We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 52 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Wonderful location...”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Friendly family business over looking Starkholmes village and out to the Derbyshire dales, Matlock Bath and beyond.
Very clean, well maintained establishment, well serviced rooms with tea/coffee facilities, very comfortable bed(a good nights sleep) and an excellent shower.
White Lion public house less than ten minutes walk providing good 'Pub' Food.
Very good breakfast, cooked to order.
An excellent all round stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111TWIGAMINHAAFRIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    14
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
80
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A wonderfully presented, clean and friendly B&B which I will be recommending to my friends and family. Thoroughly enjoyable breakfast and afternoon tea and homemade cake too! A most comfortable room (Derwent Suite) and comfortable bed. A truly delightful family run business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and was made to feel it was just like home sue and John made us feel very welcome room was well decorated very clean fab shower the views are great great breakfast would stay there again and recommend it to any body who asks us

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian4757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Only stayed for one night, but would love to stay again sometime. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming, the guest house was very clean and lovely rooms. Great breakfast very fresh. The views were fantastic, bit of a walk up the hill but worth the effort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob13UkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for one night a couple of weeks ago and had a very enjoyable stay. We received a very warm welcome from the owner, who showed us to our room and offered a fresh pot of tea/home made cake in the lounge. The bedroom was lovely, like a home from home. The breakfast in the morning was excellent as well. Parking is a bit challenging as it's located on a steep hill and is a bit small, but is manageable. Would highly recommend staying here.
Also, really good local pub just 5-10 minute walk (The White Horse) where we went for dinner and a few drinks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KML1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Everything was 5 star from the two lovely people who own it and there very big but soft cat down too the bath tub in our room, the house is amazing they have both done a very good job in making the place what it is. 100% going to be staying here again !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed at The Gables for one night to break a journey from Scotland to London. We arrived early evening and received a warm welcome from the owner. The suite was beautiful and impeccably clean, with a huge bathroom, fluffy bathrobes and slippers, homemade shortbread on the tea tray and the most amazing view of Marlock Bath and the cable cars! We took a short walk down the hill to the White Lion where we had a very reasonably priced, delicious meal. The pub has a lovely atmosphere. We left early the next morning after a lovely breakfast. The only downside to the stay was that we only stayed on night! We will definitely return at a later date.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjlohouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
5.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 52 in Matlock
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 52 in Matlock
309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#8 of 52 in Matlock
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Gables Riber Road | Starkholmes, Matlock DE4 5JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gables Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful detached property set in it's own grounds and with stunning views over looking Matlock Bath & 'The Heights of Abraham.3 Luxury rooms offering en-suite facilities,guest's lounge, scenic patio and off parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gables Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing