We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless, best cottage we've ever stayed in”
Welcome to The Old Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden Rose clad barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden
Rose clad barn
Hot tub/hydrotherapy spa
Wild flower meadow walk to the Shepherd's Hut
Lounge
Woodburning Stove
Country living style
Breakfast in the country kitchen
Rustic Style
King size bedroom
King size Bedroom
Vanessa Arbuthnott scheme
Vanessa Arbuthnott Cushions
Bedroom En-suite
King size bedroom
Twin Bedroom
High Summer
Stunning views
The view from the bedrooms
The view from the patio area
Sheep in the field
Lazy days
Meet Carrot
The hut in the Meadow
Our lovely hut on the front cover of Period Living Magazine
Shepherds Hut
Shepherds Hut
Interior of hut
Double bed in hut
Jasper
Carrot the cat
Winter in Wheatcroft
Winter in Wheatcroft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsV-from...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Faultless, best cottage we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What an absolutely amazing holiday cottage. Everything was immaculate when we arrived and were shown around by the welcoming owners, Amanda and Martin. The cottage has a lovely cozy feel, mixed with style and luxury.

There's so much to do in the area with the children coupled with the constant 'can we go in the hot tub' requests - that's definitely a winner!

I loved the gorgeous kitchen and the fact that overall there's so much space (inside and out) you could happily spend all day in the barn and garden, just enjoying the surroundings.

Beautifully landscaped gardens, unrivalled views and peace and quiet. I can't think of a bad thing to say.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, decor, views!
Liked least: Nothing! Apart from it rained a bit....can't blame you for that!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne F
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect country retreat”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Me and the husband booked up here for a quiet getaway in a peacefull location. The barn conversion was stunning and Amanda is proud to point out what it went from (livestock barn) to the beautiful cottage that it is today. The attention to detail is amazing and pretty much everything has been thought of. Whenever we had to bug Amanda for trivial items she was more than happy to help, we found her hospitality refreshing. The Hot tub was amazing and the beds so soft that they were hard to get out of.
The old granary was close enough to lots of picturesque towns and had access to lots of walking trails so you can do lots whilst there or just sit in peace and quiet, take in the scenery and wish that you never had to leave.
We will endeavour to stay again, hopefully in warmer weather so that I can just stay in the hot tub for 5 days with my kindle.
A fantastic stay with really reasonable prices, I dont feel we would get that level of service in a same-priced hotel.
Thanks for a great stay!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy C
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic position overlooking wonderful countryside.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Very pleasant welcome from owners Amanda & Martin.
Everything you could need for a self catering stay, bedding and bathrooms very clean but we were surprised to find dust under sofas, on lampshades, dirty high chair and only one working light bulb in one wall light in sitting room.
The frying pans need replacing (non stick useless) and the fridge is small for longer than a few days stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Cottage situation and character
Liked least: standard of cleanliness and kitchen equipment not 5*
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Old Granary. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Rest assured that the points you have raised are being addressed. Our aim is to provide a level of service that our guests truly enjoy and one that we can be proud of. We are however pleased to note that you would be happy to recommend our accommodation to a friend. Thank you once again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauringto...
La Sauvetat-du-Dropt, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Best 30th Wedding Anniversary Hoped for!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A delightful, tastefully restored barn conversion providing all the modern comforts required while not sacrificing the quirky, traditional, cottage atmosphere expected. A beautiful location with panoramic views - all on the doorstep of the magical Peak District. Private, quiet and peaceful - great to lie in the Jacuzzi and watch the moon rise. Thank you for a beautiful place to stay as a base to enjoy our 30th!

James, Tracey
& Bethany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot-tub, views, peace and comfort
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay to celebrate your anniversary and hope that we may see you again sometime in the future. Hope your venture goes well in France, you never know we may come and visit you sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie106
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“perfect country cottage & shepards hut”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We came back to stay here for a second year and once again it was perfect. The cottage is gorgeous. Its Immaculately decorated and has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing weekend away in the countryside. This year we had the shepards hut too, i can't recommend it enough, its a cosy little hideaway at the end of the garden. It has underfloor heating so its always cosy and warm. You can lie in the bed and look out over the gorgeous views of the countryside, a perfect addition to what is already a stunning cottage getaway. Amanda and martin have always provided everything you could need but are also available if you need help with anything. If your lucky carrot the cat will pop round to say hello too. We will definitely be going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. It was lovely to see you again and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our new Shepherds Hut. We are ecstatic that our first guest to stay in the hut has left such a wonderful review. Thank you and hope to see you again in the future.

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnai
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent place to stay with fantastic views in a tranquil setting”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at The Old Granary as a birthday treat and couldn't have chosen anywhere better. The accommodation is first class Amanda and Martin were fantastic hosts. The kitchen is a lovely place to sit with the family. There is everything you could need if you want to cook. The hot tub was enjoyed by all. We enjoyed it so much we are hoping to return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sista18
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just back from 3 nights at this beautiful house. Its location is truly lovely and the views are stunning particularly from the hot tub. The house manages to be charming and cosy whilst still spacious with all the mod cons. The attention to detail is impressive and the owner Amanda couldn't have been more helpful. Enjoyed the log burner and the surround sound system and the high quality comfy beds. Perfect weekend retreat from the rat race!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing