twin beds were now required as additional guests were now be joining several days later. We did make a mistake, totally forgetting the request! However on the arrival day when we realised we had forgotten I offered to rectify the situation there and then but being told there was absolutely no problem and to just pop around the following day, it leaves me a little confused as to what more we could have done.
With regards to the shower and water we really wish that we had been made aware of this at the time so that we could have addressed the problem. Holiday Owners continuously have to maintain their properties but sometimes unless we are told of a problem we are not aware. We do actually ask in our property information pack to let us know immediately if there are any issues so they can be hopefully dealt with straight away. We also ask guests to let us know if something has been damaged or broken so that we can replace/repair before the next guests arrive. Unfortunately we did notice something that had been broken but we wasn’t made aware of this which was unfortunate because we didn’t have time to replace it for the next guests. Finally, with regards to our pricing this booking cost £475 for 5 nights over the New Year period which we feel is very reasonable. An extra 2 nights were then requested later on and we only asked for an additional £150 which we discounted as a gesture of goodwill. We do hope that the things you have brought to our attention now didn’t disappoint so much so to prevent you enjoying your New Year and we would like to take this opportunity to say thank you for the comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

From the moment I booked, Debbie couldn't have been more helpful. I went for a short break with my husband, my elderly Mother and our pet dog. On arrival the cottage was absolutely spotless and beautifully presented, a credit to its owner. It was lacking nothing, and in a prime location. We were lucky with the weather so we were able to sit out on the patio and enjoy the amazing views (don't forget your binoculars!) if you see this property available then don't hesitate to book it, you won't be disappointed! We would definitely visit again and recommend to friends and family.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Yvonne thank you so much for your wonderful review. It always means so much! If I can help my guests in even the tiniest way so that they can take a little time out from the usual ups and downs of day to day life and 'just forget' then surely I have the best job in the world!!! Take care x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
750GGAA75...
Banff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from our stay at Little Larsas Retreat which was just fantastic. This cottage / house is just amazing, beautifully decorated and furnished. Gorgeous sumptuous beds with top quality linen. Really good stock basic kitchen goodies and welcomed in the sunny conservatory with fresh scones, cream and jam whilst overlooking the Matlock valley from uninterrupted views. Breakfast on the private decked area outside and sat there in evening listening to the birds looking out over the beautiful countryside. Can't praise this cottage and Debbie enough. Everything including emails and correspondence was dealt with perfectly. We will definitely stay here again. Highly highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyannj...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous Place”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We relaxed as soon as we arrived at this gorgeous property. Warm, welcoming and spotless. The views are to die for! There was tons of information on the area and we certainly made the most of our stay and visited as much as we could in the time we had. We particularly enjoyed Bakewell Chatsworth and Ashborne. The friendly local is a minutes walk and there are plenty of amenities in Matlock Town inc. M&S Food Hall and Sainsbury's. Thank you Debbie for letting us stay, we thoroughly enjoyed it and plan to come back later on in the year to continue exploring the area!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graceymay...
Gracey, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Fab!”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely welcome on arrival with afternoon tea and flowers, soft music. The property is beautifully decorated and very clean. The views are just wonderful. The local pub is a minutes walk and serves great home cooked food and you have a10/15 minute walk into Matlock Town if you wish to do so. The location is ideal for exploring the area amd attractions. The owner was extremely helpful and quick to reply. Thank you!

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a clean, tastefully decorated, warm and cosy flat with stunning views over Matlock. And there's a great little pub just around the corner....what's not to like?
We arrived to a nice cream tea set out for us to enjoy - a nice touch. Had a minor problem with the TV but the owners were quick to respond and sort it out.
We would love to go back in the Spring/Summer so we can enjoy the views from the terrace whilst sipping a glass of wine!!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2016
Dear guests
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would love to welcome you back again in the summer; you will love sipping your wine on the terrace!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing