We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great site at a great price - august 2012 stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barn Farm Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barn Farm Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great site at a great price - august 2012 stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Love this site! Amazingly clean and well run. August 2012 bank holiday firework show spectacular. Will definitely be returning here for a future stay. Would also love to stay in one of the barns with a group of people. Felt safe and friendly. Downside was it pretty much poured down for the week which is not good whilst camping and the ground did get quite boggy at certain areas we were pitched. Did not cause too much problem as people were just asked to keep cars off the grass and those that didn't got stuck which was there own fault for not listening! Pitch where you wish to with respect to others, please note not all people abide by this rule but security will move them if needed. Excellent play areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    39
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
23
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

A great place to stay for a few day's on a hiking break with my girlfriend's, this was a relatively cheap break for us all, we had the barn for ten and there was seven of us, this gave us plenty of space for all our luggage. The setting is great with plenty of lovely walks in the area. We did nine miles on our arrival on the Friday which turned out to be the worst day with pretty much constant rain in the afternoon, up over the nine ladies stone circle, a fabulous area, down to Cauldwells Mill Craft Centre (which is a great place) and back to base.
Onto Buxton the next day then back to Bakewell and a little retail therapy. Who wouldn't like Bakewell!!
There are two pub's within the village for evening meals (take a torch to guide you to the road). we had a nice meal at each one, then back to the barn for more drinking and good time's, even a spot of Northern Soul dancing was enjoyed. The barn has all you need for cooking, we had full cooked breakfast each day. Finally on the Sunday we did a 5 mile circular walk before heading homewards. We all had a great time and will be looking at doing the same thing next year, the weather over the weekend was amazing for October, lovely to see bright red fungas with white spots and allsorts of Autumn nature. A truly lovely place to stay, BOOK IT!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Once again another enjoyable visit to Barn Farm. As a lady on her own it is a site I just love to visit. The site is kept spotlessly clean plenty of room for everyone and this weekend the added bonus of watching the paint balling and listening to the music. When booking in I was advised it may be noisy on site but it was not a problem but nice to have been advised. I would recommend this site to anyone wanting to explore the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 121Mel623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighouse
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and had a great time. Good grass in fields (quite sloping but wasn't a problem), clean toilets, showers and pot washing and great play area for my two (aged 4 and 18 months). Site was pretty busy but we still had plenty of space in our field (other field looked more tightly pitched).

Bacon baps were yummy (not always available) and shop was handy (plus fridge and freezer were a good addition).

Will definitely go again, thank you!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hazelc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great location, clean and modern facilities. Also bargain price! Will be staying again! The cob van in the morning was a great idea! It was packed as it was a bank holiday and so lots of children around, whose parents were inconsiderate with volume levels in the morning!

Room Tip: We stayed in the field right at the end of the site - try not to! Massive trek to the loo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Barn farm's facilities were excellent, and considering how many tents were visible on the fields, the showers and toilets never felt too busy.
Great location close to Bakewell, Matlock, Chatsworth & Haddon Hall, walking distance to two lovely pubs. Booked a meal at the Druids inn (advisable) , the menu is varied and the food was lovely.
This was our first time camping with our young children, wow what an experience!! That is all I can say.
Would definitely visit barn farm again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank twinnybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went forbank holiday.. really good campsite...excellent, spotlessly clean, central to lots of activities in the peak district.....

I would throughly recommend this camp site to anyone..all the positive comments made by others, i would endorse

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
4.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
7.5 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#4 of 40 in Buxton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 14 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.9 mi away
Darwin Forest Country Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Farm Camping

Property: Barn Farm Camping
Address: Birchover, Matlock DE4 2BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn Farm Camping 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barn Farm is situated on the outskirts of the Peak District. Overlooking the Derwent Valley, the farm is a haven for wildlife including Badgers and rare Black Fallow deer. It boasts over 60 species of birds. Caravan and camping visitors can enjoy the use of our 5 star facilities which include a laundry and drying area, games room with TV, outdoor childrens playground, sauna, convenience/camping store on site. Aswell as the camping and caravan pitches we have 5 self-contained camping barns which accommodate from 2 - 15 people. Located 7 miles south of the historic market town of Bakewell and 3 miles west of Matlock, Barn Farm is ideally situated to access the diverse array of local attractions.The Limestone Way passes close by the farm, which is situated on the junction of no less than 4 major footpaths throughout the area. Bordering the farm is the mystical Stanton Moor with its ancient 'Nine Ladies' stone circle. Robin Hood's Stride and Catcliffe Rocks are just 2 of the local climbing areas. Matlock Bath boasts the children's attraction 'Gullivers Kingdom' and a cable car to the heights of Abraham. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing