We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect retreat, in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendon Guest House
Ranked #3 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Every review on here really is justified. This place is amazing, the best place we've ever stayed in. Damian & Adrian are the perfect hosts & nothing is too much trouble. Everything has been thought of : fresh milk every day, a mini fridge in your room, delicious breakfasts (Adrian is a wonderful chef & there is a great selection on offer), coming back to a clean & tidy room at the end of the day, quilted toilet rolls & a separate supply of tissues, a fabulous sitting room that guests can use... I could go on but it really is as good & better, don't consider staying anywhere else, it can't be beaten! Highly recommended & so good we decided to stay longer than originally planned. We will be back, for sure!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is lovely to know you enjoyed your stay so much and found Glendon to be of a high standard and welcoming. We hope you are able to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Glendon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 324 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time thank you! Our children loved it too. Thank you for a delicious breakfast with a great choice and of a high standard, a very clean and comfortable room, the lovely touches of the children's books and toys which were greatly appreciated. Glendon House is a lovely, comfortable Guest House where you can easily think you are in a 5* hotel. My husband booked a weekend away for my birthday and he couldn't have chosen anywhere nicer, it was perfect. Thank you Damian - we hope to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay as part of your birthday celebration. We want all our guests to feel welcome, including the children that stay at Glendon and are pleased this was the case. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

lives up to all the reviews & more , beautiful house restored to its former glories , the little touches adding up to a wonderful stay . Lovely welcome of tea & cake in a separate lounge room , could of stopped there all day ! Rooms tastefully decorated , super comfortable bed & bedding , and a lovely powerful shower . And what can i say about the breakfasts ? , puts a lot of top end hotels to shame , full english one morning , eggs benedict the next , both cooked to order & absolutely delicious ! Last but not least , the owners , nothing too much trouble , warm & generous hosts ( and Jasper the dog ) , they should be rightly proud of this establishment , if only all guests houses were like this ...well done all

Room Tip: all good what i could see
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toddBirtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you very much. It is always good to know guests have enjoyed their stay and in particular found us to be welcoming. To keep the standard high we cook all breakfasts fresh to order and aim to provide a varied choice. We hope you are able to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

So looking forward to this stay after reading the reviews and was not quite expecting it to be even better than the reviews...such a beautiful house with fabulous hosts and the breakfasts are simply wonderful...loved it and loved all the wonderful touches that make this stunning place one of the best! From the quirky antiques, great choice of food and fantastic banana and walnut cake welcome
Will definitely return cannot thank you two enough you put
others to shame x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We are very proud of our reviews but also know they create expectations. So it is lovely to hear you feel we managed to exceed what you were expecting. It would be lovely to welcome you back to Glendon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in July and truly enjoyed every moment. Damian & Adrian are wonderful hosts and full of lots of information regarding the history of the house and area. We had the 4 poster bedroom which is spacious with a lovely modern bathroom. Great shower pressure. Only down side was the noise from the church bells. We had our window wide open due to the hot weather, but I'm sure that isn't a problem any other time. I am a light sleeper but the other half didn't hear them at all. On arrival we were treated to a lovely afternoon tea in the beautiful lounge room....lemon drizzle cake. Very yummy! Breakfast was lovely with heaps of choices from fruit, yogurt etc to the cooked items. Thanks for letting us enjoy your beautiful home.
Leanne & Don, Tasmania

Room Tip: Spoil yourself with the 4 poster room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us so much during your visit to the UK. The weather was so hot when you were here, which was lovely, but it did sometimes impact on sleep. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What can I say Fantastic welcome, Fantastic family room, Fantastic Beautiful House and Fantastic Breakfast. Best B&B we have ever stayed in ever. Come and stay here I promise you will not be not be disappointed .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

What can we say. Thank you for your fantastic review. We hope you are able to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

You read the reviews, & can't believe everyone give it 5 stars, an exceptional record! Our family of 4 would have given Adrian & Damien 6 stars if we could! Welcomed with the famous lemon drizzle cake and tea. Our hosts were welcoming, taking our cases to the beautiful rooms. We had the 4 poster bedroom and twin room but would have been equally happy in stylish family room which we viewed for a return trip in the autumn. The guest sitting room with view of the Park was great for planning our day with lots of travel guides and the added bonus of Wifi throughout the guest house meant we could do our bookings online. Damien and Adrian suggested a fantastic place for dinner and gave advice on local walks and things to do around the lovely town of Matlock. Breakfast was outstanding, so much choice and puts most 5 star hotels to shame. They should be rightly proud of Glendon and if it's anything to go by, Derwent House their self-catering property must be equally amazing judging by their website!!!!

Room Tip: 4 poster bedroom overlooking the park or family room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieRedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for your very positive comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed, Glendon and your visit to Derbyshire. Your comments raise the 'lemon cake' stakes so we will try hard to measure up to this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 53 in Matlock
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 53 in Matlock
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $102 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing