We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lumsdale Valley

Lumsdale Valley
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a scheduled ancient monument site containing industrial mill ruins in a state of picturesque decay. it is a wildlife conservation area and therefore there are no picnic areas, no paddling or swimming areas and no children's play areas.The route down through the Valley past the ruins is steep, muddy and uneven, with steps and some sharp drops to the sides. We strongly advise that you begin your walk at the top of the Valley, opposite Highfields Upper School (where there is parking). There are no toilet or refreshment facilities anywhere in the Valley. It is a peaceful place of natural woodland and wetland habitats, looked after by volunteers for the Arkwright Society, the Charity that owns the Valley. Please help us to take care of this very special place by respecting the wildlife, keeping to the paths, not climbing on the ruins - and taking your litter home with you.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely walk along here (once we found it). Great to sit and watch the waterfalls and wander round the mill ruins.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank El27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    59
    5
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ruined Mills at Lumsdale”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Romantic, decent size waterfall. A short drive from Tansley Tavern. Worth a visit, you will probably be the only couple there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely place to visit once you find it. We got a little lost but found some beautiful sights on the way. Defiantly only a few spaces in a little layby across from the school. We headed into the woods on the left-hand side first and walked up to the top as there is some beautiful views. Then we headed back down crossed the stepping stones and you go past a few cottages and it's on your left. If anything tho when you park up head straight down the road with the houses and follow it as this cuts out the woodland as we found on our way back. There is a tour but it does cost and runs at 3pm most Sundays. But we found it more exciting getting lost and taking your own time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurse2be24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Difficult to find but nature's hidden gem. Beautiful fall, isolated and by side of old mill, great picnic spot in summer

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dumbdodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A bit tricky to find and had to drive round some hairy bends but a magical wilderness awaited us. The old and decaying Arkwright mill was bathed in sunlight with waterfalls gushing into a stream. Steep steps took us further into this fantastic ruin. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumsdale Valley also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Lumsdale Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing