We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Group Holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Robertswood House

Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Large Lounge with lots of comfortable seating plus a 42in 3D Flat screen TV, Freesat & Blu ray DVD.
Bar Area. Run your own pub for a while. We can supply Kegs of Beer or Lager as well.
South facing Dining Room. Set here for 12 but will comfortably seat 18 Adults.
Robertswood House Spa Garden.Our wonderful Spa Garden is now finished and ready to use. It's GR
The Sauna steam room with Plunge Shower beside it, Which is Not for the faint hearted......
Kitchen. There's everything you will ever need in here.
Kitchen. Loads of space for prep and cooking and people.
Room 1 West facing Twin En-suite
Room 2 South facing Superking En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 South facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 En-suite.
Room 3 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 3 En-suite.
Room 4 Double En-suite. East facing overlooking the side garden & water feature.
First floor landing.
Room 5 Double En-suite. West facing with stunning views over Stanton Moor.
Room 6 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 7 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 8 East facing as a Super King En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 8 East facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 9 Double En-suite. Our only room without a bath, just a walk in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BnBsue
Norfolk uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely views but.......”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I spent 4 nights here with my brothers and sisters to celebrate an 80th and 70th birthday. The bedrooms are all ensuite which was a must for our group. There are very steep steps up to the house which is not so good for older people as there was no handrail.
As other reviewers have noted, the kitchen really needs a deep clean, the washing machine wasn't working which was a nuisance. A lot of the dishes in the kitchen cupboards had not been washed properly and the carpet and bin were not nice at all. I agree with the previous reviewer who remarked about the lack of TLC and general low standard of cleaning . However we had a lovely few days there and enjoyed sitting out on the front lawn in the sunshine with a glass or two of wine admiring the wonderful views.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Group Holiday”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A group of us used Robertswood House as a base for a weeks walking holiday. It was a great location for this and we certainly got a good deal of exercise walking up the hill from Matlock to the house. However, the views from the front windows and the nice seating area on the front lawn made it all worth while - especially when the sun shone.
The bedrooms were spacious and the kitchen well equipped although the cleaner could be a little more attentive.
The owners were very welcoming and quick to respond to requests.
We would certainly use this house again as we enjoyed our stay and there are so many wonderful walks in the area that we still haven't done.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen N
Colchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good Prospect, needs a little more TLC”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a huge house available to rent for up to 18 people in an old gentleman's house on Farley Hill, above Matlock. Previous TA Exceptional reviews left me a little disappointed, when a group of us stayed there for a walking week. The house currently has scaffolding around it for roof repairs, and it appears the cleanliness and fixing of small problems might have slipped a little since other reviews. We were also found that the heating was turned off when we visited during a cold snap in early May, which made communal rooms and bedrooms a little chilly until the owner came round and switched the heating back on. Needless to say that when the temperature warmed up, the house was then too hot - Some visitors are never happy!

The owners are very pleasant, and make it clear that they are just a phone call and a short journey away for any problem. However it seemed a little churlish to complain about the lack of dusting above and below waist height, and that some towel rails, toilet cisterns need a little adjustment. Unfortunately when it came brighter weather we could see that some areas and the kitchen really did need a deep clean.

That said we had a good week exploring and walking the Dales, and the accomodation was very suitable for our needs. With some attention to cleaning and repairs I'm sure the house could warrant a return to Very Good or Exceptional rating.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwenda S
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Robertswood is an ideal venue for a family get together...”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Excellent house where all the family can have their own space with an ensuite room and dine together in a lovely dining room. The lounge with bar area meant it was ideal for sitting around and playing games during the evening. Lovely views and even though you were in a town it felt you were right in the countrywide. Very comprehensive information pack from David and Marylyn.
Had a wonderful meal at the Sycamore Inn which is within walking distance from Robertwood.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We liked this place so much that we have already booked up to go back again!

The views were amazing, the house had a high quality finish throughout and it even had its own bar! We held our own pub quiz on the Saturday night!

There is lots of parking which was also helpful.

The owners seem to be very friendly and helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Bash!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a SUPERB weekend stay at Robertswood House.The house 'does everything it says on the tin' and more.... couldn't fault a thing! We would recommend it to anyone wanting to spend time away with family and friends, it really is first class. The facilities and home comforts are second to none and of course the Christmas tree and all the trimmings were delightful. Huge thanks to our hosts. We certainly hope to return in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“50th Birthday Weekend!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Had a fantastic weekend for my wifes 50th Birthday with 6 other couples. David & Marilyn made us welcome from the start and helped us with our couple of bags and all our boxes of booze & food!!! Everything we needed was there. Robertswood is a lovely house and was ideal for our get together. Will use again for our get togethers without doubt. Thanks again and see you again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing