We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful accommodation in peaceful setting”
Welcome to The Old Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden Rose clad barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Welcome to The Old Granary
The Old Granary from the garden
Rose clad barn
Hot tub/hydrotherapy spa
Wild flower meadow walk to the Shepherd's Hut
Lounge
Woodburning Stove
Country living style
Breakfast in the country kitchen
Rustic Style
King size bedroom
King size Bedroom
Vanessa Arbuthnott scheme
Vanessa Arbuthnott Cushions
Bedroom En-suite
King size bedroom
Twin Bedroom
High Summer
Stunning views
The view from the bedrooms
The view from the patio area
Sheep in the field
Lazy days
Meet Carrot
The hut in the Meadow
Our lovely hut on the front cover of Period Living Magazine
Shepherds Hut
Shepherds Hut
Interior of hut
Double bed in hut
Jasper
Carrot the cat
Winter in Wheatcroft
Winter in Wheatcroft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Naarfolki...
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation in peaceful setting”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the Old Granary with my partner and our 2 year-old. Was a bit worried before we went about how child-friendly the cottage would be, but we had no problems at all and my daughter loved the resident cat, chickens and the outside space. The grown-ups loved the log fire, the views, and the hot tub! The extra luxurious touches, such as the champagne and chocolates on arrival, and having internet access, were definite bonuses.

The accommodation was beautifully decorated throughout, but was very warm and homely at the same time. It was equipped with everything we could have needed for our stay.

I would thoroughly recommend The Old Granary for a relaxing, peaceful getaway, for families and couples alike. We hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and hot tub!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our accommodation. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxury in Matlock”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just about made it to Matlock from Manchester as the snow had been falling that week. I travelled with my partner, her Mother and step Dad. We parked up in about a foot of snow and it looked lovely from the outside and we were more than pleasantly surprised with the inside. With the huge kitchen complete with range cooker and large dining table and the lounge with its impressive log burner that definitely worked to a treat. We ventured upstairs to the immaculate on-suite bedrooms (with ultra comfortable beds as we found out). We then discovered the downstairs rooms had underfloor heating which was ideal given the weather. We stayed just Friday and Saturday and went back to Manchester on the Sunday.
We stayed in the cottage on the Friday and after a couple of bottles of wine we braved the conditions outside to try out the Hot-tub (What a fantastic experience), it was 40* in the Hot-tub and -2 outside and it was great. We ventured out to The Plough Inn on the Saturday night and we were so glad we did, it was one of the best meals I have had and the service was fantastic and inevitably we all ended up in the Hot-tub again!!. Tip - it was only a 1.8 mile walk but if you having a drink i'd recommend booking a taxi as the main road can be quite busy and there are no footpaths. So all in all it was a fantastic weekend at the Granary and we can't recommend the cottage enough and we certainly can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cottage amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on our accommodation. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S
Royston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful accommodation in a lovely setting”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I stayed with my partner and a family of 4 at the Old Granary for 4 nights in September. It was perfect for what we wanted. The house is spacious, with 2 en-suite bedrooms, plus a twin room and another bathroom. The lounge and kitchen are also big and equipped with everything you will need for your stay. The house is decorated beautifully with care and attention to detail, including a wood-burning stove. It is set in a really pretty spot, with lovely views over the countryside. The hot tub is a real luxury, even in the rain! We were in there every evening. Amanda was very helpful and has provided lots of info about the area and things to do.

I am so pleased to have found the Old Granary on the internet, we will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it! The setting and the style of how the house was decorated.
Liked least: The wifi connection wasn't great, but we didn't really need it.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback on our property. Thank you for your co-operation when our Star Grading assessor came to view the property during your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Good luck with your venture and hope you have a successful 2013.

Kind regards

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATuxs
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pure Luxury 5 Star for sure!!!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed at this wonderful conversion near Matlock during September with our 2 young children. I have to stay this accommodation was simply the very best we have ever rented in the UK. The location was simply stunning in a very quiet area which was about 5 mins from Matlock. The property was finished to the highest standards with all the furniture & bedding etc being top quality throughout. The Hot Tub was a great bonus & brilliant for the kids & adults too! The view over the far reaching hills when your sat in the Hot Tub is priceless!

The Owners were also extremely helpful & knowledgeable about the local area & things to do & places to eat etc which was very helpful.

Would we go back? You bet we would! we have now found a perfect high standard property which ticks all the boxes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High Standard of Accommodation
Liked least: Everything was Great!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay at The Old Granary. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing