We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely pub!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat Inn Restautant

The Boat Inn Restautant
Ranked #20 of 121 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Boat in Cromford is a very friendly & welcoming pub. Lorraine & Dave have done a superb job and made it into a thriving village pub. Great beer, good food and a lovely friendly atmosphere.

In the Summer you can sit in the lovely beer garden and relax whilst having your food & drink: perfect!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    46
    12
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“2nd time at the boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the boat and I have to say, I am glad we came back.
We were meeting friends to stay nearby in Bonsall, but met up for lunch at The Boat Inn first.
The food was really good, the portions were ideal having just spent 3 hours driving there and the service was excellent.
Good quality Real Ale and an open fire make it cosy and enjoyable.
Looking forward to our next visit sometime in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of our top favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you're looking for haute cuisine Heston Blumenthal type food, sitting sadly lost in the middle of a large plate and dwarfed by a piece of icing sugared mint garnish, then forget it. If however, like us, you enjoy a good plateful of really tasty food, scrummy home made coleslaw and a great choice of veggie meals as well as meaty ones, then look no further; the Boat is great. Dave and Lorraine keep a good locals pub which welcomes visitors just the same (and they did in their previous incarnation at the Ruin up the road), the staff are friendly, prices are brilliant and the food is, as I've just said, lovely. We come here as often as we can, given that we live over the border in Staffycher, in fact we've stayed in a B&B nearby so we could have a ruddy good night without a longish drive home afterwards.

Will admit I rarely drink the beer, being somewhat of a wino, but when I have it's been fine (proper ale too).

If all of the above wasn't enough, the fact that Lorraine was so kind and helpful when I was stung by a swarm of Cromford wasps puts her at the top of my Fave Landladies list too.

Thursday night's Pub Quiz night, and it's not the usual studious bunch of librarians on a shhhh quiet night out, it's a hoot!

See you soon, hopefully before the Festive Season too.
Dave & Den.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Pub meal ever two nights running!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very friendly efficient sevice, cheerful, welcoming, entertaining, tolerant landlady. Excellent meals two nights running, do try the smoked haddock rarebit or stilton and steak salad! We would go out of our way to eat there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've eaten in here twice. Both times it's been pretty poor pub food - frozen chips, over, or undercooked meat. Things like fishcakes were certainly bought in. Inside it's ok. I wouldn't eat here unless you were hungry and couldn't get in somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MoreInHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, Manager at The Boat Inn Restautant, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Many thanks for your comments -which we have taken on board. As you will see from earlier posts, we provide proper Pub Grub and I am sorry that this was not what you were looking for. Looking at your review of our competitor, The Greyhound Hotel I can see that you are clearly more interested in a more up market standard of food which The Boat Inn does not attempt to try and emulate. As you live locally then perhaps you could pop in and we would welcome the chance to buy you a drink as a small way of apologising, especially as the Greyhound Hotel is now shut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Inn Restautant also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Cromford, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Boat Inn Restautant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing