We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay”
other travelers have booked this property
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Enjoy a good nights rest with Hungarian Goose Down bedding and Egyptian Cotton sheets.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Enjoy a good nights rest with Hungarian Goose Down bedding and Egyptian Cotton sheets.
This photo was taking looking directly ahead from the South facing terrace - a great sun trap!
Taken from the terrace looking East at Riber Castle. You can also see The Heights of Abraham.
This will give you an idea of the walk down into Matlock which takes about 15 minutes.
View the Derwent Valley from above in a cable car. The Heights of Abraham is 10 minutes drive.
We are surrounded by many beautiful villages. This is Ashford-in-the-Water, 20 minutes by car.
Bakewell has a monthly Farmers Market, usually the last Saturday of each month.
Crown Square, Matlock.
Chatsworth House is a 15 minute drive. Make sure you visit the farm shop in Pilsley.
Matlock Bath is 10 minutes away. A former spa town alongside the River Derwent.
Discover the underground world of the peaks. Treak Cliff cavern - Castleton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
julie g
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at this property recently and we were very impressed overall. Our emails were responded too quickly (very annoying when you have to wait hours!) and booking was straight forward and hassle free. The accommodation is beautiful, spotless and well maintained. We were drawn to this property at it didn’t look like a typical holiday let and we weren’t disappointed, it felt like a well-loved home. The area is great for visiting attractions and you can pick up walks practically from the door. There is a selection of restaurants in Matlock and we would particularly recommend Maazi (Indian).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dll189
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really great stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a delight it has been to stay here. The welcome from the owner was superb and she couldn’t do enough for us, if we required help. The views from the terrace are stunning and the inside is beautifully decorated and so comfortable that we looked forward to returning to ‘our home from home’ in the evenings!
Our main reason for the visiting the area was to visit Chatsworth House and it was only a short drive away. It didn’t disappoint. We also managed a few walks chosen from the great selection provided. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the information/walks we provide useful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
578rosie
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This property is not dog friendly!”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a week's holiday at this cottage with our 2 small dogs. The owner stated there was an enclosed garden, patio and balcony. In fact there was only a small piece of enclosed decking. There was nowhere for dogs to relieve themselves at the property. One of our dogs had an upset tummy and needed to go out during the night. After being out in the pouring rain for two nights during the early hours we returned home. The owner has now removed enclosed garden from her description and has been rude and sarcastic when we suggested that we should have a partial refund for the four nights we had to forfeit. Certainly needs some help with her customer care.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2015
Dear Guest
I am aware that you are contacting me continuously to the point of harassment and that your review is solely to try and damage my reputation. I will therefore respond only so others can understand the situation.

Having only found out that you vacated the property when you were home and your reason for doing so I have refused you a full refund and additional compensation on top for ‘distress’ because the principal of the matter cannot be justified. And although you do not say in your review, you tell me that because your dogs would not use the outdoor space to defecate, this actually caused their stomach upset!

No self-respecting Holiday Owner would want their guests’ dogs to have to rely solely on the outdoor space as a toilet and future guests I’m sure would be horrified if they thought that a Holiday Owner was happy for her guests dogs to do so, particularly when the let welcomes children.

As an owner of 3 amazing dogs I know full well how dogs love being walked and the thought of your pets just been turned out onto a garden day in day out, instead of enjoying walks, upsets me.

I have never advertised my let as having a garden, balcony, terrace – why would I? And when a property is advertised as being ‘Dog Friendly’ this is not an advertisement that the outdoor space can be as a toilet for pets. Little Larsas Retreat is dog friendly for those 99.9% of guests that respect themselves and their surroundings.

As I told you 3 months ago I am truly very sorry that your break was shortened. I really hope that eventually you will be able to move on from this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorinaori...
United Kingdom
1 review
“Great escape for a short mini moon break”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We recently just got married and wanted a short mini moon break with our children before they head back to school. This was a last minute booking and got such a amazing deal for such a beautiful location. We had good communication with the owner and when we arrived at the property, we were greeted with played jazz music and a table set up with tea, jam & cream scones. As well as that we also got a card welcoming us to our stay. The property is beautifully furnished and smells nice :) We were not far from town but would advise to drive if you have children rather than walk, unless your children are much older.

I would absolutely recommend this property and hopefully will come back at the near future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property
Liked least: Nothing we can think of
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a delight to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJETS305
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic little escape”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Other reviews have summed up how lovely Little Larsas is - I was/am recuperating from a long illness and took my two teenage children for a short break. It was perfect and felt totally relaxing from the minute we arrived. Its a perfect location for key visits such as Chatsworth (highly recommend the Farm Shop) Haddon Hall, Eyam village etc. & obviously the whole area has some lovely walks. We ate out in the evening and were out all day but there is a good Sainsburys in Matlock if you wanted to stock up. The Shalimar Indian restaurant was excellent (need to be able to drive to it). We are very grateful for the effort that Debbie puts in to make this rental a perfect break.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and for your helpful comments. I wish you well with everythingx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemmaleig...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The most at home I've felt whilst away - perfect base to explore the Peaks”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Little Larsas Retreat feels like staying in someone's much-loved home as opposed to a holiday let. A lot of care and attention has been invested into this property - from exceptional customer service to fresh flowers and jazz on arrival.

I booked this property for our first family break away with a young baby, a daunting experience. After a busy few months I felt incredibly relaxed from the moment we opened the door. Expect stunning views and a bijou, Cath Kidstin inspired conservatory with a delicious afternoon tea ready to greet you after your journey. It's the warmest welcome I've ever received!

The style and decor is lovely, with a mix of Victorian features and a shabby chic theme. The lounge and master bedroom are articularly impressive. Even if you do experience bad weather, you can enjoy the views from the sofa and/or conservatory and there are also games and DVDs too.

There is lots of information about local walks, restaurants and tourist attractions along with a guest book to give you those extra hints and tips. We enjoyed a lovely day out at Chatsworth House, which is only a ten minute drive away. If you don't want to venture out after a busy day, there's a friendly pub with an extensive menu a stone's throw away and the local take-aways will deliver.

This property is fantastic but here are a few extra hints to help you decide whether this is for you.
1) it's about a 15 min walk to town but it's a steep hill. Having a car is advisable - there's a parking space there but it's quite small. There's ample on street parking there though, so parking was never an issue.
2) it's a well equipped but relatively small kitchen and there's no dishwasher. Perfect for making snacks etc but not ideal for big meals. Don't let this put you off though as it's a great excuse to eat out at the many local restaurants.
3) The bed is sumptuous with very high quality bed linen. This is however an apartment and we found the people above a bit noisy on occasion - at 2am in the morning. To be fair, our baby wasn't silent either! If you're a light sleeper you might struggle dependant on how courteous the other guests are.

I'd highly recommend a stay here, it's a great base to explore the many local attractions and you'll do it in comfort and style. Thank you Debbie for a wonderful and memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it felt like home from home
Liked least: Not being able to quickly walk to something local - shops and restaurants
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoulouLon...
London, Ont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We just got back from our 12 day trip to the Uk of which 8 nights were spent at Debbie's wonderful retreat. We were there exactly one yr ago for 4 nights. Absolutely spotless and inviting. Debbie leaves special baking upon your arrival and the view from the deck is breath taking. The Sycamore Inn next door is handy if you don't feel like cooking but everything is available if you wish to do your own meals with fridge, microwave range and oven. The large yet cosy living room with TV and dvd player and movies to watch is a perfect way to spend evening after touring or walking all day. The area is great for people who love to hike. Bedrooms have great beds and very quiet for sleeping. Sunroom is great for morning coffee and enjoy the view. Would definitely go back again. This time our son and wife joined us and they thought that each day was like going home to our home away from home. Much better than a hotel! Debbie is a delight and goes that extra mile in the decorating of the house as well as the extras, like a kettle in the main bedroom with coffee and tea and water bottles. Can't wait for next trip back there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and feel of being at home.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing