We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular period property in a stunning location”
other travelers have booked this property
Elm Tree Farm is the perfect venue for your next reunion or family celebration
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elm Tree Farm is the perfect venue for your next reunion or family celebration
Cook, eat and relax together in the huge oak beaned kitchen, dining area and lounge Arise refreshed after a comfortable night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Elm Tree Farm is the perfect venue for your next reunion or family celebration
Cook, eat and relax together in the huge oak beaned kitchen, dining area and lounge
Arise refreshed after a comfortable night
Spacious kitchen facilites
Dining for all guests together
Let you dog run free in the secure courtyard
Mediaeval features in the historic farmhouse
Generously equipped with almost everything you could need
Ample parking for the whole group
Romantic splendour in the old Hayloft
Covered outdoor dining in the open barn
Enjoy a sheltered BBQ
Maps & books for exploring Bakewell, Chatsworth and beyond
Enjoy the elegance of a four poster bed in the old cottage parlour
Cosy comfort in the old Byre
Socialise together
Two futons give flexible sleeping arrangements for groups of friends
Find a quiet corner to chat or read
Play on the Gallery
Lots of toys to entertain all ages
Relax in the lounge
Great for celebrations across all seasons.
Two bathrooms are on the ground floor
Two showers and a bath
Explore the abundance of walking options on the doorstep
Enjoy a meal at one of the local pubs
Explore Matlock and the Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DMW1984
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Spectacular period property in a stunning location”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The service was exceptional right from booking Elm Tree Farm to having a guided tour of the house at the start of our weekend away. The owners were friendly, incredibly helpful and had provided beautiful little touches - a delicious homemade Bakewell tart - that made the weekend fantastic.

Everything we needed was already in the house, plus more than we could ever think of ourselves. The standard of finish throughout was to a far higher standard than we were expecting and the open plan kitchen / living / dining room had plenty of space for the 11 of us.

The house was easier to find than we thought and the local pub, The Jug & Glass Inn, was only a short walk down the road, providing us with plenty of local ales, good food and a roaring fire to see us through the weekend.

I have already recommended the house to a number of family and friends and I would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carla r
Valencia, Spain
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had an amazing stay at Elm Tree Farm, it is a beautiful cottage, the pictures really can't do it justice. It was even bigger than I expected and the quality of the fixtures and furnishings is of a very high standard (very comfy beds!). The cottage is incredibly well equipped, Hilary has done a lot of research into what you might need during your stay and ensures all your needs are catered for. I couldn't recommend this cottage more, we had a wonderful stay. Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped the cottage was
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Elm Tree Farm is a great place for family and friends to get together, we had a group of two families with four adults and four children (3 years to 3 months). There is so much space for the children to run around, both inside and out, and the toys provided with the cottage provided many hours of distraction.

Can't recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Internet available in every room and outside.
Liked least: Couldn't fault anything.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shm36
London
1 review
“The most wonderful country retreat!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here as a group of 11 on a hen do for a long weekend. The house was incredible, with so much history and had been finished to such a high standard that we were thrilled when we arrived! At every point in the process Hilary was wonderful in helping us to arrange our stay, including updating us on the new BBQ. We were all very impressed by how well stocked the house was, including a store room with a whole host of additional bits and pieces. All of us would recommend this to friends and would not hesitate to book this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - it was a wonderful long weekend!
Liked least: A very small point but the toaster was a bit small for the number of people.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2013
We are so glad that you made the most of the facilities at Elm Tree Farm and had such an enjoyable weekend. It has been a pleasure to welcome you all.Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex B
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Perfect Weekend that exceeded expectations”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

On arriving to this beautiful farm house, I was welcomed by Sandra a bottle of milk and a homemade pie :) Which was delicious!!
We stayed as a family group of 12 and 2 dogs, with ages ranging from 18months to 88. Everyone fitted very comfortably, in their stylish bedrooms and the travel cot was extremely useful.
The Website for the house is incredibly detailed with what the cottage has to offer, and includes its history and detailed photographed directions to Elm Tree Farm.
We ate all our meals outside in the barn, because of the gorgeous weather, however had it been raining there would have been ample space for us all to sit inside.
Between the house and the barn was an enclosed courtyard which was perfect for dogs and little ones to play in without anyone needing to worry about the road.
The house comes equipped with everything you could possibly desire for a weekend away- I would recommend this holiday cottage to everyone. (unless they want to go on the weekend we want next year!!!)
Thankyou Hilary!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything- there was nothing we could complain about.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words - and for treating Elm Tree Farm with such great care. We would be delighted to welcome you all again. Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen D
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice barn conversion, with great kitchen dining and lounge facilities”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The barn is a well decorated neat and tidy place to stay.
On the up side it was great for a big party of people (ie 12) to cook and eat and play together.
on the down side some of the rooms were not private and people had to walk through to get to other rooms. Shame that this wasn't thought out in planning the barn. Also not disability accessible because of steps between rooms.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the big kitchen
Liked least: the bedrooms that werent private
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2013
Thank you for your helpful comments. Elm Tree Farm is now advertised as having 5 bedrooms, all of which are fully private. The sleeping areas that people can walk through are ones we make available as optional extras to suit the needs of some families.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel O
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We were a group of 12 ladies who stayed here for a gathering, the cottage was well equipped with everything we needed and just very charming. We enjoyed orienteering near by at Black Rocks, a treasure hunt in Matlock followed by Sunday dinner at the local pub down the road. We would not hesitate to stay here again in fact we just need another family excuse to do it !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage was ideal for a big party
Liked least: nothing it was spot on.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words - we are really pleased that Elm Tree Farm was so suitable for your group and that you enjoyed the local area so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$252
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing