We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crich Tramway Village”

Crich Tramway Village
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Derbyshire’s award-winning family attraction lets you enjoy unlimited tram rides in a recreated village street along the mile-long track to breathtaking views. Plus play areas, shops, tea-rooms and 30,000 square feet of indoor attractions. A relaxing day out for all ages! Please note we are closed between 6th November 2017 and 16th March 2018.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Crich Tramway Village”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our advice is to search online for a discount voucher if you are thinking of visiting this attraction. We found a voucher for one free adult for one full paying adult and this made the day a reasonable day out. If we had paid the full price, our score would be a little different as it would not be value for money. Yes the trams are lovely and the conservation work commendable but only if you like trams. The café is very expensive, the pub is only open at weekends, and apart from the trams there is not a lot else. There is a woodland walk but this is really just a trail that follows part of the tram track with not a lot going on, a lead mine exhibition which is just a lot of old machinery lying around without a story or information linking it to the site, and a children's playground. The workshops and tram sheds are interesting but the sheds are quite cramped and it is a bit difficult to get a good view of the trams. A couple of hours at the most and you have done it all so it would be best to go on a day that had some extra events running, but that would probably mean the trams would be full !!!! Only 2 trams running on our visit, and lovely views at the top of the track.

Can't help feeling this place needs something else to make it worth paying £13 per adult. Bliss Hill and Black Country gives a greater insight to the history of the buildings and period entertainment and both are also a full day out and better value.

With the right voucher this can still be a good day out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hertsman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    978
    478
    90
    39
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I took my younger brother a couple of weeks ago to Crich. He really enjoyed it and so did I. The family ticket is valid for a year after purchase and it's for two adults and up to three children. I will almost certainly return within the year. Overall, a really nice family day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good but disappointing”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The village has developed since we last visited. It maintains its interest and the main focus - the trams are excellent. It is very clean and easy to get around. However the activities for younger children feel like an afterthought. We took our grandchildren who are 3 & 6. The indoor play area is limited and lacks imagination. It is not 'huge' as described on the website and compared to others we have visited (Norfork Lavender Centre) it is boring. The only other indoor activity we found was colouring in the main exhibition hall - again disappointing with one badly photocopied picture and broken pencils. The outdoor play area is tired and needs updating and with the modern play equipment available it could be improved. We also found eating difficult as the outside seated area for Rita's cafe was covered in Wasps - we ended up leaving the site.

The woodland walk is great and we are not wanting to be over critical as we fully support the Village, its a great project. In reality we just think the project is missing opportunities.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloydie1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“The clue is in the name”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you like trams you will like Crich Tramway Museum. I think I went there for the first time in about 1967, and I go occasionally not because I am a tram freak, but because it is an enjoyable few hours. The tram ride is good, because towards the end of the line you get magnificent views over the Derwent Valley - actually the best view is from the road looking up. If you don't know the area and see a tram on the hillside it is a little unusual, especially as there is a lighthouse nearby and no sea. The Tramway Museum has a history of trams, many trams from different countries, workshops where you can look at maintenance work being conducted, various shops and a pretty ghastly café.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddington
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Living History- Brilliant”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We took our grand daughter to this brilliant living museum in Derbyshire and what a great way to experience history- by using it. The trams were fantastic, especially as one who has riden on them in childhood. The staff were brillinatly helpful and the facilities plentiful and inexpensive. Since our last visit 20 years ago the new exhibition halls and interactive exhibits kept our 11 year old amused for some while and this facoility deserves all the accolades possible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crich Tramway Village also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Crich Tramway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing