We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Green B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Green B&B
Ranked #1 of 50 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Holt
2 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

An extremely comfortable and well run B&B, with much better facilities than usual. Breakfast was excellent as well. What makes it truly stand out, worthy of 5 stars, is the warm, friendly and helpful service provided by Janet and John. Stay here. You'll not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carmine_coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi Carmine
thank you so much for writing this fantastic review
we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have rated your stay worthy of 5 stars
again many thanks John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    42
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
214
32
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Brilliant accommodation in a brilliant town. Janet and John very welcoming to their beautiful house.
We stayed in the Premier room with a new wet room and felt we were in a six star hotel in Abu Dhabi or somewhere similar...weather to match! Breakfast was fantastic, great fuel for the marathon. Walk 5 minutes to the Red Lion where they serve Hobgoblin...heaven!
All in all, we cannot imagine a better mixture, would thoroughly recommend to any one visiting Derbyshire.
If there was a swimming pool that would no doubt have got 5 stars too!!!

Room Tip: If possible go for the Premier room...fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi Steve
we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found heaven in The Red Lions Hobgoblin
The Premier room is very popular and Im glad you enjoyed using the wet room also pleased that you survived the marathon.
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed over Easter. Janet & John could not have been more welcoming and friendly. They are very knowledgeable about the local area and can recommend some great places to eat and drink, for all tastes.(take a walk down the hill to the Red Lion, Real Ale and great food) Breakfast is excellent and the rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. A small accident (my wife broke it!!!!!!) with the shower fitting was fixed quickly and without fuss

In conclusion we have stayed in many B&B's and Guest Houses, most excellent but this place has that little extra. Will certainly make this our first choice for visits to the Peak District.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Many thanks Darren for writing this lovely review
we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over Easter and to read that you would stay with us again makes the effort that we put in worth while,we enjoyed speaking with you and look forward to your next visit
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Great stay at Castle Green. Janet and John are lovely hosts, and gave us lots of advice and suggestions about where to walk and how to get to places (especially useful as this was our first time in Matlock).
The rooms are very nice and the B&B is also in a perfect location - a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside yet still just a short walk from the town centre. I would definitely stay here again if returning to the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi Sarah
Thanks for taking the time to write this great review. We are very please that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.
We are luck to be so well positioned to allow guests to visit the many close-by attractions that the Peak district has to offer.
again many thanks regards John g
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at Castle Green B&B over the May Bank Holiday weekend. It was outstanding. The breakfast was superb with great choice and individual, friendly attention. The hosts, Janet and John, were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had a wonderfully comfortable room, first class on cleanliness and comfort. Beautifully decorated and furnished. Great, comfortable bed. Amazing bathroom. Convenient for exploring Derbyshire and close to many attractions and lovely pubs. Just could not fault anything. Highly recommend this B&B and we are definitely very choosy. Thank you, Janet and John, for a superb stay at your home. Will definitely stay with you again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetPD2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi thank you so much for writing this superb review we are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to meeting with you again
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I travel several times a year around England. And often stay in a B&B then. I stayed also in November 2013 in the B&B hosted by Janet and John. They are very kind and helpful. And can tell you a lot about places to go. The GREAT! English breakfast give you a very good start of the day and John or Janet always aks how your day was and what you are up to.
A GREAT PLACE TO STAY.

Room Tip: Room nr. 4 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Hans it was a pleasure hosting you again and we are delighted that you enjoyed our home so much we look forward to seeing you again
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Everything you could want in a b and b. Ideal location, great value for money, easy and plentiful parking, friendly owners, great breakfast, lovely rooms. A home from home! We'll be back! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philcandlindac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Janet and I would like to thank you for this great review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again
again many thanks and we hope to see you again
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 50 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 50 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green B&B

Property: Castle Green B&B
Address: Chalet Bungalow Butts Drive | Butts Drive, Matlock DE4 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Green B&B lies in a wooded valley within the Derbyshire Dales in the picturesque Derbyshire spa town of Matlock and offers luxury Peak District accommodation to visitors throughout the whole year. Opened in 2012, Castle Green is a Quality guest house that has been furbished to a very high standard. Inspected by the AA, it has been accredited with a 4 Star GOLD award.This delightful B&B is nestled deep in the leafy, tranquil and secluded grounds of the former Ernest Bailey mansion, just 10 minutes gentle walk from the town centre with its bus and rail stations. Access to the large block paved car park is gained by travelling to the end of Butts Drive (which is a private wooded driveway). Secure cycle storage is available for guests who intend using some of the many peak district cycle trails.Guest accommodation comprises of six tastefully appointed bedrooms each with en-suite facilities providing single, double and twin rooms, a premier room with super king bed and luxury wet room,a family suite (2 adults+2 children for less-mobile guests we have a ground floor bedroom with walk in wet room and extra wide door openings. A ground floor dining room, a secluded block paved patio, large wooden gazebo and grassed rear garden complete with, tables and chairs. Free Wi-Fi is provided.The B&B is run by John and Janet Green. John a retired Fire Officer and Janet who has worked within Tourism and Catering sectors for many years make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay and to provide and maintain the highest possible standard of service and welcome guests visiting for leisure or business. We are very happy to cater for guests with dietary preference such as Gluten intolerance, vegan, celiac and vegetarian.Should you have any queries or concerns please feel free to contact us. Bookings can be made on line, by email or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Castle Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing