We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good-ish”

Crich Tramway Village
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Derbyshire’s award-winning family attraction lets you enjoy unlimited tram rides in a recreated village street along the mile-long track to breathtaking views. Plus play areas, shops, tea-rooms and 30,000 square feet of indoor attractions. A relaxing day out for all ages! Please note we are closed between 2nd November 2015 and 18th March 2016.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good-ish”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was my first visit to Crich and at my first impressions were that it was really good, but after we had looked in the gift shop, explored the exhibition hall and tram sheds and been for a ride on a tram, I realised that we had seen almost everything. We made 2 visits to Rita's Tea Room because that was the only place where food and drink were available. The first time we both enjoyed a slice of delicious lemon meringue pie and then at lunch time we both had a rather ordinary toasted ham and chutney Panini. Apparently, the pub does some refreshments, but is not open every day and was not open the day we were there.

After lunch, we had a look in the printing shop, which was interesting but really only killed about 10 minutes. Then we had 2 more tram rides. On the first, we had a particularly chatty driver who was more than happy to answer my husband's questions, show him around the cab and underneath the tram and this is what makes a visit worthwhile. The staff and volunteers are all brilliant and the place is beautifully laid out, but the trams only travel a short distance and the only attraction at the other end is a woodland walk (not appealing on an unseasonably cold and rather drizzly day). Also, in low season there are only 2 trams running. It is a lovely place, and I am glad we went, but it could be even better. For an entry fee of £13 each, I was disappointed to run out of things to see and do after only a couple of hours. Probably more fun on a day with nicer weather and more trams running.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    455
    87
    39
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nostalgia Plus”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A real trip into the past. Free tram rides all day (if you are so inclined!) and plenty to see if the weather is not too kind (as it was when we went). Tram drivers and conductors were very knowledgeable. Thought the entrance price for three of us was a bit over the top but we spent a good couple of hours there and bought a few pold-fashioned sweets in the confectionery shop. Glad we went but it will be a while before we venture that far again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Great Day Out”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent half a day in the Village with our daughter and young grandchildren (2 and 4) who loved the tram rides and the play areas. It is worth doing the Woodland Walk as there are some incredible wood sculptures. It was cold but dry when we visited and very close to the end of the season. Some 'refreshment' facilities were closed and others looked as though they were running down their stocks. The pub/restaurant was not really a pub or a restaurant (!) and was more like a licensed cafe with a few sausage rolls and pasties. The one person manning this establishment did a stirling job under extreme pressure but it could have been so much better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LANGFIELD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
2 reviews
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The weather was not so good for our visit, but after traveling some hours to get there, we made our first stop the tearoom, it marred our visit. We were spoken to sharply by a staff member (not from the tearoom) for sitting in an area was to be kept clear, pulled our table with our tea and coffee on still, across the paved area. We had not moved any of the tearoom furniture ourselves. The food as others have stated was expensive, due to the pub not open, this made the tearoom crowded and very busy, we watched so many have to walk away.
The trams were excellent, displays great, and the conductors on the trams very friendly and informative. Only two trams were operating this day, so maybe we did not choose a good day to go. Still think this is worth a visit overall.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twycross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trip to Tramway Museum”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After seeing mixed reviews on here about Crich Tramway Museum I went in thinking we would have an 'ok' visit that would only last an hour or so. After my first visit I can certainly say I will be returning again! We spent over 5 hours there; including lunch. Most time was spent around the exhibitions and the many trams in the depot (never seen so many trams!). We had two rides on the two different trams, with spectacular views over the village and the surrounding countryside. The shop was very good. A vast selection of books, gifts and postcards. We also bought sweets from the traditional sweet shop. The cafe was very reasonable and the cakes were fresh. Overall, we really enjoyed the day and will certainly be taking advantage of the free return trip! *****

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crich Tramway Village also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Crich Tramway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing