We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Foundation for a happy gathering”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Highfield

Highfield Group Holiday Accommodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highfield Group Holiday Accommodation
Stunning views towards Riber Castle Sunny South facing location
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Highfield Group Holiday Accommodation
Stunning views towards Riber Castle
Sunny South facing location
Fabulous Garden Room
Garden Room with far reaching views
Fantastic entertaining space
Fully equipped Kitchen, with double oven RangeMaster
Sitting Room with large stone open fire and great views
Relaxing Snug, with open log fire and beautiful views
En suite Family Room
Family Room 2
Family Room 4
Twin Room
Shower room with double power shower
Bathroom, with Roll top bath and overhead shower
Outdoor covered eating area
Outdoor dining area with Patio heater and views over the Derwent Valley
Hot tub hire is available as an optional extra - please enquire
Hot tub hire is available all year round as an optional extra - please enquire
Beautiful gardens for entertaining
Amazing views over Matlock
Highfield - The perfect place for any group celebration... amazing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scorpio_S...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Foundation for a happy gathering”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Existing reviews were so positive, I could scarcely believe this place would live up to them,,,

There is certainly much to enjoy. The old parts of the house are really charming. The open fires in the snug and lounge were highlights. I am always content sitting with loved ones feeling toasty warm. The children loved the stepped garden and the snooker room and the under floor heating was great when coming in from the hot tub. The bedrooms were all of a good size. The oven delivered two perfect roast dinners and there was room for us all to sit at the table.

Highfield is not in the countryside but it feels private. Matlock is minutes away and we enjoyed a lovely walk in Lumsdale direct from the front door.

Minor suggestions for an improved experience:

The dishwasher is ageing: the racks fall off their runners and the seal fell away. We could have really done with two of them. We had a strong foodie element to our stay so an awful lot of time was spent washing up.

More light outside the front door at night, please.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neelima75
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful house, couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Highfield for a weekend with a group of friends to celebrate my husband's 40th and couldn't have asked for more! The house is beautifully furnished and spacious, yet homely, with amazing views. It was very well equipped, including a large TV and DVD player which kept the children well entertained. The large garden/snooker room was stunning and a great space for dining and relaxing. Highfield is a great base for exploring the surrounding area and we enjoyed a lovely walk around the Chatsworth estate. Tracey was extremely helpful before and during our stay and we would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and furnishings
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely house, excellent location”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We rented Highfield for a four day mini-break as an extended family having found the property on an internet search. The house looks imposing from the outside, it's in a terrific spot overlooking Matlock and the Derwent valley and inside it doesn't disappoint with plenty of rooms all fitted out to a nice standard. A particular favourite for us was the large room with a snooker table and the large dining table but there are plenty of other spaces for guests to lose themselves in Outside there's a large patio area and dining table and a large garden on several levels and of course the spectacular view across the valley to Riber castle. Also on the patio was the hot-tub that we'd rented separately which went down well.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Highfield and I've no reservations at all in recommending the place as a terrific base for exploring Matlock and the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The snooker room / dining room. The spectacular views.
Liked least: Climbing the hill - drive or hitch a lift! - but that comes with the territory.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishaKin...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful, comfortable house for a family celebration”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fabulous long weekend at Highfield with our children and grandchildren to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The house is spotless and beautiful, even better than the photographs, superbly well equipped and providing spacious comfort. The party room is a brilliant space for dining and relaxation, and our stay was enhanced by the rental of a hot tub which proved a great success. The gardens are ideal for a large group with a variety of sitting areas and play spaces, and the views from inside and out are fantastic. The owners provided a number of welcoming touches including fresh flowers and were very obliging in setting up family bedrooms to meet our needs. We can't recommend Highfield highly enough and would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful & comfortable”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Planned a hen do for a friend here for 16 ladies. The house had everything you could need and more. It is a huge and beautiful. All the rooms are well equipped (the kitchen has everything you can think of) and the garden space is amazing. Would highly recommend. We had an amazing stay and would love to stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawK4
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic welcoming house with amazing views”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

14 of us stayed here for a friend's hen weekend. The house was great with plenty of room, lovely comfy beds, and everything we could possibly need. It has great entertaining spaces both indoor and out. Tracey was very helpful and approachable. I would highly recommend this property and would live to stay here again!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SloanePet...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish my stay was longer - blissful relaxation!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a wonderful residence! Beautiful house with everything you could possibly need for a group gathering. I couldn't get enough of the views and slept wonderfully in the comfortable beds. All i need now is an excuse to return!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing