We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home From Home B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stables at Homesford Cottage

The Stables at Homesford Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stables at Homesford Cottage
Ranked #37 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Home From Home B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home from a very relaxing weekend at this b & b
If your looking for a home from home experience with all the lovely extra special touches then your really love it here. It was my hubby's birthday and we were greeted with a bottle of red & box of chocs ! Julie the owner was very attentive & nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was amazing from fresh fruit, pastries & a fab English breakfast ! All local produce was used and I've added some photos to show the amazing spread . I will deffo be going back as we were made to feel very welcome and the room was very nice & modern .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KUZZY72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at Homesford Cottage for 1 night and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left our host Julie was most welcoming and so friendly we have decided we would already like to go back there.
The room we stayed in was spotless and tastefully decorated it could not be faulted on anything. Breakfast the morning we left was amazing you could not ask for more and Julie looked after us brilliantly.
We explored a few towns but the best one for shopping we found was Ashbourne which is a must see for those vintage shop lovers!
Rating for the whole stay was a big 10/10 and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3KEW0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked a room at this B&B for 1 night as we were attending a wedding nearby. We were made to feel most welcome by our host, Julie, who is so friendly. She showed us to our room which was beautiful & spotlessly clean along with the bathroom. The bedroom was of good size, nicely decorated with homely accessories & complimentary beverages & a jar of gorgeous home made cookies. The bed was so comfy & the noise from the road was certainly not enough to keep us awake, even me as a light sleeper!!

The breakfast was amazing. So much choice & very fresh. It certainly set us up for the day.

I just wish we could have stayed longer. We would certainly return & would have no hesitation in recommending The Stables to our friends.

Thank you Julie for welcoming us to your beautiful establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBongo369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have never once felt the urge to do this, but after our experience at The Stables we knew that had to change. We were made to feel special the moment we walked through the door. Julie is the warmest host ever without being intrusive. She is really knowledgeable about the local area and happy to print you off maps rfc. Breakfast was amazing and the home made biscuits were gorgeous!!! Bed was massive and so comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 184mickandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nights in one of the Stable rooms, when we used as a base to explore the Derbyshire Dales. Homesford is a hamlet on the A6, between the villages of Cromford and Whatstandwell. Our host Julie was very open, friendly and informative. If you have any questions about the area she can answer them. The room was large, nicely decorated and comfortable, with an en suite shower-room/toilet. The king-size bed was comfortable too. We had a large TV and free WiFi. The car park is directly across the road - please take care when crossing, the A6 is a busy road with fast-moving traffic. The breakfasts are great. Julie uses local produce whenever she can. Start with juice, fruit and/or cereal. Then enjoy a full cooked English breakfast with coffee or tea and toast. It's the sort of breakfast that fills you up till evening - you won't need a lunch! There is one disadvantage that might bother some people, but I have to say we weren't particularly conscious of it, and that's traffic noise. The double-glazed windows and heavy curtains keep the noise down and the road is quieter during the night. All in all we really enjoyed our stay. The main attractions - towns like Matlock, Bakewell and Ashbourne, the city of Derby itself, Chatsworth House, etc. - are within easy reach of the Stables.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayWalkerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife booked a nights stay at the stables for our anniversary and what a great place this is .
The room we had is definitely one of the best rooms we've ever stayed in and our breakfast was perfect , fresh fruit/cereal/honey/yougarts ect but best of all the full english .
The owner Julie is such a great host who will make sure everything is perfect for your stay and is so friendly wish we could have stayed longer ,we will definitely be booking again and recommend this place to our friends

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayoopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

found this little gem on the internet and glad I did,me and my wife was  celebrating our wedding anniversary and i booked the stables and was greeted with a young lady wearing wet yellow gloves and a big smile"private joke"and instantly new we were in good hands.location is great just down the road from matlock bath,great b&b rooms are excellent and the on-suite shower is lush,very very clean and the breakfast was more than expected can't find any faults.Julie is a great host and has a warm and welcome nature thanks for a great time. worth every penny

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulandhelen1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables at Homesford Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables at Homesford Cottage

Property: The Stables at Homesford Cottage
Address: Derby Road | Whatstandwell, Matlock DE4 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing