We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good property for large party ....but”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Robertswood House

Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Large Lounge with lots of comfortable seating plus a 42in 3D Flat screen TV, Freesat & Blu ray DVD.
Bar Area. Run your own pub for a while. We can supply Kegs of Beer or Lager as well.
South facing Dining Room. Set here for 12 but will comfortably seat 18 Adults.
Robertswood House Spa Garden.Our wonderful Spa Garden is now finished and ready to use. It's GR
The Sauna steam room with Plunge Shower beside it, Which is Not for the faint hearted......
Kitchen. There's everything you will ever need in here.
Kitchen. Loads of space for prep and cooking and people.
Room 1 West facing Twin En-suite
Room 2 South facing Superking En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 South facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 En-suite.
Room 3 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 3 En-suite.
Room 4 Double En-suite. East facing overlooking the side garden & water feature.
First floor landing.
Room 5 Double En-suite. West facing with stunning views over Stanton Moor.
Room 6 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 7 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 8 East facing as a Super King En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 8 East facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 9 Double En-suite. Our only room without a bath, just a walk in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John44760
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good property for large party ....but”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I would agree with pretty well everything that has been said about this property. It is large, comfortable and the en-suite bathrooms are of exceptionally high quality. It is ideal for a large family group or a group of friends. The only complaint I would have about the house is the floor covering in the kitchen - carpet tiles - about the least practical floor for a kitchen one could imagine.

My main complaint would be that the owners seem to have a very strange attitude to guests. First they require a £150 breakage deposit which, in my experience (I rent a lot of properties both in the UK and abroad), is unprecedented. I have never in my life had to pay such a deposit before. There aim seems to be, rather than wish them an enjoyable holiday, to instill fear of causing any damage which will, most certainly be charged for - unclean room £25 etc etc etc. They clearly have no intention of paying for cleaning "The vacuum cleaner is there for a reason. We present the house to you in a clean and tidy condition, please ensure it is kept that way"! This is not likely to lead to a relaxed holiday.
In my experience owners expect to clean houses at the end of a stay and are quite tolerant of the odd breakage. To act otherwise is entirely counterproductive and not likely to result in recommendations or repeat bookings.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnsh...
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

great for get togethers, good walks, shops and pubs nearby, but watch out for the steep climb back to the house!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not having the a hose pipe to top up the hot tub, it took us half an hour with buckets to do so!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Real...
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house for a large group.”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

With 6 couples and 3 children we needed somewhere with plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms and Robertswood hit the mark. A great house with views over the valley, clean and tidy with everything you need to cook, eat and keep entertained.

Would definitely stay again.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WirralGib...
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great accommodation for a large get together all ensuite”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed 3 nights last weekend for an annual badminton get together and were delighted to find a place with all ensuite bedrooms and no bunks and at a reasonable price!
Everyone had a great time and I had no problem cooking for 18 at all in the range cooker which had 2 large ovens. Even an extra oven to warm the plates in. There were plenty of crockery, utensils etc and it was nice to all eat together in the large dining room mainly round one table. Breakfast the next morning was great with the lovely views over Matlock as the house is set high up on the side.
One small hiccup with no hot water on the Saturday afternoon but after ringing the owners this was very quickly sorted. Owners brother came and the timer had been put on the wrong time!
Loved the bar area which was an added quirky extra and everyone agreed this was one of our best weekends. Thanks David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all ensuite bedrooms
Liked least: crowded in kitchen when everyone in there
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grumpypet...
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A little tired”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Spent a week here in a group of 18 and had a great week walking. House is a little tired. The double glazing is gone on some rooms and the woodwork could do with a good painting. The views from the upstairs windows are fantastc with the windows open. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are warm. Our shower in Room 6 was adequate. Room 1 tele only had BBC for some unknown reason. The dining room and lounge/ bar were more than adequate. The kitchen was a tadge smal for 18 people and could have done with an extra fridge freezer. The washing machine works but you wouldnt guess it.

The hot tub and sauna were a useful extra although the spa garden area is very slippy and H&S notices in the booklet on the bsr stating this are not enough and a solution needs to be found. I was well aware and stll slipped on the decking.

Parking was adequate.

Overall we had a great week

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeanda...
stockport
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My family booked Robertswood for my special birthday, with people coming from all parts of the country. The house certainly has the "wow" factor, particularly the hot-tub which was very well used by adults and children alike. The views are fantastic from the front rooms and front garden which we used to eat following a barbeque.

Every bedroom was beautifully furnished - maybe some of the top-floor rooms could be cool in winter judging by the condensation in the mornings. The kitchen is really well equipped and was more than fitting for the 18 of us. My grandchildren loved the place, and the owners were more than accommodating with high chairs etc., and loved playing "barmaids" in the bar area.

All in all, it's the perfect place for a family or friends' celebration / re-union.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milsos
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, lovely house!”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Robertswood house last weekend and what an amazing time we had!
There were 15 of us, mixture of couples and singles. all in our 30s

It was a real WOW moment when we drove up the hill to the house, it really is stunning and so are the views. We spent the first few hours just sitting in the garden relaxing with some wine enjoying the late sunshine and enjoying the view. Then it was inside for home made cocktails at Robertwood's very own bar! we all took it in turns to do our best Bet Lynch impression!

The cottage is clean, nicely decorated and furnished throughout, the kitchen especially is well equipped as are the beautiful bathrooms.

Close enough to Matlock to walk, or there are plenty of local taxi numbers behind the bar!

We will definetly return, David, (the owner) was excellent and so friendly and helpful when we were booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds were so comfortable
Liked least: there was nothing not to like
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing