We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep this a secret!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendon Guest House
Ranked #3 of 52 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Keep this a secret!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We are reluctant to tell everyone what a fabulous job Adrian and Damien have done with Glendon Guest House. You will all want to go and we won't be able to get a room! These two clever guys could show the hotel industry a thing or two. The rooms are stunning, linen and beds top quality, service faultless and breakfast one of the best selections we have enjoyed anywhere. Our family were comfortably housed next door at Derwent House and here too everything you could want is at hand and our birthday weekend celebrations was a great success and everyone agreed that Adrian and Damien had made it quite perfect for us. good luck for the future. Elise and John

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are glad you have takent he time to tell readers what you think of Glendon. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Glendon and Derwent House for your family celebration. It is particularly pleasing to have such lovely feedback form guests who have have stayed at Derwent house previously and to know that Glendon offers the same high standards. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
152
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I arrived late evening from the train station and was met by one of the proprietors in the park near Glendon Guest House as it was dark and I was unsure where to go.
Uon arrival i was shown the most beautifully decorated room with a four poster bed and modern bathroom. Outside the room was a vase with fresh long stemmed roses. Tere was chandeliers in the ceiling and beatiful coving. The four poster bed was beatiful with a large duvet. I was offered a cup of tea and gorgeous biscuits in the nearby lounge which had chesterfield leather sofas.
Myroom was opposite a small stream and church. Itwas a quiet little road. The housewas built mid 19th century with large sash windows. the following morning i had breakfast in a beatifully decorated room with a large christmas tree. the menu was superb with fresh strawberries and blueberries. i had smoked salmon and scrambled egg. the service could not have been better and i hope Glendon Guest House will be there for many years as i will try to come back again.
Marianne McCarthy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt well looked after. Glendon is a lovely Victorian villa and we did all we could to preserve the lovely historical features of the house whne renovating. It would be movely to welcome you back if you are visiting the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This guest house provides excellent value for money and a friendly atmosphere. They provided a pot of coffee anda slice of cake on arrival, as well as tea making fcilities and biscuits in the room. The room was very comfortable. The location very near to the centre of Matlock. There was a very good selection at breakfast. The owners gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your positve feedback. We work hard to make all guests feel welcome so it is particularly pleasing to receive your comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your time at Glendon and will endeavour to continue to provide good service on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is my first review on Trip Advisor but after staying at Glendon House I felt that I had to let other people know what a fantastic place this is. We were greeted with tea and delicious cake in the lovely guest lounge. Our room was spotless with everything you could possibly need for your stay. The bed was really comfortable and the shower was spacious with lots of hot water. Breakfast was served in another beautiful room and you could not get a better breakfast in a 1st class hotel. I just wish that we had been staying for longer than one night but we will certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thak you for your feedback. It is so pleasing to receive such positive comments and to know how much you enjoyed staying at Glendon. It would be lovely to welcome you back for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have never written a review on TripAdvisor but after our experience at Glendon House I felt that I owed it to Adrian and Damien to write a review. After a last minute decision to go to the Peak District on a Saturday and ringing around 15 B&Bs, all who were fully booked, we were going to give up. We then came across Glendon House which did have a room available and quickly set off for the Peaks. We were so pleased that none of the other B&Bs had any rooms as we were shocked with how stunning the house was not to mention the helpfulness and welcoming we received by Adrian and Damien. They kindly booked us a table at the local Thai (superb) and advised us on what we should do the following day in the District. The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was above our expectations with a lovely selection on offer. Thank you for everything! Erik & Nichola

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we do appreciate it. It is great to Know you enjoyed staying at Glendon and in Derbyshire. The Peak District is a lovely area all year round and hope you enjoyed visiting places on the Sunday. If you are visiting the area again you would be very welcome to 'move in' :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just spent 2 lovely nights at glendon with my partner and our 5 month old baby. We stayed in the family room and it was beautiful. The owners greeted us to a warm welcome with tea and cake. The breakfast was perfect we can recommend the eggs benedict. The owners were very hospitable throughout and we would love to stay here again. We loved the decor of the house and our view of the church was magic. X

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyalice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The family room is designed to offer space for children and adults and we are glad you found this worked well. If you are visiting the area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were travelling as a family of 2 adults, and a 2yo and 4yo, and we stayed in the Family room. It was so wonderful to be able to have just a little more space for our kids to play and sleep, and they appreciated the toys and books as well.
We arrived late afternoon, and honestly I don't think that the owners could have done more to accomodate us. We have a lactose intolerant child, and they made a special trip to the supermarket to make sure that she had milk for her bottle. On top of this, each morning for breakfast they made my daughter her favorite breakfast - a banana smoothie with lactose free milk - and it just made for the smoothest start to the day for us all. They accomodated the children wonderfully at breakfast - they had child sized cutlery, plastic ware, a high chair, and my son loved ordering his eggs whichever way his little heart desired! Breakfast really was a joy.
The rooms were absolutely spotless. The beds supremely comfortable. The shower and bath were lovely, with plenty of hot water available. The location is fabulous, a short walk through the park to a kids playground, a pond where we could feed the ducks, a great kid friendly cafe, and a few restaurants and antique stores.
On our third day there, they even did three loads of washing for us!
It really was just a dream come true stay for us. I wish I could give it more stars!
I hope to go back one day!

Room Tip: If you're travelling with kids, choose the family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_travel_planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed staying with us. We appreciate that when travelling, especially with children, specific dietary needs can be a little more difficult to manage so try to help where we can. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in England and mainland Europe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 52 in Matlock
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 52 in Matlock
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 52 in Matlock
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#8 of 52 in Matlock
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Property: Glendon Guest House
Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing