We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Guest House in Fantastic Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendon Guest House
Ranked #2 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for three days while touring the peak district. Glendon House is excellent in every way. Beautiful decor, lovely breakfast and fantastic hosts in Adrian and Damient. Will definitely be recommending this to friends. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekender65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you. We are really gald you enjoyed your stay at Glendon and ivisiting the Peak District. It is always good to hear that you will be telling others about Glendon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 332 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place has managed to get the balance right for a family by providing a fabulous welcome, a spotless and beautiful interior (very stylish Laura Ashley wallpaper in each room), a brilliant location and a very well thought out family room. The main bedroom was roomy and comfortable, but what helped us out (with kids aged 4 and 7) were all the little touches - there's a long list; (clean!) shower curtain instead of glass surround in the bathroom, which helps when bathing little ones; copies of the Beano alongside grownup newspapers in the drawing room; bunkbeds made up with soft squishy bedlinen; pegs for hanging up kids clothes, coats and bags; a chest of drawers featuring board games, toys and childrens books for a range of ages; a happy dozey dog who appreciated friendly patting; children-friendly breakfasts in the gorgeous breakfast room (kids yogurts, blueberry pancakes, ikea plastic tableware if you need it); adding beakers to the bedroom for bedtime milk... the list goes on. And on talking to Adrian, it was obvious how much thought has gone into furnishing this place so that it caters for those staying there. Handily, there is a park, including a childrens waterplay area, just round the corner (although the weather didn't allow us to try this out). Also, we didn't have any trouble parking behind the house. The owners are truly welcoming and accommodating, and I also loved the lemon drizzle cake and tea when we arrived. We hope to have chance to visit again.

Room Tip: There's one family room, so book early! It faces the park and church, so you might hear the odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you. We have tried to make sure that all our guests, inlcuding children, feel welcome so your feedback is very appreciated. As you say as well as the lovely Victorian building the park is great. We hope you are able to return at some point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

G - great night away!
L - lemon cake on our arrival was scrumptious
E - equisite house, room and service
N - nothing too much trouble
D - delious breakfast - lots to choose from and superbly cooked
O - one night was not enough!
N - need to go to experience a fantastic bed and breakfast in a beautiful area

Thank you for looking after all our motorbike gear before we left!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biker_Fish67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your innovative feedback. We're very impressed by your poetic skills. We are glad you had a great stay and we hope you can return at some point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After reading the great reviews we booked a couple of nights at the Glendon. From the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautiful,luxurious curtains,spotless en suite,loved the china cups and the fresh milk in the fridge. Tea was served in the lounge with delicious lemon drizzle cake,just what you need on arrival,we have never had treatment like this anywhere else.
The breakfast was excellent,plenty to choose from,well done Adrian, and the view out of the breakfast room was great with a squirrel to entertain us.
On our second evening,whilst having more tea and cake,we asked Damien to recommend a good restaurant and he kindly rang to book it for us. Many thanks Adrian and Damien,really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed yourt stay and were very happy to help. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts so much. We are glad you had a good break and hope you are able to visit us aagin in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at Glendon for few days end of August - beginning of september. Damien welcomed us with fresh drinks and the most delicious home made Madeira cake, served in their guest lounge. Hubby I I stayed in the family room, which was the only room available when we booked. The room is done to very high standards, as is the whole place. Big bed with very good quality bed linen, pillows you sink in, big bathroom, complementary tea and coffee and fresh milk at all times. The whole place is squeaky clean. Breakfast delicious and Damien and the rest of the staff were very attentive, went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and enjoy our stay. They were also very helpful with information about the surroundings, attractions, places to eat. Glendon is also within walking distance from Heights of Abraham, Bakewell and Chatsworth are less than 1 hour away (driving) so definitely the best place to stay in Derbyshire. Oh, and Jasper, their dog is absolutely adorable!!!!!!!! We'll definitely go back to Glendon! Damien, Adrian, Yvonne, Amanda, thank you for making our stay in Derbyshire so enjoyable!!! See you again we hope!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoaneta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us and have passed on your kind feedback to our staff and of course Jasper. Between you and me I think he is the star attraction! If you visit Derbyshire again we hope you are able to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here during the summer. It was the most perfect B&B I've ever stayed in! Beautiful rooms, lovely food and the owners and staff were lovely. Lovely location - especially for families. Thank you Adrian and Damien - see you again we hope!

Room Tip: Family room was fabulous - but had a little nose at the others and they were all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback - we are very grateful. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Glendon is an excellent B&B in the beautiful Peaks District town of Matlock. Adrian and Damien went out of their way to make us feel welcome, comfortable and at home - right down to the home baked banana and walnut loaf to accompany our cup of tea on arrival in their relaxing and tasteful guest lounge. The house has recently been renovated to an excellent standard and the breakfast selection is outstanding - Adrian's culinary skills are exceptional. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterI6453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for your very kind feedback on the standards and especially the food. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay. A varied and well presented breakfast, served to guests is one of the things that we always offer and makes us different to many hotels. It is good to know you enjoyed this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Explorers Retreat at Gulliver's Resort Matlock Bath
17.1 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $100 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing