We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Clean, Comfortable, Superb Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendon Guest House
Ranked #3 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent - Clean, Comfortable, Superb Breakfast”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have seldom stayed in such a well run, clean, comfortable and excellent B&B. It would be difficult to improve upon it. The breakfasts were superb, the bedrooms clean, the bathrooms well appointed and the welcome friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Well if there was ever a summary that we would be proud to receive it is yours. Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Glendon and hope you are able to return at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
149
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

After looking at the reviews on tripadvisor - we decided on a one night getaway for my husband's birthday to Glendon Guest house...we were NOT disappointed! We're Derbyshire locals anyway, but the lure of the quiet countryside and the need for some relaxation brought us to Glendon Guest house to celebrate his birthday.

The satnav made finding the house a little difficult - but after a quick phonecall - we were quickly directly to some free parking and unloaded the car.

We were greeted by Adrian who showed us our room - the four poster bed - we brought our Minature Schnauzer puppy who is very well behaved to stay with us....all agreed prior to the stay, and no problem! The room was lovely and tastefully decorated - with everything you could need...fluffy towels, working fridge with chocolates and milk already inside, and wine glasses for you to sip your own bottle of wine too (they don't have a license....but they don't need one - as with the fridge - you can bring your own!)

We can't recommend this guest house enough as we felt very welcome and the bed was lovely and comfy. The only downside of staying in the four poster room is that it is one of the first rooms you come to on the landing...so you can hear quite a bit of noise in the morning...especially if you want a lie in - so I would recommend ear plugs - OR a higher room. But you won't get the four poster bed or it's views...so you'll have to weigh your options up. Not too much of problem for us as it was relatively quiet when we stayed.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely - my husband had the full English and I had Eggs Benedict with Salmon - very nice and had a great conversation with Damian who attended to our needs.

All in all, more like 5 star boutique hotel then your normal b&b and better then some hotels I've stayed at...will definitely be returning :)

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room - perhaps one on the top floor? Four poster room is lovely - but was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayglopainting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
It is lovely to know you enjoyed your stay and found our standards to be high. All at Glendon try hard to offer a warm welcome, personal service but in a relaxed environment. Your feedback is therefore very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for two nights with our friends to celebrate our birthdays. We were greeted by tea and homemade lemon drizzle cake on arrival, a lovely touch. We stayed in the four poster room, which was beautiful, had all the comforts you could need and so clean. in fact the whole house is spotless!
Breakfast was outstanding. The ingredients were local and of a high quality. Would recommend the full English.
The guest house is ideally located, just a short stroll from shops, cafes and places to eat out. We did the high tor and heights of Abraham walks. Would recommend doing this.

All in all a wonderful property. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with friends for your birthday celebrations. We use a local farm shope for many of our breakfast items and cook all orders fresh so it is great to have your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Bakewell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have just spent a night at Glendon Guest House with a group of friends to celebrate a special birthday. It really is the most wonderful place having been sympathetically decorated - simply but exquisitely and with a real homely feel. Attention to detail is exceptional - lovely bedding, towels toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities with lovely biscuits, and chocolates in the bedrooms. Our hosts were wonderful - nothing was too much trouble for them - and breakfast has to be tried to be believed! Certainly somewhere worth making a special trip for !

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster - pure luxury !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Glendon is a lovely building and it is good to know you like the decor. Our aim was to create a welcoming place to stay, whilst respecting the Victorian style. We hope you may be able to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just spent a birthday weekend with a group of friends at Glendon. From the moment we arrived to the time we departed nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. I enjoyed the splendour and comfort of the four poster room, definately to be recommended. Huge shower with well chosen toiletries, fluffy towels, top quality linen, complimentary chocolates and tea and coffee making facilities all contibuted to make our stay a real treat.

We also enjoyed a home cooked dinner and time spent exploring the many small antique and vintage shops in Matlock itself, only a short walk from Glendon. We are already plotting a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your commnets. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and birthday celebration. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Glendon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Having read previous reviews I had to check this B&B out. I travel a lot and stay in many hotels and this place surpassed almost all of them. The hosts have thought of every detail, fresh milk in the bedrooms and home baking, beautiful bed linen I could go on.... Treat yourself and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the previous reviews helpful. The extra touches make all the difference and it is good to know these contributed to making your stay enjoyable. We hope you are able to return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I write this from my bed, very comfy, having had delicious breakfast and great home baking. Nice guys running then place, great service. The linen stands out and shows the attention to detail that makes a difference.
Lush.

Room Tip: Room one every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We aim to offer a very good service and focus on the personal touch and creating a stylish but individual interior. This is one of the things that makes us a little bit different to most hotels and it is good to know you appreciated this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 51 in Matlock
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Property: Glendon Guest House
Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing