We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and distinctive!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendon Guest House
Ranked #2 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at Glendon House for two nights with friends, occupying four rooms in total. My wife and I stayed in the four poster bedroom on the first floor. Very clean, spacious and nicely decorated overlooking the Hall Leys Park. Really a treat. Reception at arrival was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast: among the best I had in Britain! Worth a return visit when visiting the Peak District National Park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisDessein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We are so pleased to know how much you all enjoyed your stay and found Glendon to be welcoming on your visit to Britain. Your comments about breakfast are lovely and it is good to know we are there with the best. If you return to the area it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 332 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

So lovely to go back and stay at Glendon House again. Really is a superb bed and breakfast. Beautifully decorated, lovely furnishings, sumptuous rooms with divine bed and bedding and immaculately clean as always. Lots of lovely touches and such discreet but excellent service. Breakfast was amazing as ever and served in a gorgeous dining room with lots of choice. It was also no trouble for them to cater for coeliacs. I certainly didn't miss out. We love Glendon House so much we are returning next year with our two children to stay in their fantastic family room. This is also a great location to stay right next to the beautiful park and walking distance into matlock but also quiet in the evening and on the doorstep of lots to do.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We always try to cater for all dietary needs so your comments are very welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back next year with your children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Absolutely perfect in every way! From the welcoming smile, cuppa & advice regarding as to where eat on an evening. My son & I enjoyed every minute of our stay there. The beds were comfy, the rooms spotless, the showers lovely & hot. And breakfast was out of this world with a wonderful variety & plenty on the plate. Great way to start the day & was enough to fill my 17 yr old!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gothiccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We are very pleased you both enjoyed your stay so much. It is always lovely to read how welcome our guests feel as this is important to us. If you return to the are, perhaps for a visit to Chatsworth or Alton Towers, it would be a pleasure to have you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our recent stay in this B&B (for the second time) was as memorable as our first. The comfort and quality of the service and accomodation was outstanding yet again. Breakfast is superb with a large choice of enticing items on the menu. The friendliness and attention to detail of the hosts make this a very pleasant and relaxing establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56Vanessa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We really appreciate all our reviews. In particular though it is always lovely to welcome guests back who have stayed before. We are glad you found your stay to be as good this time. If you are visiting the area again it would be lovely to welcome you back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This super b and b is great - spotless, comfy, friendly, parking ... and breakfast was outstanding! we were 4, we each had a different option, so much choice- fresh fruit and berries, cereal and fabulous porrige, top quality eggs, bacon, accompaniments. Absolutely couldn't be bettered and a fabulous start to the day. Lovely owner really wants to please, and succeeds. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you. One of the most important parts of a B&B, in my view, is the breakfast. So it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular the breakfast. We aim to offer a choice for all tastes and it is good to hear you thought this to be the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed her in in April 2014. It looked nice on the internet and it was even nicer IRL. Basics, like beds, breakfast and cleanliness was excellent. Extras, like a big warm lounge and the warm but discrete attention from the hosts was the things that made it a five star establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmmiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you for your very positive feedback. We want to give potential guests a clear idea of what we have to offer and it is great to know we live up to this and offer more in once you are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Glendon Guest House. Our hosts were lovely to chat to and very helpful. We were given some tea and cake on arrival after being shown to our room. We stayed in the family suite as it was the last available. It was clean, spacious with a pretty view of the church outside. Breakfast was lovely, they offered a great vegetarian cooked breakfast which I was pleased about. We had no complaints and would definitely book again if staying in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you for your very positive feedback. One of the best ways for us to judge what we do is to know whether guests would return - so it is great to know you would. If you are in the area again I hope we can assist with accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Explorers Retreat at Gulliver's Resort Matlock Bath
17.1 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $100 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing