We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful sights, fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rapid Horizons Ltd

Rapid Horizons Ltd
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We specialise in White Water Rafting, Kayaking and River Tubing! Take to the white stuff with Rapid Horizons. From family groups to stag and hen parties our aim is to give you the best experience on the river. Based in Darley Dale our main location is the River Derwent but we also operate in North Wales on the River Dee and also Nottingham at Holme Pierrepont. No Experience is required for any of our activities. Our staff and River Guides and highly qualified and experienced not to mention incredibly passionate abut their jobs!
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful sights, fantastic staff”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

After a very easy an efficient booking process we proceeded to make our way to the beautiful Derbyshire dales, on an unbelievably warm and pleasant day. After a very warm welcome we were provided with all the equipment we needed and before we knew it we were ready to hit the river! The safety talk was funny and put all the nervous members of the group at ease. The first half of the trip was beautiful and the guides banter was second to none! We participated in challenges which usually ended up in us getting very wet, hook a duck and pirate ships were definitely the kids favorites! Then later on we got to take on some white water while being cheered on by strangers as we paddled past matlocks park. The white water section lasted at least a mile. At the end of the trip we were picked up quickly and before we knew it we were in a hot shower. The food at the pub afterwards was great and even after a few hours of finishing, the guides were still friendly, remembered everyone's names and continued to make us smile! I can't recommend this enough and we will definitely be returning to rapid horizons for another one of their activities or maybe even to tackle a bigger river in north wales :) thank you Jon, Chris and Ben at rapid horizons. We will see you again very soon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LolaO27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bramhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booking the trip was so easy and John was very Helpful from start to finish. He explained in detail what to be expected and got back to us immediately with confirmation and info.

I would recommend this trip as it is suitable for young kids, families, groups and couples... Its packed with loads of fun, and John the guide made sure we made the most of it... its good value for money..

Definitely be going back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 768Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tubing Fun on the River Derwent!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

BRILLIANT!
What a fab start to a fun filled weekend, I bought this adventure experience as part of my sisters 30th birthday present! We had such a fun day both loving being in the outdoors , Jon had been in contact once I booked our date, we met and got changed into provided wet suits ready for a fun on the River Derwent. Jon explained everything clearly and was a great instructor to take us on the River Derwent, We felt safe and had every confidence in the advice provided…we thoroughly enjoyed our morning water tubing on the River Derwent- perfect way to spend a Saturday Morning before walking in the Peaks on Sunday. The water was really cold as March isn’t the hottest climate in the UK!!, so was great to know we could have a nice warm shower in the pub opposite the car park for 20p after our tubing experience. Would highly recommend Rapid Horizons , may it be tubing, rafting ..(or maybe snow tubing in the winter-TBC! ;) ) Look forward to seeing some pictures and hopefully see you in the summer, this time for rafting fun!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank h0lidays77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wet "n" wild”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

a great way to pass a Saturday morning, eight strangers and their guide John kitted out in rubber throwing their car keys into a box!! Very soon thanks to the skillful guidance of John, all nine are working as a team, chatting laughing and having fun, Excellent directions to the venue, great safety talk, and no matter who is in the raft the level of rafting will take into account their needs, and confidence levels with opportunities to alight from the raft at various points and join in again a shorter distance down the river.
Great fun

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Back in The Industrial Revolution...”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Having picked the wettest day this year so far for our foray into river rafting, we were suitably kitted out by our friendly guide, John. The rain only added to the fun, as we flipped, span and generally splashed about on the Derwent. Added to this was John's phenomenal grasp of the local history with which he entertained and informed us as we paddled past relics from the Industrial Revolution!
Well organised, entertaining and a perfect way to spend a rainy Saturday afternoon with the mallards, we'd recommend this to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TessW_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapid Horizons Ltd also viewed

 

Been to Rapid Horizons Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing