We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Robertswood House”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Robertswood House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Dccollins...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Robertswood House”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our fifth visit to this excellent house. The service is good the rooms are spacious and the facilities great. It is value for money and in a superb location. The owners are attentive and listen to any issues that may arise. A very worthwhile destination and a superb place to enjoy relaxation and a great base for hill walking in Matlock and surrounding district.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2014
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family and Friends Gathering”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A beautiful huge house ideal for a group of people. I will start with the positives first - The owners were very welcoming and quick to respond to requests.The spa garden is very nice and would recommend the hot tub, we did not use the sauna but it looks lovely. The views are wonderful we had really good weather and used the barbecue which is a very good size, the front garden has lots of garden furniture and is a lovely place to sit. All bedrooms are ensuite which is an added bonus,obviously some bedrooms are bigger and have better views than others but generally speaking all are very adequate, lovely comfortable beds. The accomodation was very suitable for our needs. The only negative comment we can make about this property is as previously mentioned in the other reviews is the low standard of cleaning and can fully agree that very little cleaning is done above and below waist height and it really could do with a lot of TLC.The kitchen needs a deep clean and the washing machine was still not working which was a nuisance having stayed for one week. It may also be worth mentioning to the owners about the fire exit door onto the spa garden, the exit from the side garden is pad locked. With more attention to cleaning this house could warrant an exceptional rating.

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BnBsue
Norfolk uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely views but.......”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I spent 4 nights here with my brothers and sisters to celebrate an 80th and 70th birthday. The bedrooms are all ensuite which was a must for our group. There are very steep steps up to the house which is not so good for older people as there was no handrail.
As other reviewers have noted, the kitchen really needs a deep clean, the washing machine wasn't working which was a nuisance. A lot of the dishes in the kitchen cupboards had not been washed properly and the carpet and bin were not nice at all. I agree with the previous reviewer who remarked about the lack of TLC and general low standard of cleaning . However we had a lovely few days there and enjoyed sitting out on the front lawn in the sunshine with a glass or two of wine admiring the wonderful views.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Group Holiday”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A group of us used Robertswood House as a base for a weeks walking holiday. It was a great location for this and we certainly got a good deal of exercise walking up the hill from Matlock to the house. However, the views from the front windows and the nice seating area on the front lawn made it all worth while - especially when the sun shone.
The bedrooms were spacious and the kitchen well equipped although the cleaner could be a little more attentive.
The owners were very welcoming and quick to respond to requests.
We would certainly use this house again as we enjoyed our stay and there are so many wonderful walks in the area that we still haven't done.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen N
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good Prospect, needs a little more TLC”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a huge house available to rent for up to 18 people in an old gentleman's house on Farley Hill, above Matlock. Previous TA Exceptional reviews left me a little disappointed, when a group of us stayed there for a walking week. The house currently has scaffolding around it for roof repairs, and it appears the cleanliness and fixing of small problems might have slipped a little since other reviews. We were also found that the heating was turned off when we visited during a cold snap in early May, which made communal rooms and bedrooms a little chilly until the owner came round and switched the heating back on. Needless to say that when the temperature warmed up, the house was then too hot - Some visitors are never happy!

The owners are very pleasant, and make it clear that they are just a phone call and a short journey away for any problem. However it seemed a little churlish to complain about the lack of dusting above and below waist height, and that some towel rails, toilet cisterns need a little adjustment. Unfortunately when it came brighter weather we could see that some areas and the kitchen really did need a deep clean.

That said we had a good week exploring and walking the Dales, and the accomodation was very suitable for our needs. With some attention to cleaning and repairs I'm sure the house could warrant a return to Very Good or Exceptional rating.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwenda S
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Robertswood is an ideal venue for a family get together...”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Excellent house where all the family can have their own space with an ensuite room and dine together in a lovely dining room. The lounge with bar area meant it was ideal for sitting around and playing games during the evening. Lovely views and even though you were in a town it felt you were right in the countrywide. Very comprehensive information pack from David and Marylyn.
Had a wonderful meal at the Sycamore Inn which is within walking distance from Robertwood.

Date of stay: March 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We liked this place so much that we have already booked up to go back again!

The views were amazing, the house had a high quality finish throughout and it even had its own bar! We held our own pub quiz on the Saturday night!

There is lots of parking which was also helpful.

The owners seem to be very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.