We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful weekend break”
Welcome to The Old Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden Rose clad barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden
Rose clad barn
Hot tub/hydrotherapy spa
Wild flower meadow walk to the Shepherd's Hut
Lounge
Woodburning Stove
Country living style
Breakfast in the country kitchen
Rustic Style
King size bedroom
King size Bedroom
Vanessa Arbuthnott scheme
Vanessa Arbuthnott Cushions
Bedroom En-suite
King size bedroom
Twin Bedroom
High Summer
Stunning views
The view from the bedrooms
The view from the patio area
Sheep in the field
Lazy days
Meet Carrot
The hut in the Meadow
Our lovely hut on the front cover of Period Living Magazine
Shepherds Hut
Shepherds Hut
Interior of hut
Double bed in hut
Jasper
Carrot the cat
Winter in Wheatcroft
Winter in Wheatcroft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cost1986
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend break”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We enjoyed a great weekend with friends - 3 couples and a (beautiful!) baby. Cottage was very well equipped, comfy beds and plenty of bathrooms, so no sharing! We enjoyed evenings with the log burner and hot tub and didn't let the chilly weather put us off barbecuing on the terrace. Great hosts who advised us on local amenities and restaurants and gave directions for running routes. Plenty to do locally - we enjoyed Chatsworth house and walked the Monsail trail from Bakewell. Would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on The Old Granary. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to advise you on the local area. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carly H
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Country comfort and a dollop of luxury”
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We hired the Old Granary with friends so 4 adults and 3 kids (from 8 wks old to 18 months) - just looking for a little break and we got a lovely welcome, comfy beds and a beautiful view!!

The house is really well equipped; great facilities; great kitchen facilities (even a lovely coffee machine) so it felt like a home from home. The welcome basket was a lovely touch too.

The hot tub and gorgeous log burner in the living room are great features. We didn't get to barbecue but it's all there for use.

The location (for what we wanted) was perfect but it's worth saying that most activities are a drive away. Great pub called the White Hart Inn is walkable, serves food all day and is great value. Matlock itself is a short drive away and supermarkets deliver!!

The Old Granary is a great little hide away for friends / couples / families. Feeling relaxed and sun kissed after our 3 days there!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall high standard of the home. Really beautifully finished.
Liked least: Struggling to think of something we didn't like!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Old Granary. As you mentioned within your review we are indeed exceptionally fortunate to have both the benefit of seclusion, privacy and peaceful rural location but also just a stone's throw from local attractions in the Peak District and also a wonderful country pub only one mile away. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Old Granary in the future.

Kind regards

Amanda Brown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FewSears
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect place for relaxation”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We visited here with our 4 year old daughter - she loved feeding the chickens every morning. We all had an excellent stay - perfect place for relaxation, the hot tub was well used and the log burner provided a lovely atmosphere.
Amanda and Martin were the perfect hosts, on hand if we wanted them and they gave us lots of information on things to do. The cottage is extremely well equipped, so close to the M1 yet in the middle of nowhere, we hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, chickens, decor
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Old Granary. As you mentioned in your review we are extremely accessible from the M1 (just 10 minutes drive) but equally close to attractions further into the Peak District. We hope to welcome you back to The Old Granary sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Amanda Brown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coramcq
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Thank you Amanda, we had a fabulous weekend. The cottage was so well equipped that we wanted for nothing. Hot tub and views were amazing, and thank you for your understanding when 2 of our cars broke down! We will definitely be back one day x

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Old Granary. Hope to see you again sometime.
Thanks again
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic 5 star barn accommodation! Beautiful location with stunning views. Hot Tub was a great bonus. Decor finished to the highest quality. We along with our children thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely look to return and stay at this wonderful barn conversion. Truly lovely owners with great recommendations!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review, it has been a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at The Old Granary. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thanks again and kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillippa...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing - Home From Home!”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked here at short notice after a mistake with another booking meant we had no place to stay for our long waited for weekend away with friends. From the minute we booked everything felt right, the owners are friendly and helpful and this was obvious from the first contact. We were met by the owners who showed us around and gave us a brief history of the Old Granary and how it came to be such a lovely place - it has been carefully decorated and manages to be welcoming, charming and homely as well as having the wow factor! The hot tub was a welcome attraction for me and my friend (as was the champagne which we polished off in the tub whilst the men looked after the children!) All in all a wonderful break in a fabulous place - This is somewhere we plan on visiting time and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review about The Old Granary. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we very much hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Thanks again and kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redgwing
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Comfortable”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Old Granary is set in beautiful scenery with amazing views. Make the most of the views while soaking in the hot tub.
You will be visited by Jasper and Carrot the owners cats. They certainly add to the homely feel and will cheerfully curl up on the sofa with you or sit by the fridge looking hopeful!
We enjoyed our stay here with family even though the weather wasn't too kind during the second half of the week. Plenty of lovely tea rooms to visit and in view of this comment would very much appreciate Amanda and Martin adding a swimming pool and gym so we could stop feeling quite as guilty!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Old Granary even though the weather could have been kinder. Hopefully you will decide to book with us again in the future to sample the tea rooms of Derbyshire once more.

Thanks again and kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing