We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely litte gem”
Review of Cafe in the Park

Cafe in the Park
Ranked #1 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our cafe is set in the beautiful award winning surroundings of hall leys park, we offer a wide range of light lunches, snacks and cakes many of which are homemade. We are open daily from 10am and offer indoor and outdoor seating, we also supply golf pitch and put, tennis and bowls hire from our cafe throughout the summer months and parent and toddler activity morning every Thursday during term. We are a small friendly family run cafe who believe in excellent food at an affordable price, we hope you enjoy our cafe as much as we do.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely litte gem”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

great location, great staff and great food. some of our walking group came for breakfast and others returned for lunch or afternoon tea. very family friendly place and they also do bistro nights a couple of times a month. A good selection on the menu for adults and children and it was also a good price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDJJSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    42
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 star standard at real life prices”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A mother of two children with little time to socialise a friday at Cafe in the park with atmosphere attention to detail and excellent quality food and service for a price you cannot believe ! Makes the night I have a sitter so worth while - I can relax with quality food and atmosphere without feeling rushed and nothing is too much trouble x thanks cafe in the park for making eating out accesable affordable without loosing quality and atmosphere fab

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonnybunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
474 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

After reading the reviews on the Cafe in the Park we were keen to try it, but have to say we were disappointed. I had the soup and sandwich and a coffee. The soup was homemade and was good, but the sandwich had "plastic" ham and the bread was stale. I'm not sure how the coffee was made - I had a latte and am convinced that it was instant coffee and the milk had a peculiar taste, my OH ordered an americano and that again was instant. We both left the coffee and would probably not return. Have to say the cakes looked very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L, Owner at Cafe in the Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We are disheartened to receive a second disappointing review from an unhappy customer in a week! We pride ourselves on 'good value for money', you would not receive homemade soup and filled roll for £3.60 anywhere else in matlock! Our ham is not off the bone but at £1.90 for a ham roll, most customers don't expect it to be, but it is certainly not of the rubber form either. We would have been very happy to change your order at the cafe if you were not happy with the filling. Regarding the bread, it was delivered freshly baked that morning and I can only pass your comments to the bakery for them to look into it. Once again, if customers are not satisfied with their food we are always happy to change it for something else, communication is an important part of the food industry. Regarding your coffee, this is the first time a customer has complained about our latte mug for £1.70, you may have been given an instant coffee for £1.10 instead of an Americano and I apologies for this, once again if you had mentioned it we would have been very happy to exchange it for a filter coffee or cafetiere. I shall speak to our suppliers about your comments too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, cosy little place!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Such a lovely little café, definitely worth it! Staff were so friendly and sweet. I will definitely go there again, the variety and quality of food was just super, I would recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angiesteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A great little place.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Honestly a fantastic little cafe! Suitable for all ages really... It's situated in a park after all. The service we received was top quality, the polite and friendly staff really help give this place a brilliant atmosphere. Food and drinks all came out at good pace and would have been worth waiting for anyway. (Tasted excellent)
Overall no complaints from us.
You get what you pay and we will definitely be visiting this place again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam_DW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe in the Park also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Cafe in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing